Virginia Detour Possible in Future?

Why is it the Gardai cannot put up a few detours to avoid Virginia and go back on the N3, the next time the Jacks invade Cavan?

It was the only bad thing about going to Cavan, an otherwise great place to visit.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 05/02/2017 20:56:10    1952395

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "Why is it the Gardai cannot put up a few detours to avoid Virginia and go back on the N3, the next time the Jacks invade Cavan?

It was the only bad thing about going to Cavan, an otherwise great place to visit."
Yeah took over three hours coming home and only an hour and twenty minutes going down haha.
pity they just didnt finish the m3 all the way to Cavan

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/02/2017 21:16:54    1952416

Detoured completely, take the old castle road just before Virginia for about 14k, one left another 5k, another left and back on the M3 past the chaos.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 05/02/2017 21:28:32    1952425

Back home through Kingscourt.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/02/2017 22:13:14    1952462

We all know that certain towns are bottle necks and traffic jams will always happen especially on match days but as your country cousins will tell you leave early and give yourself plenty of time, look at championship matches in Croke Park, most western people leave either before or after 8 am for a 3.30 pm game

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 05/02/2017 22:33:36    1952474

Jeepers. How did you get from Cavan Town to Kingscourt. Even the locals dont try that one.

Auldfella (Meath) - Posts: 472 - 05/02/2017 22:34:25    1952475

Down the M1 to Dundalk.
Take the Carrickmacross road, then Shercock, Cootehill and onto Cavan.
Not a great road but no hold-ups.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 05/02/2017 22:44:12    1952482

Replying To riverboys:  "We all know that certain towns are bottle necks and traffic jams will always happen especially on match days but as your country cousins will tell you leave early and give yourself plenty of time, look at championship matches in Croke Park, most western people leave either before or after 8 am for a 3.30 pm game"
How can you leave early coming home?
What's the point in going to the match if that's the case?
Was grand going down I was there in an hour and twenty minutes in the ground at 1.15 pm. Was going home it took two hours to get from Cavan to Virginia

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/02/2017 23:26:59    1952495

It's pretty much going to be the same route to Monaghan as well lads.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 05/02/2017 23:28:28    1952496

Don't worry lads, there will be a bypass built the next time you visit Breffni

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 05/02/2017 23:45:49    1952502

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Down the M1 to Dundalk.
Not a great road but no hold-ups."
Dear lord just go to Ardee then Carrickmacross no need for Dundalk at all.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 06/02/2017 00:11:39    1952510

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Down the M1 to Dundalk.
Not a great road but no hold-ups."
Ah sure tis all a bit too late for directions now :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/02/2017 06:38:37    1952521

most of the jackeens only travelling to meath anyway :)

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 06/02/2017 07:25:57    1952524

Went and had a look at Lough Crew and Jim Connell in Crossakiel on the way home so avoided the traffic. More by accident than design but happy out!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 06/02/2017 08:32:33    1952534

Just out of interest, did anyone try the non-toll roads and avoid paying 3 tolls (6 if you count the return) if you lived south of the M50 Blanchardstown exit?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/02/2017 09:13:47    1952542

Haha you're a bit more confident of getting the opportunity of coming down again than the majority of cavan supporters. it was a great occasion yesterday. some of cavans debutants must have been buzzing playing their first cavan game on front of 20 + thousand people. I'm sure that'll give them the hunger to want to stay in the top flight. fair play to the travelling support yesterday, there was a good bit of craic in the stands and you brought a great buzz overall to the town. it's wishful thinking but it would be great to meet you later in the year

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 06/02/2017 09:26:52    1952554

Replying To MesAmis:  "Went and had a look at Lough Crew and Jim Connell in Crossakiel on the way home so avoided the traffic. More by accident than design but happy out!"
Loughcrew always worth a visit especially on a day like yesterday.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 06/02/2017 09:41:00    1952567

Loughcrew always worth a visit especially on a day like yesterday.
arock (Dublin) - Posts:3178 - 06/02/2017 09:41:00

Stunning place.

I was brought there maybe 20 years ago by my Da but haven't been back since. Had been meaning to bring my kids there for ages so took the opportunity yesterday as I had my eldest and my brothers young fella with me.

It's a real hidden gem of a place.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 06/02/2017 10:47:32    1952599

Yez should have went to the Meadowview for a steak after the game and let the crowd disperse!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9103 - 06/02/2017 11:11:48    1952615

Replying To keithlemon:  "Just out of interest, did anyone try the non-toll roads and avoid paying 3 tolls (6 if you count the return) if you lived south of the M50 Blanchardstown exit?"
Used to go the ashbourne, kentstown road over to navan and then kells carnaross way before to breffni but with Meath playing in navan yesterday went the m3 instead which in fairness is a super road just pity it ends after kells and not continued on the extra bit to Cavan as would avoid the ham after the match when everyone leaves at same time.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2017 11:37:40    1952636