What has happened to the Older Posters in 2016?

Tomsmith here

I just wonder what has shappened to our older posters who seemed to be very quiet in 2016
Liam from Walkinstown, with your lovely soft quotes you are very quiet
Ulster man with you pro Irelande rants, you are remarkably quiet, is it the resurgence of the rugger fellows that has quietened you.
As for that other poster who posts under two titles I just wonder why not use your own name ie Tomsmith, you are also quiet

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3856 - 22/11/2016 11:24:53    1935924

It's because we're winning almost everything lately, it's always a lot noisier when we're not, on both sides of the fence.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 22/11/2016 21:37:33    1936115

Liamo is taking a time-out and will be back posting early next year.Jimbo will be back posting frantically too as we attempt the three-in-a-row.Just like our medal-laden team,these shrewd cats will be well rested and raring to go.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/11/2016 22:34:49    1936121

Speaking of older posters, how long are you on here? I am here since 2005. The year in which the GAA voted to have so called foreign matches to played in the sacred turf of Croke Park, Tyrone won Sam, Cork won Liam, Bertie was Taoiseach, Pope John Paul the second died this year and the Celtic tiger kept on roaring.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 22/11/2016 23:36:05    1936137

Replying To OLLIE:  "Speaking of older posters, how long are you on here? I am here since 2005. The year in which the GAA voted to have so called foreign matches to played in the sacred turf of Croke Park, Tyrone won Sam, Cork won Liam, Bertie was Taoiseach, Pope John Paul the second died this year and the Celtic tiger kept on roaring."
Good morning Ollie.How do remember the year you started on here,pal?I've heard other posters nearly knowing the exact date they joined.For the life of me i cannot rememeber when i started.Is there a way of finding out?I'm mot around that long i think,maybe 2012/2013?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/11/2016 09:37:23    1936159

Im still here tom thanks!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 23/11/2016 10:30:55    1936169

Replying To cuederocket:  "Good morning Ollie.How do remember the year you started on here,pal?I've heard other posters nearly knowing the exact date they joined.For the life of me i cannot rememeber when i started.Is there a way of finding out?I'm mot around that long i think,maybe 2012/2013?"
Top of the morning to you Cued. Most of the time I have a good head for years. I actually came across here by mistake and I am here since. In 2008 you had to register. Before that people were using other people's usernames. Ah you are only a newbie if you are only on it since 2012/2013.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/11/2016 10:37:52    1936172

Replying To OLLIE:  "Top of the morning to you Cued. Most of the time I have a good head for years. I actually came across here by mistake and I am here since. In 2008 you had to register. Before that people were using other people's usernames. Ah you are only a newbie if you are only on it since 2012/2013."
Good man Ollie,fair play to yere county champions in beating the best Kildare had to offer.Good to see a new team doing well in the Wee county.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/11/2016 10:47:21    1936177

Replying To cuederocket:  "Good man Ollie,fair play to yere county champions in beating the best Kildare had to offer.Good to see a new team doing well in the Wee county."
Cheers Cued. The Sean O Mahoney's have come along way in the past two years. They won the Louth Inter Championship in 2014 and then won the Leinster Inter Championship beating teams from Westmeath, Dublin, Kildare and Meath. This included Castleknock. Last year they reached their first ever Senior final only to be beaten by the Pats who had the great Paddy Keenan playing with them. This year they won it for the first time. John O Brien would be the best known player. A former Louth player who played in the Leinster final in 2010 and he was also nominated for an All Star that year. Rhode will be a very tough task for them but the O Mahoney's have a great attitude about them. 11/2 to win half time/full time. They won both of the previous matches in Leinster this year at this.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/11/2016 11:07:14    1936184

I am using Hoganstand since 96 or 97. I remember Meath were the team everyone loved to hate back then!
Been using the Lockjaw nomme de plume since about 2007/08 when registration became mandatory!

Without being too much of a sniveling sentimentalist HS has been a part of my whole late adolescent and adult life! Cheers admins!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 23/11/2016 11:10:25    1936185

I joined in 2008 just before our thrashing by Tyrone.....ah memories :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/11/2016 11:33:51    1936193

I can remember when there was no threads like today and all comments just appeared in the order they were posted. How far back was that?

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 23/11/2016 14:20:36    1936252

I'm 39, does that make me an older poster? I'd rather think of myself as early middle-aged.

Now in HS terms, I've probably only just hit puberty, or do I have to wait for my 200th post before I stop singing the Sopranos??

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 23/11/2016 15:26:30    1936273

I wonder how many posters are posting under numerous titles. Perhaps they resort to just one title in the 'quiet' season.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 23/11/2016 16:16:22    1936282

Replying To Suas Sios:  "I can remember when there was no threads like today and all comments just appeared in the order they were posted. How far back was that?"
2008 Suas Sios.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/11/2016 18:13:38    1936297

Replying To OLLIE:  "2008 Suas Sios."
That would coincide with one of my club comebacks around that time alright but I know I've been reading these boards since before 2008 - While skiving in work. What year did the website first appear? Lockjaw reckons mid '90s I definitely wasn't aware of it back then.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 24/11/2016 12:12:41    1936407

Replying To Suas Sios:  "That would coincide with one of my club comebacks around that time alright but I know I've been reading these boards since before 2008 - While skiving in work. What year did the website first appear? Lockjaw reckons mid '90s I definitely wasn't aware of it back then."
What I mean in 2008 is that this forum has changed. You had to register. Before that all the topics was on one page.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 24/11/2016 12:20:19    1936412

Replying To Suas Sios:  "That would coincide with one of my club comebacks around that time alright but I know I've been reading these boards since before 2008 - While skiving in work. What year did the website first appear? Lockjaw reckons mid '90s I definitely wasn't aware of it back then."
Ive been visiting from 2000, so id agree it was in the 90s

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 24/11/2016 12:36:52    1936414

I was still at school in the 90's and we were the last people to get dial-up internet so I reckon I probably started visiting 2005 at the earliest, reading club stuff mostly.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 24/11/2016 18:24:12    1936524

Replying To Suas Sios:  "I can remember when there was no threads like today and all comments just appeared in the order they were posted. How far back was that?"
10 years ago

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 25/11/2016 07:12:50    1936601