Spillane and the Mayo no hopers

Interesting to see that Mayo (the no hopers) managed to win away against Kerry with half of their first team missing!!

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 12/02/2017 14:37:42    1955195

Replying To centerfield:  "Interesting to see that Mayo (the no hopers) managed to win away against Kerry with half of their first team missing!!"
I'm fairness twas a pretty strong Mayo team.

Sure why would anyone pay any heed to Pat anyway, Mayo knew if they left Tralee empty handed they'd be in serious trouble. Kerry gave them the match on a plate and like any decent side they said thanks very much.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/02/2017 16:13:17    1955283

Quality article in The Irish Mail today by Michael Clifford on the Mayo team, sums up the quality of punditry we have in the GAA!!!

Always_Mayo (Mayo) - Posts: 29 - 12/02/2017 16:20:46    1955291

Replying To Always_Mayo:  "Quality article in The Irish Mail today by Michael Clifford on the Mayo team, sums up the quality of punditry we have in the GAA!!!"
The Mail? A newspaper on paper with very little news.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 12/02/2017 16:28:43    1955295

the hermit- wasn't a strong mayo team by any means. We were missing Lee Keegan, Brendan Harrison, Kevin Keane, Ger Cafferkey and Chris Barrett from the backs. Seamus o shea, Barry moran and Jason Gibbons midfield. Alan Dillon, Conor Loftus and Aidan oShea from the forwards.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 12/02/2017 16:55:03    1955327

Lemme guess, Mayo for Sam?

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 12/02/2017 17:09:40    1955347

Replying To Mfs:  "the hermit- wasn't a strong mayo team by any means. We were missing Lee Keegan, Brendan Harrison, Kevin Keane, Ger Cafferkey and Chris Barrett from the backs. Seamus o shea, Barry moran and Jason Gibbons midfield. Alan Dillon, Conor Loftus and Aidan oShea from the forwards."
We were missing fion fitz Shane Enright we lost young after 20 mins and o'beaglaoih, we were missing maher Sheehan and Donaghy from the middle,
And gooch james o'donaghue Buckley and lost Paul geaney after 15 mins.
So we both were missing influential players.
Congrats on yer win ye were more clinical in front of goal we wasted some great goal chances and a penalty.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2017 17:11:45    1955352

Replying To Mfs:  "the hermit- wasn't a strong mayo team by any means. We were missing Lee Keegan, Brendan Harrison, Kevin Keane, Ger Cafferkey and Chris Barrett from the backs. Seamus o shea, Barry moran and Jason Gibbons midfield. Alan Dillon, Conor Loftus and Aidan oShea from the forwards."
Eh i could have sworn i saw Keegan and AOS on the pitch no?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/02/2017 17:14:48    1955355

Sure what would Spillane know, he only has 8 more All Ireland medals than the whole Mayo panel.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 421 - 12/02/2017 17:20:59    1955367

Nobody is judging him as a footballer. We are judging him as a pundit.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 12/02/2017 17:57:13    1955411

No need to start a thread on Spillanes comments. Many outside Mayo will never take us seriously until we win Sam...that fine. You kind of develop a thick skin, you have to. Mayo have beaten Kerry before away from home so it's no big deal. Mayo were missing a good few, Kerry even more so. 2 points is all it is.

A mistake finish while "finding" 2/3 new faces it's what I am looking for in the league.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 12/02/2017 18:10:03    1955430

Replying To Jackeen:  "Eh i could have sworn i saw Keegan and AOS on the pitch no?"
No jackeen that might have been Conor O'Shea that you saw he missed an open goal in the second half. No lee keegan as Westport are in the intermediate final next week.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2017 18:12:47    1955436

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "No jackeen that might have been Conor O'Shea that you saw he missed an open goal in the second half. No lee keegan as Westport are in the intermediate final next week."
I'm going loopy ;)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/02/2017 18:29:12    1955457

The time to beat Kerry is in August or September, Kerry will be happy just to stay in division 1, still think Mayo have missed their chance with this generation, Dublin Kerry Tyrone are the top 3 now in that order.

El_Torro (Tyrone) - Posts: 155 - 12/02/2017 20:09:25    1955564

Replying To yew_tree:  "No need to start a thread on Spillanes comments. Many outside Mayo will never take us seriously until we win Sam...that fine. You kind of develop a thick skin, you have to. Mayo have beaten Kerry before away from home so it's no big deal. Mayo were missing a good few, Kerry even more so. 2 points is all it is.

A mistake finish while "finding" 2/3 new faces it's what I am looking for in the league."
Couldn't agree more. A few of the younger lads get a tough match, a few others get a rest. We needed the points more. Maybe Pat was right in saying Mayo should be targeting the league but to Mayo supporters the league is only a stepping stone, Sam is all that matters. Glad to see some of the intensity back that was missing against Monaghan. Need to keep that going now against the Ross as there will be a few twists and turns between now and the end of the league.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 12/02/2017 21:39:06    1955694

Replying To El_Torro:  "The time to beat Kerry is in August or September, Kerry will be happy just to stay in division 1, still think Mayo have missed their chance with this generation, Dublin Kerry Tyrone are the top 3 now in that order."
While I agree that league matches don't have huge significance, can you explain why you rank Kerry and Tyrone above Mayo on recent form? Could have sworn we defeated the Ref Hands in the championship last year, and we did run Dublin closer than Kerry in the championship. There's also some U-21 All-Ireland winners to be added to the side over the coming years, too.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/02/2017 12:23:48    1956071

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "Sure what would Spillane know, he only has 8 more All Ireland medals than the whole Mayo panel."
You'd imagine with all that experience as a top level player that he'd know a little bit more about football so.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 13/02/2017 12:46:49    1956083

Replying To Gleebo:  "While I agree that league matches don't have huge significance, can you explain why you rank Kerry and Tyrone above Mayo on recent form? Could have sworn we defeated the Ref Hands in the championship last year, and we did run Dublin closer than Kerry in the championship. There's also some U-21 All-Ireland winners to be added to the side over the coming years, too."
Totally agree with you Gleebo.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/02/2017 12:57:43    1956090

Pat really knows how to motivate teams. It's a bit mad writing off a team after one league game in February. I'd be shocked if Mayo are not in the shake up for the All-Ireland this year, they have a very strong team.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 13/02/2017 13:19:54    1956111

Ok easy!!! start up this thread again when Mayo win in September. I'm not having a dig in any way, but second round league games are no longer means for justification for this Mayo team

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 13/02/2017 13:45:22    1956131