Dublin media do Lee Keegan again

After the well orchestrated campaign to get him black carded in the all ireland final RTE now nominate Brian Fenton for sports star of the year rather than the current player of the year.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 421 - 05/12/2016 19:57:19    1938485

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "After the well orchestrated campaign to get him black carded in the all ireland final RTE now nominate Brian Fenton for sports star of the year rather than the current player of the year."
Ahem where's the foul crying that seamus callanan got nominated too ahead of the choosen hurler of the year Austin Gleeson??????
Or do we always look on the anti Dublin side of life di du di du di du di du di du

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/12/2016 20:25:37    1938491

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Ahem where's the foul crying that seamus callanan got nominated too ahead of the choosen hurler of the year Austin Gleeson??????
Or do we always look on the anti Dublin side of life di du di du di du di du di du"
Well spotted Hill!

Dublin media having another pop at Austin!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 05/12/2016 21:39:31    1938505

dublin media my ass, 99% culchies running that circus

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 05/12/2016 21:50:33    1938513

Cringe, I'm sure Brian and the rest of the team are only interested in accolades that can only been got up the steps of the Hogan stand.

I'd actually prefer if Keegan, or a Mayo lad was nominated.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 05/12/2016 21:59:44    1938517

Replying To TheUsername:  "Cringe, I'm sure Brian and the rest of the team are only interested in accolades that can only been got up the steps of the Hogan stand.

I'd actually prefer if Keegan, or a Mayo lad was nominated."
I would think that as well. But your chairman doesn't seem to agree. He was crying at the amount of All Stars they received even though it was more or less the average that winning teams get.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7882 - 06/12/2016 07:20:33    1938533

Keegan only himself to blame for the black card. Im surprised it took so long for him to get one. He should have got it against Tyrone with the cynical fouling he was doing against Sean Cavanagh but the black card was kept in the pocket in that game (against Ulster Opposition). Of course however when he perpetrated his crimes against Dublin, he got his due punishment. So the Dublin media bias actually got the referee to finally enact a bit of justice against Keegan, there certainly wasn't any when he played against Tyrone. Instead Cavanagh got sent off.....imagine if Connolly had of been sent to the side line because of Keegans poor sportsmanship.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 06/12/2016 08:17:52    1938538

Hardly matters, footballers never win it.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 06/12/2016 10:19:07    1938560

I think fairness is an individual concept mate, i for one am glad that our lads get a winter and hopefully longer outside of the intense fishbowl bubble of intense engagements, media blurb etc. Fans know the worth of each of their players on the field. If you ask any player did they grow up wanting to walk up the steps of the Hogan Stand in the third week of Sep or get an All Star, i know what the vast majority would say.

Ive little time for the process that never saw Colm Cooper, Diarmaid Connolly or Connor McMananus win footballer of the year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 06/12/2016 10:28:28    1938564

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "After the well orchestrated campaign to get him black carded in the all ireland final RTE now nominate Brian Fenton for sports star of the year rather than the current player of the year."
Current player of the year was voted by his fellow players. Maybe the 'Dublin based media' you're waffling about happen to think Fenton deserves this accolade more. Funny how this same media have chosen Callanan over Gleeson and you've no issue with that?! Pathetic!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 06/12/2016 10:33:52    1938568

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Keegan only himself to blame for the black card. Im surprised it took so long for him to get one. He should have got it against Tyrone with the cynical fouling he was doing against Sean Cavanagh but the black card was kept in the pocket in that game (against Ulster Opposition). Of course however when he perpetrated his crimes against Dublin, he got his due punishment. So the Dublin media bias actually got the referee to finally enact a bit of justice against Keegan, there certainly wasn't any when he played against Tyrone. Instead Cavanagh got sent off.....imagine if Connolly had of been sent to the side line because of Keegans poor sportsmanship."
Cavanagh got himself sent off.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 06/12/2016 13:36:26    1938611

Its deserved simple as and of course it is based on people voting for him.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 06/12/2016 13:48:43    1938615

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Cavanagh got himself sent off."
He was pulled to the ground continuously off the ball in 1st half half which was ignored by linesman. Referee booked both when Cavanagh shouldered into Keegan. Keegan committed 4 yellow card offence against Tipperary and lucky to stay on field for 70 minutes. Ciaran Whelan and Dublin pundits were only saying the same what James Horan has been highlighting Dublin negatively over the years.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 06/12/2016 14:03:18    1938624

Replying To Gael85:  "He was pulled to the ground continuously off the ball in 1st half half which was ignored by linesman. Referee booked both when Cavanagh shouldered into Keegan. Keegan committed 4 yellow card offence against Tipperary and lucky to stay on field for 70 minutes. Ciaran Whelan and Dublin pundits were only saying the same what James Horan has been highlighting Dublin negatively over the years."
In fairness two or three of them were actually black card offences!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/12/2016 14:29:57    1938632

Replying To Gael85:  "He was pulled to the ground continuously off the ball in 1st half half which was ignored by linesman. Referee booked both when Cavanagh shouldered into Keegan. Keegan committed 4 yellow card offence against Tipperary and lucky to stay on field for 70 minutes. Ciaran Whelan and Dublin pundits were only saying the same what James Horan has been highlighting Dublin negatively over the years."
I only talked about Cavanagh who I am a huge fan of, the best allround footballer I've seen. Keegan fouled him and used every trick in the book on him that day definitely but it was Cavanagh's foul that got him sent off.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 06/12/2016 15:25:18    1938648

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I only talked about Cavanagh who I am a huge fan of, the best allround footballer I've seen. Keegan fouled him and used every trick in the book on him that day definitely but it was Cavanagh's foul that got him sent off."
But if referee had of booked or warned Keegan in first half Cavanagh wouldn't have got frustrated and reacted to Keegan for 1st yellow. It not just Keegan(we plenty of lads who play on the edge too) but when 2 players become involved in melee referees are taking easy option booking 2 players instead of instigator.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 06/12/2016 15:38:39    1938652

Just another laughable and one eyed biased negative attempt to get attention.
A Dublin footballer is more likely to get a reaction I suppose than a high profile Tipp hurler.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/12/2016 15:43:55    1938658

Mud sticks im afraid, the unfortunate thing for Lee Keegan was probably winning player of the year this year, the debate over black cards, indiscipline and playing the game fairly lingering long into the winter. It will be similar to Connolly this year after his red card in the drawn semi, think Keegan is now a marked man and will be reffed differently.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 06/12/2016 15:49:11    1938662

It's going to get to the point where an ex Dublin player says something in praise of Keegan and some will see a veiled swipe at him in some way.
I know we're hard up for GAA stories at this time of year but this thing is a non issue at this stage

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/12/2016 17:03:21    1938699

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Keegan only himself to blame for the black card. Im surprised it took so long for him to get one. He should have got it against Tyrone with the cynical fouling he was doing against Sean Cavanagh but the black card was kept in the pocket in that game (against Ulster Opposition). Of course however when he perpetrated his crimes against Dublin, he got his due punishment. So the Dublin media bias actually got the referee to finally enact a bit of justice against Keegan, there certainly wasn't any when he played against Tyrone. Instead Cavanagh got sent off.....imagine if Connolly had of been sent to the side line because of Keegans poor sportsmanship."
We don't have to imagine he did it in last year's semi final

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/12/2016 18:18:49    1938716