The Kerry Fiasco

Clueless, leaderless and gutless! Best way to sum Kerry up at the moment and the man at the helm is to blame! Unless there is a strong finish to the league Fitz will be under pressure to hold onto his job for the championship!

Is there much precident of managers being sacked before the championship starts?

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 27/02/2017 17:50:29    1961741

Replying To as_ky:  "Clueless, leaderless and gutless! Best way to sum Kerry up at the moment and the man at the helm is to blame! Unless there is a strong finish to the league Fitz will be under pressure to hold onto his job for the championship!

Is there much precident of managers being sacked before the championship starts?"
It's February!!!!!!!!! Chill out lad. Beat by Mayo and a full strength Monaghan team. Nothing to be ashamed off there. Yes improvement needed to stay up but I think they will pick up the wins they need.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/02/2017 17:58:39    1961746

If big Papa Durcan hadnt kicked the ball straight to Donaghy in 2014, Donegal would have won the AI and Fitz would have been gone long ago.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 27/02/2017 18:02:15    1961749

Replying To The_Fridge:  "It's February!!!!!!!!! Chill out lad. Beat by Mayo and a full strength Monaghan team. Nothing to be ashamed off there. Yes improvement needed to stay up but I think they will pick up the wins they need."
It's not just what has happened in the league, it's the lack identity and cohesion within the team under fitz over the last 3 years! He has been in charge since 2013 and it is hard to see any real progression!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 27/02/2017 18:06:07    1961753

Replying To as_ky:  "Clueless, leaderless and gutless! Best way to sum Kerry up at the moment and the man at the helm is to blame! Unless there is a strong finish to the league Fitz will be under pressure to hold onto his job for the championship!

Is there much precident of managers being sacked before the championship starts?"
Relax, its February ffs! Will anyone in Kerry even care to remember the league if the championship is a successful one?

I noticed quite a few unfamiliar faces in the Kerry starting line up which suggests Fitz is taking a look at a few new faces through the league and division one is a Baptism of fire for any rookie. I expect to see a very different animal when the summer months arrive.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 27/02/2017 18:08:09    1961755

Replying To TakeyourPoint.:  "If big Papa Durcan hadnt kicked the ball straight to Donaghy in 2014, Donegal would have won the AI and Fitz would have been gone long ago."
Donegal were cack that day and didn't deserve it any more than Kerry. I can't believe people are still bitter about that 2014 win. Show me a team in history that didn't have a bit of luck along the way to an All Ireland.

Back to Fitzmaurice. Some of the comments on the Kerry forum are OTT but this thread takes the biscuit. It's February, we have lots of injuries and lads unavailable and we have lost two close games against good teams. It's not the end of the world, and we often start the league poorly.

If we crash out of the championship in the summer playing like we did yesterday then fair enough, it's time for a change. For now let's get behind our team and get off the managers back.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 27/02/2017 18:23:12    1961761

I thought Kerry fans didn't even blink during the league, anyway, why would they need a manager at all, just let them out on the field with their natural football abilities and success will surely follow!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 27/02/2017 18:25:31    1961764

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Donegal were cack that day and didn't deserve it any more than Kerry. I can't believe people are still bitter about that 2014 win. Show me a team in history that didn't have a bit of luck along the way to an All Ireland.

Back to Fitzmaurice. Some of the comments on the Kerry forum are OTT but this thread takes the biscuit. It's February, we have lots of injuries and lads unavailable and we have lost two close games against good teams. It's not the end of the world, and we often start the league poorly.

If we crash out of the championship in the summer playing like we did yesterday then fair enough, it's time for a change. For now let's get behind our team and get off the managers back."
Whatever about the result and the missing players, tactics is something the manager can do something about! How can u defend him picking a half forward line that's more of a half back line? It's been negative from fitz ever since we lost to Dublin in 2013!

As soon as kerry let expectations drop that's when we are in real trouble! Don't think the players we are missing are going to add much anyway, how many of them are under 30?

If we went and had a go and lost I would get over it, but it's the putrid style of football he has adopted that is unforgivable! There is no way we are beating dublin under fitz, bringing Marc on last year as a 7th back when the game was level was the end of any faith I had in him!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 27/02/2017 19:04:38    1961776

I think that kerry are no better or no worse this league than they normally are. They are just doing their thing against teams who are probably trying a good bit harder. The identity of the kerry team, as someone mentioned above, can in my opinion be narrowed down to one massive issue. They have yet to beat dublin this decade. Take this piece out of the equation and they would be up there with any other kerry team, or thereabouts. I think that kerry will eventually beat dublin again, it is only a mater of time, but it is going to be thorny for them if they dont do it before the decade is out, as they will have a bogey team and one all ireland in that decade to look back on. Thats not a good enough return for them.

Dont tell me that they are not going to pick up 4 points, against roscommon or cavan. 3 would most likely be enough. 5 points and a few teams finishing on the same differential will go down to points differential. Say donegal, kerry and monaghan or tyrone, or indeed cavan do this, it will go down to this rather than head to head. No sackings just yet.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/02/2017 19:45:16    1961797

Let us know when ye're getting rid of him. We'll take him.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 27/02/2017 19:56:18    1961803

No doubt Tyrone will get the blame before the week's out.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 27/02/2017 20:00:09    1961804

Sure it's only the league. He should enter them in the Junior All-Ireland this year.... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 27/02/2017 21:12:21    1961846

Holey moley... I never thought I would see the day when a fan of the mighty kingdom would be so negative...
And it is only Feb...

Get a grip lad... Have some faith in your county.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 27/02/2017 21:27:58    1961859

Long way till the third Sun in Sep I'm sure Kerry will have their say.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/02/2017 21:45:39    1961865

I think the reality is this is an average Kerry side and has been for quite a while now.

We got the rub of the green big time in 2014 and but for it we would be nearly a decade without an All-Ireland

We have serious issues in kickouts, midfield and particularly the HF LIne. It's great and all having a good FF Line but if as Fitzy has been prone to do pick a defensive HF Line , the FF's become isolated and drift away from goal looking for the ball

The 1st half yesterday was absolutely disgraceful - playing with a gale force wind yet retreating and letting Monaghan dictate the pace and tempo of the game. Management must take a lashing for that

Must say well done to the Farney county they like 2 years ago more than deserved their victory and are a perfect example to those are whinging about the 'Super 8' not helping smaller counties. They have been consistently strong for the last decade plus now

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 27/02/2017 23:49:09    1961903

As_ky is calling it as he see it to be fair. There's many a time a fella from Kerry will be labeled a cute hoor or whatever for playing things down but when you get the other viewpoint he's being told to calm down.
Of course Kerry will be fine but he's got a point too.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/02/2017 08:06:55    1961916

dreadful game, if they had an oval ball it was totally 6 Nations stuff. I understand why Mick O Connell does not watch the Kingdom.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 28/02/2017 10:33:48    1961958

Poor aul Kerry

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 28/02/2017 10:42:35    1961961

Ye gotta love the Kerry posters ; one minute they tell you they don't take the league seriously next minute they lose a game they go absolutely nuts wanting half the panel gone and wanting the manager sacked hahaha come on Kerry posters make up your minds.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/02/2017 10:43:29    1961963

Get rid of Brian Sheehan first. For an experienced player to get sent off while barely on the field two minutes is not good enough. the Monaghan player held his jersey and that is how he reacted....Fitzmaurice looked furious. Rightly so. I manage a team and if one of the players reacted like that I would be very very annoyed. As a junior A club manager, I don't have the luxury of suspending players.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 28/02/2017 11:35:55    1961988