Marc O'Se

Bye bye Mark O'Se, and thank you...Sheer class! 16 seasons at the highest level is crazy in this day and age. Those O'Se's were a different breed though. You can examine all the great footballing families that ever represented any county at the highest level, none, NONE even comes close to those O'Se's!

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 12/10/2016 13:26:55    1925342

What can you say? Simply put, the best in his position for a decade or more. Player of the year at corner back on a team overflowing with superstars. Will be right up there when all-time Gaelic Football 15 line-ups are being debated. Legend.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 12/10/2016 13:40:49    1925348

Replying To shoulderghost:  "Bye bye Mark O'Se, and thank you...Sheer class! 16 seasons at the highest level is crazy in this day and age. Those O'Se's were a different breed though. You can examine all the great footballing families that ever represented any county at the highest level, none, NONE even comes close to those O'Se's!"
22 years or there abouts of at least one of the brother O'Se's on the Kerry team sheet, its going to be a strange strange feeling never seeing any of them line out in the Green and Gold again.

Seems like once you enter your 30s you find all your hero's departing stage left - Darragh, Tomas, Marc, Declan, Galvin, Mike McCarthy, Tom O'Sullivan, ROG, Paul O'Connell, Robbie Keane etc, etc

Of course new players will emerge to lay claim to the voids they have left behind.

But I often wonder if, as a sports fan, you ever adore any star as much as you adored those first ones you made as your heroes.

Maybe its a bit like the first time you fall in love, do you ever real feel that way about any woman/man again??

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/10/2016 13:44:33    1925350

A fine fine player.

Didn't Paudie get awful stick when he introduced him on to the county scene? Bet those detractors are eating humble pie now.

buttybrennan (Cork) - Posts: 58 - 12/10/2016 13:56:44    1925357

Replying To TheHermit:  "22 years or there abouts of at least one of the brother O'Se's on the Kerry team sheet, its going to be a strange strange feeling never seeing any of them line out in the Green and Gold again.

Seems like once you enter your 30s you find all your hero's departing stage left - Darragh, Tomas, Marc, Declan, Galvin, Mike McCarthy, Tom O'Sullivan, ROG, Paul O'Connell, Robbie Keane etc, etc

Of course new players will emerge to lay claim to the voids they have left behind.

But I often wonder if, as a sports fan, you ever adore any star as much as you adored those first ones you made as your heroes.

Maybe its a bit like the first time you fall in love, do you ever real feel that way about any woman/man again??"
Great Post Hermit!

I'm 26 and I've been getting those feelings.

It'll be hard for me to love an era of the GAA as much as the 2000s because we were there for one decade we got to be the Kerry's rival and that's a special thing to be in this sport.

In terms of Rugby, there's a nation of people who i'm sure will be thinking about lads like ROG and POC, they made us relevant on the world scale and had us daring to dream at world cups, when you're not the likes of the All Blacks that's really all you can ask.

Great time to grow up as a sports nut!

Enjoy retirement Marc, greatest corner back i've ever seen play the game. Probably the best defender in general

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 12/10/2016 14:57:35    1925391

Replying To buttybrennan:  "A fine fine player.

Didn't Paudie get awful stick when he introduced him on to the county scene? Bet those detractors are eating humble pie now."
No butty that was tomás paudi got the stick over.
Although Paud got stick for not taking Marc off against Armagh in 2002 he got roasted by mcconvile that day.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/10/2016 15:17:54    1925399

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "No butty that was tomás paudi got the stick over.
Although Paud got stick for not taking Marc off against Armagh in 2002 he got roasted by mcconvile that day."
Ah right. Maybe that's what I'm thinking of. Either way they were wrong.

Rare enough for three brothers to play intercounty let alone over a sustained period. The O'Se's surely have the record. Although they were great rivals of ours you couldn't but respect them.

buttybrennan (Cork) - Posts: 58 - 12/10/2016 15:23:36    1925403

What a player and what a career from the greatest Gaa family of them all. All the best to Marc O Se on his retirement the greatest corner back I ever seen (until Philly came along).

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/10/2016 15:41:04    1925414

Replying To Seansy48:  "Great Post Hermit!

I'm 26 and I've been getting those feelings.

It'll be hard for me to love an era of the GAA as much as the 2000s because we were there for one decade we got to be the Kerry's rival and that's a special thing to be in this sport.

In terms of Rugby, there's a nation of people who i'm sure will be thinking about lads like ROG and POC, they made us relevant on the world scale and had us daring to dream at world cups, when you're not the likes of the All Blacks that's really all you can ask.

Great time to grow up as a sports nut!

Enjoy retirement Marc, greatest corner back i've ever seen play the game. Probably the best defender in general"
Aye Seansy we are getting old and you are right, there was something magical about the 2000's in terms of sport.

Kerry had a golden age, the amount of brilliant games and occasions they were in, it seemed every summer there was a least 2-3 epic games. We came out on the wrong side against ye boys, but I think over all we did ok!!!

Then you had Munster and that brilliant march to European glory, was privileged to be at both their victories in Cardiff. Ireland also finally getting their act together and playing some great stuff (the nightmare of the 2007 World Cup aside).

You had that brilliant summer in 2002 for Irish soccer, the first real time I got to enjoy all the drinking and craic that goes on at home when Ireland are part of a big tournament.

Anyway I digress, Marc thank you for all those memories especially that point down in PUC in the 2010 Munster final replay, what a score and what a game!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/10/2016 15:45:12    1925416

Replying To TheHermit:  "Aye Seansy we are getting old and you are right, there was something magical about the 2000's in terms of sport.

Kerry had a golden age, the amount of brilliant games and occasions they were in, it seemed every summer there was a least 2-3 epic games. We came out on the wrong side against ye boys, but I think over all we did ok!!!

Then you had Munster and that brilliant march to European glory, was privileged to be at both their victories in Cardiff. Ireland also finally getting their act together and playing some great stuff (the nightmare of the 2007 World Cup aside).

You had that brilliant summer in 2002 for Irish soccer, the first real time I got to enjoy all the drinking and craic that goes on at home when Ireland are part of a big tournament.

Anyway I digress, Marc thank you for all those memories especially that point down in PUC in the 2010 Munster final replay, what a score and what a game!"
I forgot about the 2002 World cup altogether in that!

I was in my last year of primary school and the class went to the library for the Germany match, I'll never forget the room when Robbie Keane stuck the ball in Oliver Kahn's net (one of the 2 men to do it in that tournament, the other was some Brazilian lad with a weird haircut and golden boots on).

Pure elation!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 12/10/2016 16:12:41    1925425

Ard imreoir gan amhras ar bith. Ar cheann de na cosainteoirí is fearr dá bhfaca mé riamh.

Beidh sé aisteach féachaint ar fhoireann na Ríochta gan Ó Sé ar bith ann!

Go n-éirí leat a Mharc, tá súil agam go n-imreoidh tú ar aghaidh leis an gclub ar feadh tréimhse eile.

Me cheol dhuit.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 12/10/2016 16:22:22    1925427

whenever picking the greatest gaa teams of all time in the clubs, bars, and gaa places in the future the 4 o,se names will be mentioned...marc dara paidi and tomas .i remember marc first coming onto the kerry team and i thought..surely not a 4th as good as the other 3? my doubts were unfounded..a true legend of the game ..i met him once about 10 yr ago.gracious humble and a gent.. best of luck and a happy retirement marc

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 12/10/2016 16:53:58    1925439

Its hard to imagine that 3 brothers could be that good at the same sport, all 3 are in contention for the best player in their position in their era. I doubt we'll ever see a trio like that again.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 12/10/2016 17:16:12    1925447

Great, classy, clean player. Since 1974 bar a few years from 1989-1994, there has been an O'Sé from Ventry on the Kerry senior team. Feels like the end of an era.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 12/10/2016 17:41:46    1925456

Just reading The Hermit and Seansy posts. We are indeed sentimental beings. The teams and players who were prominent when we were young, or entering our sporting prime, always hold a special place in our hearts. I have a few years on you both and it's the 1990s that are special to me as i was progressing at sport at that time. Italia 90 and USA 94 World Cups. The 1995 Rugby World Cup in South Africa was a special occasion. Jonah Lomu turns 20 and destroys England with 4 great individual tries in the semi final of that competition. Meath v Dublin 4 game saga in 1991, Donegal, Derry, Down triumphs. Maurice Fitzgerald in 1997. Clare and Wexford make hurling breakthroughs and Offaly have a sensationally skilled team. Sonia O'Sullivan is World Champion in 1995.

For me it was a time when sporting talent was to the fore and gym work hadn't the emphasis of today. Although we're on a gaa forum i'll leave a few links to the great Christian Cullen of All Black fame. He symbolised that era for me as he relied on speed, timing, footwork and skill. I followed his career closely as he was exactly my age. Though by 24 his career was tapering off due to injury.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=boujhV56Cq0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CfY9eRg1etA

And again best wishes to Marc O'Sé.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 12/10/2016 18:01:39    1925461

great player...of the 3 brothers tomas i would rate the highest

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 12/10/2016 18:19:33    1925465

Time waits for no man. Right decision as his best years are behind him. Best of luck to him.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 12/10/2016 18:35:46    1925473

Replying To alano12:  "great player...of the 3 brothers tomas i would rate the highest"
would probably agree, but at one point, they were the best corner back, wing back and midfielder in the country - serious claim for 3 brothers!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 12/10/2016 18:59:01    1925479

I got a great laugh seeing Tomas talking to his 5th class about healthy eating on Claire Byrne on Monday. In Dara's autobiography he spoke about how they never took the dietary thing too seriously and himself and Tomas loved to go down the town to pick up a few wine gums and bars of chocolate the night before an all-ireland!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 12/10/2016 19:29:55    1925491

Replying To Laois76:  "Great, classy, clean player. Since 1974 bar a few years from 1989-1994, there has been an O'Sé from Ventry on the Kerry senior team. Feels like the end of an era."
You could go back as far as 1968 for an Ó Sé living in Ceann Trá on the Kerry team when Micheál Ó Sé (no relation) the great commentator and Kerry centre back is included.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 12/10/2016 19:39:26    1925494