Toolbar Header Preload Menu Menu
Home Football Football Hurling Hurling Counties

National Forum - Latest Posts
Click on the subject to bring you to the thread where the message was posted 
(this page is sorted differently from rest of forum in that the latest messages are at the top of the page)

Cork Bottle it again.
VERY LUCKY BUT SURE WE NEED A BIT OF LUCK!

fortyfive , 14/03/2010 at 21:59

Cork Bottle it again.
Even Tyrone would admit they were extremely lucky. Great heart and spirit but they're not out of the woods yet.

Daith , 14/03/2010 at 21:51

Kildare and Armagh --a game to look forward too.
That's the point Wayne, this wouldn't be second season syndrome for us, we've reached the quarter final stage of the All Ireland two years in a row. A defeat to a good Armagh side should not invite the doubters out to have a go at us. We bounced back after an even heavier beating by Down so I'm confident we can do the same again.

Like I've already said there's still some quality players to come back onto the panel, so without trying to sound arrogant I think we'll be safe enough from a disaster of a season like Wexford had last year.

And as for the sake of Leinster football, I'd be more worried about Meath losing to Tipp than I would be about Armagh beating us.

------------

thats a good point about meath , they seriously over achieved last year and if kerry really put them to the sword like they did us that 4 point margin would have been at least twice that

yeh well i have nothing but respect for kildare and what they have achieved last year and what they plan to achieve this year , their fans are up there with the best ive come across in terms of gracious in victory and defeat , so best of luck to Kildare for the rest of the league campaign and championship

waynoI , 14/03/2010 at 21:47

Hard to fathom how Kildare could destroy Donegal one week and then not show up the next. The passing was the worst i've seen from any intercounty team. I'm more disappointed we seemed to throw in the towel like the Down game. Looks like Stevie McDonnell is back playing super football. That point from the right wing was superb.

Daith , 14/03/2010 at 21:20

waynoI

i hope your right , i really do for leinster footballs sake .. wexford suffered second season syndrome and i just think Kildare will too , as i said , i hope im wrong

That's the point Wayne, this wouldn't be second season syndrome for us, we've reached the quarter final stage of the All Ireland two years in a row. A defeat to a good Armagh side should not invite the doubters out to have a go at us. We bounced back after an even heavier beating by Down so I'm confident we can do the same again.

Like I've already said there's still some quality players to come back onto the panel, so without trying to sound arrogant I think we'll be safe enough from a disaster of a season like Wexford had last year.

And as for the sake of Leinster football, I'd be more worried about Meath losing to Tipp than I would be about Armagh beating us.

if_in_doubt , 14/03/2010 at 21:11

Cork Bottle it again.
come on tyrone ..... yes.

ta32 , 14/03/2010 at 21:08

Come on Offaly!
We play Antrim in the first round, although I suspect as always your comments are tongue in cheek!
Winners play winners of Galway and Wexford, ye had a tough time of it against Laois today?

curious George , 14/03/2010 at 21:02

Friday Afternoon wind down -- JOKES
What causes arthritis?

A drunk sat down on a subway next to a priest. The man's tie was stained, his face was plastered with red lipstick, and a half empty bottle of gin was sticking out of his torn coat pocket. He opened his newspaper and began reading. After a few minutes the man turned to the priest and asked, 'Say Father, what causes arthritis?'

The priest replies, 'My Son, it's caused by loose living, Being with cheap, wicked women, too much alcohol, contempt for your fellow man, sleeping rough & lack of a bath.'
The drunk muttered in response, 'Well, I'll be damned,' Then returned to his paper.

The priest, thinking about what he had said, nudged the man and apologized 'I'm very sorry. I didn't mean to come on so strong. How long have you had arthritis?'

The drunk answered, 'I don't have it, Father. I was just reading here that the Pope does.'

dhorse , 14/03/2010 at 20:59

Win over Monaghan will place Dubs in excellent position.
Tom what did you make of the game last night ?

waynoI , 14/03/2010 at 20:55

We Are Dublin

BELIEVE

tomaoo7 , 14/03/2010 at 20:54

Come on Offaly!
patrique

Who do Offaly play in the second round of the championship?

We have the winners of the Wexford - Galway match.

Although a big win for us today we shouldn't be getting carried away with it, Dublin started well but seemed to do what we have done ourselves many times in the past and faded in the second half as soon as a goal went in. It was the first time in a while we've finished a match strongly and hopefully we can build on it and secure Division 1 status and carry some good form into the Antrim match in the Championship. Galway next weekend for us and to be honest I think we'll give them a big game, without the Portumna lads I wouldn't have much fear of them. But then again this is Offaly I'm talking about here, how often in the past have my hopes been raised by a good determined performance only to be destroyed the next day out...

Dublin have some very good players, and I hope I'm right in saying they'll be safe from the drop too. Great banter in and around Tullamore with them today.

wild_biffalo , 14/03/2010 at 20:51

Believe

tomaoo7 , 14/03/2010 at 20:51

NFL division one league final predictions
Galway getting relegated ? i cant see that happening , i think it will be Derry and Monaghan ..

waynoI , 14/03/2010 at 20:48

i hope your right , i really do for leinster footballs sake .. wexford suffered second season syndrome and i just think Kildare will too , as i said , i hope im wrong

waynoI , 14/03/2010 at 20:47

Age eligibility
These rules do not exist in camogie :-)

Royal_Girl2k9 , 14/03/2010 at 20:44

cant say im a huge lover of mayo but i fully respect them and their fans if they have the right attitude

waynoI , 14/03/2010 at 20:37

waynoI

kildare 2010 doing a wexford 09 ?

Well to be fair on us Wayne I don't think it's that similar a situation to Wexford after they reached a Leinster final in '08.

We were beaten badly by Armagh, not the first team that this has happened to and we won't be the last team they beat either. We're still missing our first choice half back line and one or two up front who would definitely start if fit. Armagh of course were missing a few players too, and deserved their win from what I heard of the match, so fair play to them on that front. It's a bad result for us, but we are still in a decent position, with some experienced players out injured, we are giving some valuable playing time to the younger lads, come championship time we should be able to see the benefit of days like this.

The division is still pretty wide open, so we can still hope for promotion.

if_in_doubt , 14/03/2010 at 20:35

NFL division one league final predictions
I reckon we'll have a Cork v Dublin final and Galway and Derry will be relegated.

lessbull , 14/03/2010 at 20:33

Any chance Galway will stand up to Kerry?
"Every time Galway and Kerry meet it is a great match. Nordies wouldn't understand"

It's true that when Kerry play Galway it is generally a great game with plenty of open, skilful football. I also believe that Ulster championship matches generally tend to be more physical than in other provinces. However, I am sick of people branding Ulster people as Nordies and all Ulster football teams as having the same style. This idea of "Ulster football" is a media invention. Armagh and Tyrone were both very successful teams during the last decade but both had their own styles. It depends more on the types of individual players on any given team and the style preferred by their manager. While counties often have a traditional style, this can vary from era to era. The Limerick team under Liam Kearns was more like Armagh in their style than any of the Munster teams styles. It suited them well. They now play a diferent style under Mickey Ned O'Sullivan which doesn't seem to have served them so well. While Armagh were a very physical, tough and organised team, they didn't use the blanket defence and quick counter attack to the same extent as Tyrone. Neither did they have as many skilful players, which for me is the reason they only won 1 All-Ireland. Kerry's style changed when Jack O'Connor came on board. He added a toughness and tactical awareness to the team that had been developed by Paidi to play very open, simple football. Likewise, Cork's team now under Conor Counihan is much more physical than the team of 5 years ago. Partly due to the players involved, partly due to the management's design for the team. I will agree however, that a game of pure, open, clean football is always better to watch than say, the Armagh v Tyrone final of 2003. And that's not having a dig at either team. Just stating an opinion.

lessbull , 14/03/2010 at 20:31

Come on Offaly!
Excellent game for Offaly and well done to them.

This game shows how we are not as far along the road as some one wish. We have to get a bit of consistency as well as the ability to win on the raod. Limerick will probably be our saviours in terms of relagation.

MesAmis , 14/03/2010 at 20:29