Well Done Lee Keegan !!

I don't know whether the award for player of the year was deserved, Personally I would have been biased and given the award to Brian Fenton, It hasn't worked out that was but seriously, congratulations to Lee.

On facebook and Twitter the vitriol towards him winning the award is actually embarrassing from a lot of Dublin fans, Fact is, Lee Keegan plays on the edge, But no more so than a few of our own lads.. Some of the great players have a bit of a temper, its what gives them that extra few percent. Its a shame bias can make you love a player who wears your jersey, while loathe a similar player on the opposition team.

And we would all have him on our team.. End of story. Its okay, it doesn't make you any less of a Dub to admit Lee Keegan is a class act.

Infact, He is an unbelievably gifted footballer who has kept Diarmuid Connolly in his pocket for the majority of the times they've played each other in big games, and people rightly eulogize over Diarmuid Connolly labelling him a modern day great. (rightly so too in my opinion)

For Fenton and Kilkenny, Hard luck, But they've finished the season with back to back trebles. This is a team game, And you ask any top player playing the game if theyd rather win POTY or back to back All Irelands, theyd certainly pick the latter, so I don't think they'll be overly disappointed this evening.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/11/2016 21:50:22    1931695

What a joke.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/11/2016 23:59:06    1931727

Well done Lee.

Superb footballer.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 05/11/2016 02:06:17    1931734

Replying To waynoI:  "I don't know whether the award for player of the year was deserved, Personally I would have been biased and given the award to Brian Fenton, It hasn't worked out that was but seriously, congratulations to Lee.

On facebook and Twitter the vitriol towards him winning the award is actually embarrassing from a lot of Dublin fans, Fact is, Lee Keegan plays on the edge, But no more so than a few of our own lads.. Some of the great players have a bit of a temper, its what gives them that extra few percent. Its a shame bias can make you love a player who wears your jersey, while loathe a similar player on the opposition team.

And we would all have him on our team.. End of story. Its okay, it doesn't make you any less of a Dub to admit Lee Keegan is a class act.

Infact, He is an unbelievably gifted footballer who has kept Diarmuid Connolly in his pocket for the majority of the times they've played each other in big games, and people rightly eulogize over Diarmuid Connolly labelling him a modern day great. (rightly so too in my opinion)

For Fenton and Kilkenny, Hard luck, But they've finished the season with back to back trebles. This is a team game, And you ask any top player playing the game if theyd rather win POTY or back to back All Irelands, theyd certainly pick the latter, so I don't think they'll be overly disappointed this evening."
Well said Waynol, fine post. I'm sure Fenton and Kilkenny were among the first to shake Keegan's, and realize that, this year Keegan had that little bit extra. I can see either or both of them being around for a few years yet, and having another, possibly bigger say in POTY!

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 05/11/2016 05:57:51    1931740

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What a joke."
It really is amazing how offended the Dubs fans are over this decision.

Keegan had a great year it's hardly a joke of a decision.

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 05/11/2016 07:42:57    1931742

Well done lee Keegan? Is this where the gas is at now? Handing out player of the year awards to a player who's actions had a fellow player sent off. A player who's actions continually try to get a reaction from another opponent so he might be sent off. And indeed getting the line himself in the final.

Yeah well done lee Keegan and well done those who select a player who operates In that manner.

Joke

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 05/11/2016 08:03:59    1931746

Replying To waynoI:  "I don't know whether the award for player of the year was deserved, Personally I would have been biased and given the award to Brian Fenton, It hasn't worked out that was but seriously, congratulations to Lee.

For Fenton and Kilkenny, Hard luck, But they've finished the season with back to back trebles. This is a team game, And you ask any top player playing the game if theyd rather win POTY or back to back All Irelands, theyd certainly pick the latter, so I don't think they'll be overly disappointed this evening."
I'm glad to see a Dublin supporter highlight the disgraceful commentary on this decision, particularly on the Hill16 Army page which was brought to my attention last night and which I found utterly shocking. Those responsible for that page should hang their heads in shame.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 05/11/2016 08:34:30    1931748

I find the selection interesting on a number of fronts. First of the bat is he is worthy winner and a really great footballer, i dont think there could be any complaints if any of the three lads nominated won at all, im always a bit miffed that Connolly wasnt even and rarely nominated for player of the year despite his achievements in every competition the code had - but i digress. There is a context here that speaks volumes on the general atmosphere and feel amongst the GAA community in this decision: Was expecting Keegan to win be honest, it was always going to happen, huge sentiment and sympathy behind Mayo, backlash around black cards, Dublin unbeatable/win everything fatigue, the award is voted for by the players. Its a great indication on a lot of issues amoungst the players in the country. As i said Keegan is a very worthy winner.

I will say this though, i am always a bit dissapointed with he way Keegan plays the game and the award and that slightly dissapoints me as a fan of his talent, going to watch games, if he wholly focused on playing the game to his natural strengths i think the debate on POTY would be less of a heated one. Its one of those if he plays for you - you love the dark arts part of his game, but as a fan of football you wish he would cut the tedish behaviors and focus on his brilliant talents. I went to both finals this year wishing and hoping that both he and Connolly would cut out there nonsense and fair contest and leave both players on the pitch for 70 mins, Of course that never happens with one or the other always getting sent off. I find it a pity. His selection rankles a little with me because of that, because i feel that approach to his game takes away from undoubted strengths and i dont think its could for the game. I would say exactly the same thing about Connolly as well and it drives me nus at times. I think with this cynical play in mind, i think its controversial selection, not that its not deserved, but i think its sends a narrative out there in terms of of whats acceptable in the GAA.

Im really happy for Lee and for Mayo, had great days out with the Mayo fans over the years and this is a great acknowledgement of the contribution Mayo football has made in the past 5 years and i hope all his county men are proud of him.

I was having a few pints last night and someone made the point, if Lee Keegan played for Tyrone would he be player of the year? I couldn't say hand on heart and dont believe he would have been.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/11/2016 09:43:59    1931770

Well done Lee. Fantastic footballer who has continuously pushed himself to develope his game. He is almost the ideal all round modern footballer. He has it all. Not much between him and alot of other players. His goal alone in the final replay was something special. In time it will be appreciated for the super strike that it was.
Luckily I know plenty of Dublin supporters in the real world. Friends, work colleagues and relatives. Real true sports people. Understand what sport is about. Thankfully I know what has been spouted about Lee on social media is not a reflection of the majority of Dublin supporters. Some of it is frankly disturbing.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 05/11/2016 09:56:12    1931773

Replying To TheUsername:  "I find the selection interesting on a number of fronts. First of the bat is he is worthy winner and a really great footballer, i dont think there could be any complaints if any of the three lads nominated won at all, im always a bit miffed that Connolly wasnt even and rarely nominated for player of the year despite his achievements in every competition the code had - but i digress. There is a context here that speaks volumes on the general atmosphere and feel amongst the GAA community in this decision: Was expecting Keegan to win be honest, it was always going to happen, huge sentiment and sympathy behind Mayo, backlash around black cards, Dublin unbeatable/win everything fatigue, the award is voted for by the players. Its a great indication on a lot of issues amoungst the players in the country. As i said Keegan is a very worthy winner.

I will say this though, i am always a bit dissapointed with he way Keegan plays the game and the award and that slightly dissapoints me as a fan of his talent, going to watch games, if he wholly focused on playing the game to his natural strengths i think the debate on POTY would be less of a heated one. Its one of those if he plays for you - you love the dark arts part of his game, but as a fan of football you wish he would cut the tedish behaviors and focus on his brilliant talents. I went to both finals this year wishing and hoping that both he and Connolly would cut out there nonsense and fair contest and leave both players on the pitch for 70 mins, Of course that never happens with one or the other always getting sent off. I find it a pity. His selection rankles a little with me because of that, because i feel that approach to his game takes away from undoubted strengths and i dont think its could for the game. I would say exactly the same thing about Connolly as well and it drives me nus at times. I think with this cynical play in mind, i think its controversial selection, not that its not deserved, but i think its sends a narrative out there in terms of of whats acceptable in the GAA.

Im really happy for Lee and for Mayo, had great days out with the Mayo fans over the years and this is a great acknowledgement of the contribution Mayo football has made in the past 5 years and i hope all his county men are proud of him.

I was having a few pints last night and someone made the point, if Lee Keegan played for Tyrone would he be player of the year? I couldn't say hand on heart and dont believe he would have been."
He wouldn't have been player of the year if he'd lost to Tyrone.

There'd have been a chance that if Peter Harte continued his form and Tyrone got to a AI final he could have won it. Although it probably would've needed Tyrone putting it up to Dublin in the final.

That's the point though, those things didn't happen so Peter Harte couldn't possibly be in the running even though he might be the best player in the game right now.

Player of the year isn't a well defined award but right now I don't think it is about saying who the best player in the game is.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4208 - 05/11/2016 10:59:19    1931788

Excellent post. I'd have very little to add.

I'd say something that could have hurt the Dublin pair is that there were 2 of them with very good cases for winning and that would've split the vote a lot. If you'd Fenton on his own up against Keegan, Fenton possibly would've come out on top.

Fenton would've been my pick but it's far from a joke Keegan won.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4208 - 05/11/2016 11:02:56    1931790

Well done to lee keegan , what a brilliant footballer and well deserved, his goal against Dublin in the replay and the way he puts Connolly in pocket every time they play the dubs says enough for me.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/11/2016 11:30:56    1931795

Lee Keegan, Philly McMahon, Ryan McMenamin. All class acts. All walked/walk on the edge and well over it at times. Plenty more players, usually defenders, like them. Any team would want them. The amount of post- Player of the Year Award hindsight experts giving their gifted begrudging analysis because Lee walks the walk is laughable. Show me a defender who doesn't intimidate their opponent and get into disciplinary problems and I'd question how good of a defender is he ?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 05/11/2016 13:18:40    1931829

Keegan more than deserved this award. it is an individual award and there wasn't a better individual at the business end of the championship than Lee Keegan. He kept Cavanagh, Quinlivan and Connolly quiet in consecutive games. without his influence Connolly might have been collecting the award and instead he wasn't even nominated. I despare at some of the bitter words of some Dublin posters on this topic. The same ones who praise Philly Mac for similar reasons. catch a grip lads. i agree with the opening post. well said.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 05/11/2016 14:05:50    1931844

Saffron, I agree with you for the most part but it's all down to opinions at the end of the day. I'm not a Dub but I would have had Fenton ahead of either Keegan or Kilkenny, likewise I would have had Johnny Cooper and Colm Boyle ahead of them to get a nomination let alone the award.
I do think it's a little bit hypocritical that Philly McMahon lost out on the award last year on the back of his use of the dark arts while Keegan wins it this year for excelling in them. I know that's not what Lee's game is about (well not totally) but you'd have to say where he excelled most this year, bar the first 15 mins of the replayed final, was all about stopping his opposite number play. He had to sacrifice his own game to play man marker.
Anyway, I think way too much is made of this whole thing, some very sensitive people out there down to a popularity contest. When Gooch Cooper has never won the award then you know there's something wrong with them.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 05/11/2016 14:48:12    1931854

Reservoir Dubs, Hill16Army and that whole section of the Dublin support making an absolute show of themselves as per usual. Some of the stuff they're posting about this is embarrassing. Screaming it's not fair like a spoilt child any time things don't go your way won't ender you to anyone and does a disservice to the real dub fans who behave impeccably and know how to get on with their fellow GAA brethren without the sneering.

Keegan was the best player of the year and anyone who was paying attetion will see that. He is a complete footballer and so versatile. One of the best footballers of this generation, easily. Tasked with man marking the best forwards in the game and does so with verve while also getting forward and scoring. He has a great attitude and takes responsibility and shows leadership for Mayo. I don't believe in this "he's unsporting" either. Keegan is tough and smart and a hard competitor but he's not doing anything defenders up and down the country aren doing, he's just doing it a lot better. We're in the Joe Brolly generation now though where an issue needs to b made of everything and anything and individuals need to be singled out as "worse" than everyone else despite the fact that everyone does it. These people must die of heart failure when they see club matches if they think Keegan is so over the line. He's the kind of footballer people pay to see, the opposition's nightmare. He'd walk into any team in the country. 100% a deserved winner.

If certain dub supporters just admitted he's a great player, then they might be able to go and have a lie down. They're going to give themselves a migrane the way they're carrying on.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 05/11/2016 14:55:53    1931856

Lads i can tell ye all that not one Dublin player gave two flying fecks last night. Added to that neither did Keegan. It's just opinions and we all have them. All stars and poty always causes aggro. And for what like??

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/11/2016 15:01:03    1931858

Replying To ZeitChrist:  "Reservoir Dubs, Hill16Army and that whole section of the Dublin support making an absolute show of themselves as per usual. Some of the stuff they're posting about this is embarrassing. Screaming it's not fair like a spoilt child any time things don't go your way won't ender you to anyone and does a disservice to the real dub fans who behave impeccably and know how to get on with their fellow GAA brethren without the sneering.

Keegan was the best player of the year and anyone who was paying attetion will see that. He is a complete footballer and so versatile. One of the best footballers of this generation, easily. Tasked with man marking the best forwards in the game and does so with verve while also getting forward and scoring. He has a great attitude and takes responsibility and shows leadership for Mayo. I don't believe in this "he's unsporting" either. Keegan is tough and smart and a hard competitor but he's not doing anything defenders up and down the country aren doing, he's just doing it a lot better. We're in the Joe Brolly generation now though where an issue needs to b made of everything and anything and individuals need to be singled out as "worse" than everyone else despite the fact that everyone does it. These people must die of heart failure when they see club matches if they think Keegan is so over the line. He's the kind of footballer people pay to see, the opposition's nightmare. He'd walk into any team in the country. 100% a deserved winner.

If certain dub supporters just admitted he's a great player, then they might be able to go and have a lie down. They're going to give themselves a migrane the way they're carrying on."
Pay no heed to so-called Dublin supporters on social media who are little more than keyboard warriors. Plenty of them from Mayo and from other counties too. Check out the Mayo Banter page on Facebooj. The nearest most of them have ever been to a match is sitting on a high stool giving their 'coulda been a contender, I was a mighty underage player' rant while whinging about the ref and the county players who 'were never county standard'.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 05/11/2016 15:08:06    1931861

What a shocking waste of time and energy these awards are. I always remember the tearful Limerick hurler Hickey distraught at losing but being awarded player of the match and when he said This means nothing to me probably says all that needs to be said on this topic.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 05/11/2016 15:36:11    1931867

Replying To Goalie2016:  "It really is amazing how offended the Dubs fans are over this decision.

Keegan had a great year it's hardly a joke of a decision."
Haters gonna hate, Dubs simply greedy, want it all. Well done to Lee, well deserved and the fact that it was his fellow footballers that voted for him makes it all the more significant.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 05/11/2016 15:36:38    1931868