How about that!

Cubs win first series in 108 years and now the Irish best the all blacks, I think we can put that in the history books eh.
Deserved recognition.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/11/2016 23:32:10    1931965

Shouldn't this be other sports page

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/11/2016 23:42:33    1931967

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Shouldn't this be other sports page"
Or on another site preferably.Rugby not my thing.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/11/2016 00:13:32    1931974

And as for baseball?Please,give me a break.The hotdog-munching soda-slurpers don't know how unlucky they are.What a heap of crap!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/11/2016 09:05:10    1931983

Get over yourselves lads ffs. This is historic.
111 of trying and to beat one of the best teams ever to play the game is some achievement whether you like rugby or not.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/11/2016 09:30:17    1931987

Ahh I dont mind the rugby, wouldn't be my favourite sport (football always) but its some achievement and everyone in gaa should be happy that we beat the kiwis , I prefer recognition of them than man u or Liverpool, ( no offence to either teams supporters)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/11/2016 10:07:50    1931993

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh I dont mind the rugby, wouldn't be my favourite sport (football always) but its some achievement and everyone in gaa should be happy that we beat the kiwis , I prefer recognition of them than man u or Liverpool, ( no offence to either teams supporters)"
Can Cork City dethrone the fantastic Dundalk today is the question?Looking forward to heading to the Aviva to see one of the greatest (if not the greatest) Irish club teams of all time.And i'll get to avoid the rugby "love-in" on the radio also.I can only imagine the back slapping that will grip all media over next few days.I'll be safe in the Aviva.I have given myself a wee test to avoid any rugby blather of next few days.It'll be hard but i'm fully determined (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/11/2016 10:27:42    1932001

Other Sports forum is there for a reason.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 06/11/2016 10:37:42    1932003

Replying To cuederocket:  "Can Cork City dethrone the fantastic Dundalk today is the question?Looking forward to heading to the Aviva to see one of the greatest (if not the greatest) Irish club teams of all time.And i'll get to avoid the rugby "love-in" on the radio also.I can only imagine the back slapping that will grip all media over next few days.I'll be safe in the Aviva.I have given myself a wee test to avoid any rugby blather of next few days.It'll be hard but i'm fully determined (:"
Good man cue. It'll be tough I'd say!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 06/11/2016 12:29:21    1932026

Great achievement if fairness.
Some crack in Chicago I'd get.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 06/11/2016 13:09:32    1932035

Replying To MesAmis:  "Good man cue. It'll be tough I'd say!"
Headin in on bus now mes.I must admit i hate drinking anywhere near the Aviva.Awful pubs.Might have a quick couple in Temple Bar or Pearse St for a change.

I got caught listening to Donal Lenihan on Newstalk last week for a few minutes promoting his new book.I couldn't believe my ears when he said the southern players used to sing "The Sash" to bond with the Ulster boys.Also,is there anything more cringeworthy than Irelands Call??Rugger buggers and GAA/Soccer folk just don't get along in Dublin.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/11/2016 13:18:30    1932037

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Get over yourselves lads ffs. This is historic.
111 of trying and to beat one of the best teams ever to play the game is some achievement whether you like rugby or not."
I think your the one needs to get over themself as you obviously know there's an other sports forum for other sports other than gaa and you choose to put this thread on the gaa only section.
now the baseball was winning the biggest competition in the sport fair enough where as the rugby was winning a friendly haha yeah let's all celebrate.
don't think longford made such a fuss of beating the reigning league Leinster and all ireland champions in the o byrne cup this January gone by, that was more of an achievement than what the 5th ranked team in world beating the 1st ranked team in a friendly.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/11/2016 13:33:21    1932039

Agree totally. Another forum. Same for McGregor should he win next week. Please dont burden us!

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/11/2016 13:40:20    1932043

Great result for Ireland. We should all celebrate it instead of some of ye who are just anti "foreign sports" thinking your more irish because for having that view

rebelfan (Cork) - Posts: 70 - 06/11/2016 14:04:48    1932052

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I think your the one needs to get over themself as you obviously know there's an other sports forum for other sports other than gaa and you choose to put this thread on the gaa only section.
now the baseball was winning the biggest competition in the sport fair enough where as the rugby was winning a friendly haha yeah let's all celebrate.
don't think longford made such a fuss of beating the reigning league Leinster and all ireland champions in the o byrne cup this January gone by, that was more of an achievement than what the 5th ranked team in world beating the 1st ranked team in a friendly."
We've had threads on here when Leicester won the premiership so why not celebrate a great Irish achievement in beating the best team ever to play the game. Friendly,haha ! Yourself.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/11/2016 14:13:08    1932056

Replying To cuederocket:  "Headin in on bus now mes.I must admit i hate drinking anywhere near the Aviva.Awful pubs.Might have a quick couple in Temple Bar or Pearse St for a change.

I got caught listening to Donal Lenihan on Newstalk last week for a few minutes promoting his new book.I couldn't believe my ears when he said the southern players used to sing "The Sash" to bond with the Ulster boys.Also,is there anything more cringeworthy than Irelands Call??Rugger buggers and GAA/Soccer folk just don't get along in Dublin."
Fair play cueder. The Cup Final is always a good day out. Missing it today as the wife is away out for the day so I'm holding the fort.

Yeah not a big fan of boozing around Lansdowne either. Usually come back into town after.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 06/11/2016 14:17:32    1932058

Replying To cuederocket:  "Can Cork City dethrone the fantastic Dundalk today is the question?Looking forward to heading to the Aviva to see one of the greatest (if not the greatest) Irish club teams of all time.And i'll get to avoid the rugby "love-in" on the radio also.I can only imagine the back slapping that will grip all media over next few days.I'll be safe in the Aviva.I have given myself a wee test to avoid any rugby blather of next few days.It'll be hard but i'm fully determined (:"
As long as Daryl Horgan continues his top form he has to start for Ireland next week for me and get the recognition he deserves for his performance levels all season. They waited until wes hoolahan was past his prime before giving him his chance for Ireland lets hope they don't snub the league of ireland again with Horgan

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/11/2016 14:17:42    1932059

As long as Daryl Horgan continues his top form he has to start for Ireland next week for me and get the recognition he deserves for his performance levels all season. They waited until wes hoolahan was past his prime before giving him his chance for Ireland lets hope they don't snub the league of ireland again with Horgan

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/11/2016 14:17:42    1932060

Replying To rebelfan:  "Great result for Ireland. We should all celebrate it instead of some of ye who are just anti "foreign sports" thinking your more irish because for having that view"
Nothing to do with rugby being a foreign sport buddy. Stupid comment.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 06/11/2016 14:49:00    1932063

Put it in the doping forum

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 06/11/2016 20:49:29    1932159