Maurice Fitz comments

"I suppose there's no doubt that Dublin seem to have stolen a march on everybody but there was only two points between Kerry and Dublin last year. Albeit Dublin are champions for the last two years. I don't think they are unassailable.

Just like to remind Mr Fitzgerald that Dublin have not stolen a march on everybody but they have on Kerry. Have some respect

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 10/12/2016 11:54:54    1939358

Replying To mayomanic:  ""I suppose there's no doubt that Dublin seem to have stolen a march on everybody but there was only two points between Kerry and Dublin last year. Albeit Dublin are champions for the last two years. I don't think they are unassailable.

Just like to remind Mr Fitzgerald that Dublin have not stolen a march on everybody but they have on Kerry. Have some respect"
Didn't Dublin beat Kerry this year, and have done so for the past couple of years?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 10/12/2016 12:41:44    1939361

Replying To mayomanic:  ""I suppose there's no doubt that Dublin seem to have stolen a march on everybody but there was only two points between Kerry and Dublin last year. Albeit Dublin are champions for the last two years. I don't think they are unassailable.

Just like to remind Mr Fitzgerald that Dublin have not stolen a march on everybody but they have on Kerry. Have some respect"
Jaysus, that's one lame attempt.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/12/2016 12:44:12    1939363

Would agree with you there.
While Kerry have some fantastic prospects coming through, the current Kerry team wouldn't be in the top 3 in country, id rate that dubs mayo Tyrone with Donegal Kerry vying for 4 spot. But long way behind dubs

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/12/2016 13:26:45    1939373

Replying To royaldunne:  "Would agree with you there.
While Kerry have some fantastic prospects coming through, the current Kerry team wouldn't be in the top 3 in country, id rate that dubs mayo Tyrone with Donegal Kerry vying for 4 spot. But long way behind dubs"
You're right royaldunne , I'd actually put us at 7th/8th I'd say dubs mayo Tyrone Donegal cork Galway tipp would be all ahead of us at pressent.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/12/2016 13:55:24    1939382

While Kerry have some fantastic prospects coming through, the current Kerry team wouldn't be in the top 3 in country, id rate that dubs mayo Tyrone with Donegal Kerry vying for 4 spot. But long way behind dubs"
Tyrone ahead of Kerry ?

What have Tyrone done in the last few years to be put ahead of Kerry ?

Kerry won Sam in 2014, got to the final in 2015, got to a league final in 2016, only lost to the eventual all Ireland champions by a point.

Tyrone haven't done a tap in the All Ireland championship since 08.

Kerry are third best in the country after Dublin and Mayo.

To think Tyrone are better than Kerry is nonsense.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 10/12/2016 15:00:58    1939387

If either Mayo or Tyrone find a decent forward I'd probably agree.

You're having a laugh with Donegal. They were atrocious against Dublin this year and have huge work to do for next year, far more than the rest of the contenders.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/12/2016 15:05:15    1939388

Would agree with you there.
While Kerry have some fantastic prospects coming through, the current Kerry team wouldn't be in the top 3 in country, id rate that dubs mayo Tyrone with Donegal Kerry vying for 4 spot. But long way behind dubs

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/12/2016 17:19:43    1939397

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "If either Mayo or Tyrone find a decent forward I'd probably agree.

You're having a laugh with Donegal. They were atrocious against Dublin this year and have huge work to do for next year, far more than the rest of the contenders."
Well now I have given it some more thought. Id agree, mind was actually drifting back to when Donegal were a force, in fairness id say both Galway and tipp probably ahead. I'll rephrase, dubs mayo, and Tyrone Kerry vying for 3rd.
However I feel the Kerry youngsters coming through will push the back to top.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/12/2016 17:23:43    1939399

I would have Kerry ahead of Mayo personally.

Kerry gave it their best and a right good rattle in the semi, I don't think it's as close as the couple of points the goals were very fortunates and think the gap is bigger. Kerry are a far more capable and well rounded team than Mayo.

Mayo were brilliant at the back in the finals, but never really thought they would score more then us.

I think Kerry and Mayo have lost their football identies in a sense, both have played defensive , non expansive football to try and best Dublin. It's one of the remarkable by products of Dublins success that it's forced these counties out of their traditional creative football idendities

When I read Fitzgeralds comments, I thought to myself - I really hope he be
I eves what he says! :)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/12/2016 17:32:27    1939402

Replying To TheUsername:  "I would have Kerry ahead of Mayo personally.

Kerry gave it their best and a right good rattle in the semi, I don't think it's as close as the couple of points the goals were very fortunates and think the gap is bigger. Kerry are a far more capable and well rounded team than Mayo.

Mayo were brilliant at the back in the finals, but never really thought they would score more then us.

I think Kerry and Mayo have lost their football identies in a sense, both have played defensive , non expansive football to try and best Dublin. It's one of the remarkable by products of Dublins success that it's forced these counties out of their traditional creative football idendities

I eves what he says! :)"
Kerry are probably a couple of seasons away from another All Ireland. I wouldn't agree that we've been that negative against Dublin though. 2013 was a classic with great scores on both sides, and we were in the lead in the dying minutes. Kerry went for it against Dublin this year as well and nearly pulled it off, despite missing JOD, who is probably our best player. There was nothing lucky about the goals, Kerry pushed up and forced errors in a pre-planned move.

2015 kerry were tripe, i'll give you that, but were Dublin much better? Both sides scored 8 point from play on a turgid wet day when good football was impossible.

I don't believe the reason Dublin keep beating us is tactical. Dublin have an exceptional team and better players at the moment. It's as simple as that.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/12/2016 18:07:19    1939406

Replying To TheUsername:  "I would have Kerry ahead of Mayo personally.

I eves what he says! :)"
Two own goals?? First day mayo were way better than Dublin, dubs got put of jail., and while I'm not a fan of mayo, everyone would say the same.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/12/2016 18:33:38    1939411

Mayo could have beaten Dublin-but were not good enough although there was nothing between the side on both occasions. Now Kerry won Munster and beat everyone on the way. Mayo on the other hand were not good enough to beat an average Galway team who were hammered by the team that Kerry hammered. Tyrone with a free taker may have beaten Mayo but were not good enough on the day. Mayo won their first backdoor game on home turf with a couple of dubious Ref decisions, so which is first, second, or third behind the Dubs is any bodies guess.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/12/2016 19:57:16    1939425

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Kerry are probably a couple of seasons away from another All Ireland. I wouldn't agree that we've been that negative against Dublin though. 2013 was a classic with great scores on both sides, and we were in the lead in the dying minutes. Kerry went for it against Dublin this year as well and nearly pulled it off, despite missing JOD, who is probably our best player. There was nothing lucky about the goals, Kerry pushed up and forced errors in a pre-planned move.

2015 kerry were tripe, i'll give you that, but were Dublin much better? Both sides scored 8 point from play on a turgid wet day when good football was impossible.

I don't believe the reason Dublin keep beating us is tactical. Dublin have an exceptional team and better players at the moment. It's as simple as that."
Replying To GeniusGerry: "Kerry are probably a couple of seasons away from another All Ireland. I wouldn't agree that we've been that negative against Dublin though. 2013 was a classic with great scores on both sides, and we were in the lead in the dying minutes. Kerry went for it against Dublin this year as well and nearly pulled it off, despite missing JOD, who is probably our best player. There was nothing lucky about the goals, Kerry pushed up and forced errors in a pre-planned move. 2015 kerry were tripe, i'll give you that, but were Dublin much better? Both sides scored 8 point from play on a turgid wet day when good football was impossible. I don't believe the reason Dublin keep beating us is tactical. Dublin have an exceptional team and better players at the moment. It's as simple as that."
I suppose it's perceptional and colour slanted on where your loyalties lie mate. I agree Kerry were brilliant up to 2013 I think that's the last time they went toe to toe with Dublin in the "Kerry way". Ironically they won the all Ireland in 2014, the fact remains though the last team to win an all Ireland and beat Dublin is Cork.

Buoyed by 2014, I think Kerry underestimated Dublin in 15 and were despatched very clinically I would argue with Dublin playing in a functional low gear. It was an awful day and an awfull final.

This year has been distinctive in terms of a change of philosphey, I think Kerry approached the Dublin game to try and set up more defensively in a Defensive system as opposed to the open expansive football you would associate with Kerry, it's the first time personally I have ever seen a Kerry team change its philosphey and identity to play Dublin, which is why I think it's remarkable. I can understand it, the Leage final mauling must have really hurt and I can understand the rationale. In a way it worked Kerry were far more discipline amd made a better fist of containing Dublin.

Not to open the nuisances of the game up again, but as a Dub I would be confident of not conceding those goals again, certainly the Hail Mary was lucky, the push up was well planned and effective, is it as effective twice though? I think that tactic certainly helped Dublin in the final, certainly in Cluxton decision making on long and short. Dublin even used it to press Mayo kick outs, which led to keeper change and a few clangers in the second game. But I digress.

Like I said Kerry gave it right good rattle in the semi, the thoughts about the goals aside, but you don't and Kerry all Ireland winning teams of old don't let leads like you had at Half time in the semi slip, Dublin upped a gear and picked off Kerry as the second half went on, Kerry wilted as Dublin got stronger. The intensity, pace, clinicalness of dublin couldn't be matched. If your being honest with yourself you know Dublin dominated the first 25 and last 25, that's were you see the gap in quality. Opinions about goals aside.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/12/2016 21:15:08    1939433

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Kerry are probably a couple of seasons away from another All Ireland. I wouldn't agree that we've been that negative against Dublin though. 2013 was a classic with great scores on both sides, and we were in the lead in the dying minutes. Kerry went for it against Dublin this year as well and nearly pulled it off, despite missing JOD, who is probably our best player. There was nothing lucky about the goals, Kerry pushed up and forced errors in a pre-planned move.

I don't believe the reason Dublin keep beating us is tactical. Dublin have an exceptional team and better players at the moment. It's as simple as that."
Replying To GeniusGerry: "Kerry are probably a couple of seasons away from another All Ireland. I wouldn't agree that we've been that negative against Dublin though. 2013 was a classic with great scores on both sides, and we were in the lead in the dying minutes. Kerry went for it against Dublin this year as well and nearly pulled it off, despite missing JOD, who is probably our best player. There was nothing lucky about the goals, Kerry pushed up and forced errors in a pre-planned move. 2015 kerry were tripe, i'll give you that, but were Dublin much better? Both sides scored 8 point from play on a turgid wet day when good football was impossible. I don't believe the reason Dublin keep beating us is tactical. Dublin have an exceptional team and better players at the moment. It's as simple as that."

I don't know what Kerry will do next year if I'm honest, they tried to go toe to toe in 15 and league final in 16 and came out the wrong side of huge confidence draining criticism. They tried to contain Dublin this year in a more defensive approach (that Geany decision remains wierd) and that didn't work either, let a game winning lead slip and for 50 mins of the game were dominated. Do Kerry now go full Mayo and have everyone behind the ball, find a better balance and atlethism in the young players? Or will they revert to the expansive creative football we associate with Kerry.

My own opinion, If I was a Kerry fan I would be worried by comments by Fitzgerald, the gap is wider then the last result suggests, but if not getting hammered by double figures by Dublin is taken as a positve and foundation to build in 2017, Kerry are in trouble. I would prompt the retirements of Gooch Donaghey and the rest, top players of a different era but the game has evolved. The fact that they are taking their time decide already I would think has Kerry on the back foot when other counties are in advanced planning with league football around the corner. I get a sense of the tail wagging the dog a little bit in Kerry. I think it's the time of young Atlethico players of which there is so much hope at the moment, it's time for the likes of Enright, J.O.D, Geany to become leaders of a new generation and sheppard these lads, if nothing else they will have the desire and atlethism that is critical to stay the course in modern games.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/12/2016 21:19:51    1939435

Replying To GeniusGerry:

I don't know what Kerry will do next year if I'm honest, they tried to go toe to toe in 15 and league final in 16 and came out the wrong side of huge confidence draining criticism. They tried to contain Dublin this year in a more defensive approach (that Geany decision remains wierd) and that didn't work either, let a game winning lead slip and for 50 mins of the game were dominated. Do Kerry now go full Mayo and have everyone behind the ball, find a better balance and atlethism in the young players? Or will they revert to the expansive creative football we associate with Kerry.

My own opinion, If I was a Kerry fan I would be worried by comments by Fitzgerald, the gap is wider then the last result suggests, but if not getting hammered by double figures by Dublin is taken as a positve and foundation to build in 2017, Kerry are in trouble. I would prompt the retirements of Gooch Donaghey and the rest, top players of a different era but the game has evolved. The fact that they are taking their time decide already I would think has Kerry on the back foot when other counties are in advanced planning with league football around the corner. I get a sense of the tail wagging the dog a little bit in Kerry. I think it's the time of young Atlethico players of which there is so much hope at the moment, it's time for the likes of Enright, J.O.D, Geany to become leaders of a new generation and sheppard these lads, if nothing else they will have the desire and atlethism that is critical to stay the course in modern games.

A bigger question I think is what Kerry's football identity and approach, will the return of expansive, creative, football philosphey return. Or will pragmatic approaches of trying to stay the course and hope for a couple of bits of luck in a defensive system be the order. I'm not saying which is right as both have shown to be effective. I'm interested to see Kerry though at what approach they take, Dublin are Fitzmaurices Everest and he is a bit spooked by them, despite being of course a proud Kerry man. Thus he has chopped and changed Kerry footballing identity.

If I was a Kerry fan I would be concerned by comments like Fitzgeralds, didn't Einstein say the definition of stupidity is to do the same thing over and over again with the same results. It's been over half a decade now still trying to get over the line Vs the Dubs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/12/2016 21:22:54    1939436

Replying To TheUsername:  "Replying To GeniusGerry:

A bigger question I think is what Kerry's football identity and approach, will the return of expansive, creative, football philosphey return. Or will pragmatic approaches of trying to stay the course and hope for a couple of bits of luck in a defensive system be the order. I'm not saying which is right as both have shown to be effective. I'm interested to see Kerry though at what approach they take, Dublin are Fitzmaurices Everest and he is a bit spooked by them, despite being of course a proud Kerry man. Thus he has chopped and changed Kerry footballing identity.

If I was a Kerry fan I would be concerned by comments like Fitzgeralds, didn't Einstein say the definition of stupidity is to do the same thing over and over again with the same results. It's been over half a decade now still trying to get over the line Vs the Dubs."
Didn't we whoop ye in the league in 2015? :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/12/2016 21:54:31    1939442

Yes, as I said the Dubs are just better than us, no great mystery in it. All we can do is keep coming back to try again. 2016 was a real tough year with long injuries to key players too, we don't have the squad to take that. Maher, Buckley and JOD all add something to the team when available and they were missing / half fit all year. That said, I'm not expecting to win Sam next year even if everybody is fit. It'd be a real bonus if they could, a bit like 2014. I don't think that we have the tools to beat Dublin for now.

Dublin 2017 will be interesting too. Will the same hunger be there when so many of the players are on the road so long. The back to back is an amazing achievement, but they fell over the line in truth and were quite unconvincing at times. Several of the forwards in particular are pushing on, and while some of the backups look great coming off the bench against spent opponents, starting is another story. I wouldn't bet against them though, purely because there isn't really another obvious contender. All the big teams have problems in key areas. Interesting times ahead.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/12/2016 22:07:18    1939446

"I suppose there's no doubt that Dublin seem to have stolen a march on everybody but there was only two points between Kerry and Dublin last year. Albeit Dublin are champions for the last two years. I don't think they are unassailable.

How anyone could find that comment "disrespectful" is beyond me entirely. Maurice is entirely correct Dublin in his assertion that Dublin are not unassailable, They are the best but that does not mean that they are out of sight & anyone who thinks otherwise is a fool.

Have we really reached the stage where one of the greatest players to ever play the game gets landed on for stating the bloody obvious?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/12/2016 22:30:13    1939452

Replying To MuckrossHead:  ""I suppose there's no doubt that Dublin seem to have stolen a march on everybody but there was only two points between Kerry and Dublin last year. Albeit Dublin are champions for the last two years. I don't think they are unassailable.

How anyone could find that comment "disrespectful" is beyond me entirely. Maurice is entirely correct Dublin in his assertion that Dublin are not unassailable, They are the best but that does not mean that they are out of sight & anyone who thinks otherwise is a fool.

Have we really reached the stage where one of the greatest players to ever play the game gets landed on for stating the bloody obvious?"
Absolutely agree. He is basically saying Dublin are the team to beat, but he believes Kerry can do it. I find it odd that anybody has a problem with that. Is he supposed to say we are only in it to make up the numbers?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/12/2016 22:47:15    1939453