Lee Keegan

Lee Keegan. A class man on and off the pitch. Fair play Leroy!

https://twitter.com/leeroykeegan/status/784044843752448000

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 06/10/2016 20:14:05    1923480

I've massive respect for Keegan. Players like him and Philly McMahon aren't to everyones tastes - which is fair enough but there is no denying they are mightily impressive footballers and men.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 06/10/2016 20:25:08    1923487

I'm sure he is a nice guy as are most of the lads on the Mayo team.
At what point though did we start this love in .Is it because they lost, and we see the more human side that all of a sudden we can allow ourselves to stop despising lads who have put so much effort in to what they love doing.
He was the same guy last week as he is today as was Philly Mc Mahon or any other fella that gets booed whenever he touches a ball. People are fickle creatures.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/10/2016 20:43:15    1923498

People go into the trenches around the time of a big game: ironic enough that Connolly and Keegan actually seem to get on better than a lot of their supporters/detractors...

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/10/2016 23:12:03    1923564

Replying To Gael85:  "Lee Keegan. A class man on and off the pitch. Fair play Leroy!

https://twitter.com/leeroykeegan/status/784044843752448000"
It's getting a but sickening now all this " yer sound lads, great footballers, great fans, love playing ye shi#e", give us a break or better still a bucket, ffs.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 07/10/2016 00:49:39    1923572

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "It's getting a but sickening now all this " yer sound lads, great footballers, great fans, love playing ye shi#e", give us a break or better still a bucket, ffs."
you're absolutely spot on. I hate all this bulls... from individual players sending out open letters to the public looking for love, sympathy, twitter followers etc. its a team game and if necessary a post from the entire panel should be enough. don't get me wrong I love lee keegan who unlike a lot of the other mayo superstars?? does his talking on the pitch.

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 07/10/2016 08:22:35    1923583

Agree. They are caught up on the social media world.

Nobody died, just get on with it

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 07/10/2016 08:40:11    1923587

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "It's getting a but sickening now all this " yer sound lads, great footballers, great fans, love playing ye shi#e", give us a break or better still a bucket, ffs."
Love Keegan as a player. He's an excellent example to kids in Mayo and elsewhere. He has worked extremely hard to get to where he is today. When the dust settles his goal will be rightly appreciated as one if the finest scored in Croker Park on All Ireland final day. I agree about all this social media love in after a game. Think squad should issue a statement to thank fans etc but Lee tweeted it so you don't have to read it if you don't wish. Also it was then picked up by a particular website and a Dublin fan posted it here. Lee gets a pass from me in general as he walks the walk.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 07/10/2016 09:26:15    1923604

Replying To GetOverTheBar:  "I've massive respect for Keegan. Players like him and Philly McMahon aren't to everyones tastes - which is fair enough but there is no denying they are mightily impressive footballers and men."
I'm sorry but there's winning by whatever means possible (blocking lads' runs, pulling jerseys, wrestling to the ground) and there's pure and unadulterated thuggery - eye gouging being right up there.

There is no comparison in my mind between Keegan and McMahon.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 07/10/2016 10:45:10    1923643

Agree with both Mayomanic and FoolsGold

Scarlet for him releasing this short statement.

Get over yourself!! as FoolsGold points out, nobody has died. Its only a hobby at the end of the day.

Life goes on.

You wont get any Dublin/Kerry/Tyrone footballers at this craic when they lose big games.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/10/2016 10:51:21    1923646

Replying To waynoI:  "Agree with both Mayomanic and FoolsGold

Scarlet for him releasing this short statement.

Get over yourself!! as FoolsGold points out, nobody has died. Its only a hobby at the end of the day.

Life goes on.

You wont get any Dublin/Kerry/Tyrone footballers at this craic when they lose big games."
Give the lad a break. All year he has been in a bubble, being told what to say and when to say it. Now he can say what he feels so good luck to him. All he said was that he was feeling down after losing, it would take a while to get over it but that hopefully they'd be back. He also thanked the supporters. He's not asking anyone to love him just telling it as it is. I'm not sure about current Dublin footballers but the ex Dubs have been falling over themselves looking for media attention the last couple of weeks. At least Lee wasn't following a script.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/10/2016 12:14:45    1923689

good footballer but I despise the way he plays alot of the time. pulling jerseys, wrestling with lads to provoke a reaction . In no way is he an example to young players. If the officials were any good he would be getting the line in alot of matches. As for Philly , well I have said enough about him on here before. He shouldn't be let near a football pitch.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 07/10/2016 12:38:07    1923701

Yeah totally agree, when Galway beat Mayo all the Dubs were laughing at Mayo, strange how it's changed now after they beat them in the final.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 07/10/2016 13:30:49    1923738

Replying To AthboyCelt:  "Yeah totally agree, when Galway beat Mayo all the Dubs were laughing at Mayo, strange how it's changed now after they beat them in the final."
If any Dubs were laughing I doubt they were the only ones though I'd imagine that suits your small mind better.
When you consider it was JH who had suggested they were further ahead of the chasing pack in Connaught than ever perhaps that's where any backlash might have originated.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/10/2016 13:41:51    1923748

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "If any Dubs were laughing I doubt they were the only ones though I'd imagine that suits your small mind better.
When you consider it was JH who had suggested they were further ahead of the chasing pack in Connaught than ever perhaps that's where any backlash might have originated."
Its a bit more than "just a hobby" waynol.

Lads make incredible sacrifices to play at that level

And to lose an all ireland is a very emotive experience .. peticularly for mayo who keep falling short

Lee thanks the supporters for their support.. fair play to him .. he's not a robot ffs ..

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 07/10/2016 14:11:07    1923765

Replying To Ah_Here:  "Its a bit more than "just a hobby" waynol.

Lads make incredible sacrifices to play at that level

And to lose an all ireland is a very emotive experience .. peticularly for mayo who keep falling short

Lee thanks the supporters for their support.. fair play to him .. he's not a robot ffs .."
Losing any huge game for your club or county is an emotive experience, The All Ireland final is no different. A lot of players make similar sacrifices knowing full well they may never play in Croke Park, let alone play there on AI final day like Keegan has had the pleasure of doing on many occasions. I'm not saying he shouldn't feel what he feels, But to put it out there on social media, A plea for attention and pity.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/10/2016 14:35:01    1923784

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "If any Dubs were laughing I doubt they were the only ones though I'd imagine that suits your small mind better.
When you consider it was JH who had suggested they were further ahead of the chasing pack in Connaught than ever perhaps that's where any backlash might have originated."
So I have a small mind for stating a fact, enlighten us with your mindfulness then.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 10/10/2016 14:41:24    1924549

Replying To AthboyCelt:  "So I have a small mind for stating a fact, enlighten us with your mindfulness then."
If ignorance is bliss,tis folly to be wise. Stay in the dark there lad!

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/10/2016 18:17:04    1924638