Dean Rock wins "Golden boot" and...

.... more than likely wont get an All Star!

He scored a nice few points from play over the semi-final and final part 2

I think 5 points from play in total

His free taking was flawless in final part 2 and has been pretty much been flawless all year

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/10/2016 15:07:30    1922423

He wont get one due to the ol "quota system" that says any county from 1/4 finals has to get one or two

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/10/2016 15:21:05    1922431

Probably Dublins most consistent forward all year, I'd say himself and Connoly are the only forwards Gavin would see as undroppable

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 04/10/2016 15:22:56    1922432

What makes you think he won't get an all star?

He'd be in my 6 anyway for sure.

Kilkenny
Geaney
Rock
Connolly
Quinlivan

Plus either McManamon or Moran.

I wouldn't have them in mine but A O'Shea or C O'Connor might get one.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4208 - 04/10/2016 15:57:26    1922451

Ryan McHugh is Fav to get the all star ahead of him

#jokeshop

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/10/2016 16:12:30    1922463

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Ryan McHugh is Fav to get the all star ahead of him

#jokeshop"
Ryan McHugh was one of the best footballers in Ireland this year. Theres nothing funny about it at all.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 04/10/2016 17:02:30    1922496

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Ryan McHugh is Fav to get the all star ahead of him

#jokeshop"
The joke is on you - Ryan McHugh was in contention for POY until Donegal got knocked out. He is the the best all round player in the country ATM for both club and county

ulster83 (Tyrone) - Posts: 114 - 04/10/2016 17:11:29    1922503

Rock's role is primarily free-taker. I think he's important but every county has a Dean Rock or two. On the other hand we all wish we had a Connolly or a Kilkenny. I wouldn't give him an All Star ahead of Geaney, Moran, McMenamin or Quinlivan. For next year, he needs to speed up and improve his ball winning ability because those two things are miles behind every other Dublin forward and some of his colleagues on the bench.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 04/10/2016 17:58:54    1922530

Replying To ulster83:  "The joke is on you - Ryan McHugh was in contention for POY until Donegal got knocked out. He is the the best all round player in the country ATM for both club and county"
come of it he wouldn't even get into Dublin forward line never mind POY

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 04/10/2016 18:10:38    1922535

Its no joke. Rock was Dublins top scoring forward from play over the 2 games.
Ryan McHugh had a good year and is a good player but no way on earth he should be an all star ahead of the championships top scorer
Also, as good as he is, you say he is the best footballer in Ireland
Listen lad, he isnt
Connolly, Keegan and one or two others are certainly ahead of him

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/10/2016 18:15:59    1922538

Replying To jimbodub:  ".... more than likely wont get an All Star!

He scored a nice few points from play over the semi-final and final part 2

I think 5 points from play in total

His free taking was flawless in final part 2 and has been pretty much been flawless all year"
Is it true that rock gets to practice his frees in crokepark ? I hear his grand uncle is a big shot there. If it's true it's a massive help.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/10/2016 18:20:12    1922539

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Is it true that rock gets to practice his frees in crokepark ? I hear his grand uncle is a big shot there. If it's true it's a massive help."
his family have been looking after Croker for generations, but its is categorically UNTRUE that he gets let in to practice. Jesus Christ who comes up with this sh*te

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/10/2016 19:36:51    1922577

There was another myth that the Dubs have all their meals sent to them via courier!
Jack McCaffrey was on newtalk laughing about it during the week and said the only meals he ever had delivered were from Dominos!
I dunno maybe the fact that Philly's business incl delivering healthy meals to people drove a myth ??

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/10/2016 19:47:56    1922582

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "his family have been looking after Croker for generations, but its is categorically UNTRUE that he gets let in to practice. Jesus Christ who comes up with this sh*te"
Iv heard it several times Liam even above in Dublin. I heard the meals thing too, we couldn't do that in Kerry as the meals would be cold by the time we'd get down to South Kerry.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/10/2016 22:00:21    1922627

Ryan McHugh was one of the top 3 players on the pitch in every single one of Donegal's 6 games this year. Thats Fermanagh, Monaghan x2, Tyrone, Cork and Dublin. 4 games against Division 1 teams and 2 against Division 2 teams (both of which gave Mayo a serious challenge)

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 04/10/2016 22:18:52    1922641

There was another myth that the Dubs have all their meals sent to them via courier!
Jack McCaffrey was on newtalk laughing about it during the week and said the only meals he ever had delivered were from Dominos!
I dunno maybe the fact that Philly's business incl delivering healthy meals to people drove a myth ??

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:7222 - 04/10/2016

Was in college a few years ago with a lad who was involved with Dublin teams at a few different age groups, he lived near college and used to get free lunch in Centra the odd time.

By the end of the first semester lads had convinced themselves he was getting it cos he was on the Dublin panel and all their players got a similar deal.

Turned out his mate and a brother own and managed the place.

But yeah, they all get free stuff. Sure didn't Kev McManamon run a food wholesalers / delivery company at some stage as well. Obviously they were all getting freebies from him.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 04/10/2016 22:36:46    1922651

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "There was another myth that the Dubs have all their meals sent to them via courier!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:7222 - 04/10/2016

Was in college a few years ago with a lad who was involved with Dublin teams at a few different age groups, he lived near college and used to get free lunch in Centra the odd time.

By the end of the first semester lads had convinced themselves he was getting it cos he was on the Dublin panel and all their players got a similar deal.

Turned out his mate and a brother own and managed the place.

But yeah, they all get free stuff. Sure didn't Kev McManamon run a food wholesalers / delivery company at some stage as well. Obviously they were all getting freebies from him."
If Rock wasn't a free taker he wouldn't be on the Dublin panel never mind the team.
Very good free taker like many others in the country but very average footballer from play.

ulleJ1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 18 - 04/10/2016 22:56:31    1922656

Replying To centerfield:  "come of it he wouldn't even get into Dublin forward line never mind POY"
Ryan McHugh may or may not get an all star this year but if he doesn't it will be to do with how Donegal came up short in this years championship and not him. He was one of the best performers in the country up until the quarter finals before Donegal got knocked out. He would walk on to any team including Dublin's starting team. You do realise the McHugh isn't a corner forward and won't be competing with Rock for a forward all star spot?? He's been nominated as a back and generally plays between half back and half forward. Do you watch football at all?

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 06/10/2016 17:08:59    1923405

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "There was another myth that the Dubs have all their meals sent to them via courier!
I dunno maybe the fact that Philly's business incl delivering healthy meals to people drove a myth ??"
I'm pretty sure I read an interview with Paul Flynn recently where he mentioned meals being provided for him?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 06/10/2016 17:14:15    1923411

http://www.independent.ie/style/beauty/body/what-i-eat-in-a-day-dublin-gaa-star-paul-flynn-34947451.html

"When I'm training, we receive set meals by Dublin GAA food partner Gourmet Food Parlour, which forms part of our overall nutrition plan."

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 06/10/2016 17:18:15    1923413