Its that time of the year again - Christmas do for all of us

Tomsmith Cavan here

Its that time of year again and for one more year i will try and get us all together for a friendly Christmas function somehwhere.
I am open to suggestions as to where , when and how we can gel the negativity posters with other posters.
Come on out with your ideas and please moderator do not allow smart Alecks (A smart aleck, is someone whose sarcastic, wisecracking, or humorous manner is delivered in an offensive, obnoxious, or cocky way. Other closely related terms include know-it-all, smarty pants, wisenheimer, and wise guy.) to ruin this post. As just an idea we could use somewhere like a Hotel we might get a good deal if the numbers were suitable.
Come on with ideas

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 15/11/2016 17:01:06    1934430

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith Cavan here

Its that time of year again and for one more year i will try and get us all together for a friendly Christmas function somehwhere.
I am open to suggestions as to where , when and how we can gel the negativity posters with other posters.
Come on out with your ideas and please moderator do not allow smart Alecks (A smart aleck, is someone whose sarcastic, wisecracking, or humorous manner is delivered in an offensive, obnoxious, or cocky way. Other closely related terms include know-it-all, smarty pants, wisenheimer, and wise guy.) to ruin this post. As just an idea we could use somewhere like a Hotel we might get a good deal if the numbers were suitable.
Come on with ideas"
Farnham arms or the imperial?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 15/11/2016 18:21:48    1934461

Actually can me move it up North? The way the euro is atm ye can all do your shopping in Asda and we won't be out a fortune.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 15/11/2016 18:22:48    1934462

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith Cavan here

Come on with ideas"
Haha not this old chestnut!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/11/2016 18:55:28    1934473

I'd never chanced upon the term "weisenheimer" Tom, so I've learnt something new today.

I'm all for breaking down barriers, tell you what, I'll even give Jon Carter a big sloppy kiss to prove there's no hard feelings.......!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 15/11/2016 19:00:08    1934474

Good man Tom will the generous people of Cavan be footing the bill

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 18:49:54    1934785

are you getting the urn and rich tea out for a mad one Tom? will I be thrown out if you find a half bottle up my jacket?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 16/11/2016 19:42:33    1934813

Portlaoise would be central. The Hermitage Hotel perhaps. Seen as we didn't get named as a venue in the RWC 2023 bid i think Laois deserves to get some sort of event. And a bit of gaa payback for the Dubs travelling to Nowlan Park last year instead of Portlaoise. It would be nice to host the inaugural Hoganstand posters social.

We're used to handling big events like the ploughing match and the electric picnic.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 16/11/2016 20:50:53    1934836

Replying To Laois76:  "Portlaoise would be central. The Hermitage Hotel perhaps. Seen as we didn't get named as a venue in the RWC 2023 bid i think Laois deserves to get some sort of event. And a bit of gaa payback for the Dubs travelling to Nowlan Park last year instead of Portlaoise. It would be nice to host the inaugural Hoganstand posters social.

We're used to handling big events like the ploughing match and the electric picnic."
Sounds good to me.As the only Dub who refused to attend Nowlan Park as a matter of principle last summer as i thought Laois were shafted,i would gladly attend a HS meet-up in Portlaoise,which happens to be where my Grandad is from.Sign me up.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/11/2016 21:09:49    1934848

Replying To cuederocket:  "Sounds good to me.As the only Dub who refused to attend Nowlan Park as a matter of principle last summer as i thought Laois were shafted,i would gladly attend a HS meet-up in Portlaoise,which happens to be where my Grandad is from.Sign me up."
It would be nice to host the inaugural Hoganstand posters social.

We're used to handling big events like the ploughing match and the electric picnic."
Sounds good to me.As the only Dub who refused to attend Nowlan Park as a matter of principle last summer as i thought Laois were shafted,i would gladly attend a HS meet-up in Portlaoise,which happens to be where my Grandad is from.Sign me up.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4837

Cuederocket Tomsmith Cavan here
Brillant that a senior poster like yourself will come along. I feel that we should be able to muster up sufficient numbers to have aknees up.
Is it posters only or posters plus partners. If it is held up North parners travelling could make it expensive

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 16/11/2016 23:07:54    1934921

How will we make ourselves known? Name tags? Cuedo Dublin, RD Meath etc?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 16/11/2016 23:33:45    1934931

Replying To Laois76:  "Portlaoise would be central. The Hermitage Hotel perhaps. Seen as we didn't get named as a venue in the RWC 2023 bid i think Laois deserves to get some sort of event. And a bit of gaa payback for the Dubs travelling to Nowlan Park last year instead of Portlaoise. It would be nice to host the inaugural Hoganstand posters social.

I think we should invite towns and cities to bid to host the event. We don't want to be selling ourselves short here.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 17/11/2016 09:47:19    1934980

Replying To Laois76:  "How will we make ourselves known? Name tags? Cuedo Dublin, RD Meath etc?"
Id love to attend, it would take the anonymity away too, lot of people know who I am, I say park hotel Mullingar, or hermitage portlaoise both excellent venues.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/11/2016 09:55:41    1934982

Replying To tomsmith:  "It would be nice to host the inaugural Hoganstand posters social.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4837

Cuederocket Tomsmith Cavan here
Brillant that a senior poster like yourself will come along. I feel that we should be able to muster up sufficient numbers to have aknees up.
Is it posters only or posters plus partners. If it is held up North parners travelling could make it expensive"
Good man Tom.I was thinking about this and it would be nice to meet various posters from up and down the country.Just an idea,but would it be a good idea to have the meet-up on the weekend of the All Ireland football/hurling final?It could become a yearly pilgrimage for any HS poster that's up for it.I reckon this Christmas in nearly alresdy too short notice.What ye think lads?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/11/2016 09:56:08    1934983

Would have to be in Dublin , sure you know how we hate to travel ;-).

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/11/2016 10:26:53    1934996

I actually met a poster, (Roscomain if memory serves me correct, i was a wee bit under the influence at this stage) on this on a bus back from Westport to castlebar at 3 in the morning this summer. Random as feck to say the least.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 17/11/2016 10:33:55    1934999

We're all here for one reason only ; the love of our two great games.So why not try incorporate it into our two biggest days of the year.Regardless of which counties are in the final?All Ireland weekends are great times.We could all catch up and have the craic while helping each other out with tickets,accomodation,woman (only joking) etc.Just throwing it out there lads.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/11/2016 10:44:52    1935003

I'd say one interesting little aspect of the social would be our presumptions about posters would be challenged.

'I always thought so and so was an awful arrogant bol*ix but i was surprised how sound he was when we had a few pints'.

'I thought username was a baldy small lad over 70 as he keeps talking about the 1950s and has serious knowledge.. who would have though he was a skinny 17 year old gaa geek with glasses'.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/11/2016 11:53:53    1935034

Lads and Lassies. The Louth Hoganstand should be held in Louth. The M1 is the gateway into the Wee County and is only 25 mins from Dublin Airport. Wee might be the smallest county in Ireland but we have the two biggest towns. Take your pick from having it in the D'Hotel in Drogheda, The Crown Plaza in Dundalk or the Four Seasons in beautiful Carlingford which is Louth's gem. Bring your partners with you and you can do a bit a Christmas shopping over the border in Newry. That's my bid in.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/11/2016 12:41:24    1935051

Replying To OLLIE:  "Lads and Lassies. The Louth Hoganstand should be held in Louth. The M1 is the gateway into the Wee County and is only 25 mins from Dublin Airport. Wee might be the smallest county in Ireland but we have the two biggest towns. Take your pick from having it in the D'Hotel in Drogheda, The Crown Plaza in Dundalk or the Four Seasons in beautiful Carlingford which is Louth's gem. Bring your partners with you and you can do a bit a Christmas shopping over the border in Newry. That's my bid in."
I should say Hoganstand Christmas Party.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/11/2016 12:43:23    1935053