I cant wait for the replay...

More so because the tripe on here at the minute is very tiresome and there's some bad blood flowing, that's all a bit silly.

Mayo are willing to do anything to win, they have zero respect for anyone but themselves and for me are as nasty a team and as cynical a team that I've seen in a long time, and if it works for them so be it.
+
Dublin are very physical and sometimes totally over aggressive and this results in some very dodgy, and nasty behaviour and we've all seen the flash points which have resulted in justified bans and red cards etc.
=
Mix those two on a wet day - WTF do you expect to happen!

But in all honesty I expect it to be a much better game next day out and it's very difficult to call

I do think it could be a classic final and all credit to Mayo for silencing a lot of silly and belittling talk before the game - 100% respect on that front

I do feel a lot will depend on the weather as that CP pitch is fecking ropey as feck - I have never seen fella's slip like that on a normal pitch up the park in worse conditions! I absolutely agree with the criticism of the pitch, it's fecking dangerous and not fit for purpose under those conditions.

And on that pitch it's far easier to defend with a wet ball in numbers against a superior offensive team, Mayo have this advantage over Dublin IMO, they are better at swarm defence and turning over ball, and if it's wet again I would give Mayo every chance of doing the same trick on a number of Dub forwards!

Dublin need to recognise that they aren't actually playing Mayo, it's an Ulster side in their prime, with spot on implementation of defensive tactics and the ability to turn over ball and break with the very best of them

For me they are more Donegal 2012 than anything traditionally Mayo and I don't seem them playing any other way again

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/09/2016 17:59:25    1917067

This is part two of jimbo's message.

Part 2

But there's a slight kink in that armour and they must be worried that Dublin still opened them up at least 4-5 times, and even though the two goals were fortunate there could have been more - those lucky deflections came about because the Mayo players weren't composed enough, Dublin had opened them up, they were in panic mode and that's what can happen when you're overly stretched and under intense pressure, you lose composure and you stick out an arm or leg

Out of the two teams I believe Mayo showed more of their hand IMO, tactically they put it all on the line, and although there's room for improvement for them no doubt, and yet that was still easily their best performance in the championship to date. It might be hard to surpass your already best game but who knows! Peaking twice... that's hard.

Out of the two teams Dublin for me have more to improve on, and it's already proven that they are a better team than Mayo. Silverware doesn't lie, results don't lie.

Mayo have some worrying injuries with reports of 3 forwards being in doubt - Mayo cant afford to lose 3 forwards and even if they cant train 100% in the build up to the replay it could be costly and have them ill prepared

Dublin will have the very best in reconditioning over the next couple of weeks, an advantage we enjoy and will use to our advantage.

So yes for me, after the smoke has cleared and the dust settled, Dublin have the advantages in playing personnel being in good shape and nothing much to worry about apart from preparing themselves to the max which they will have laid out for them.

I think it's time to stop the finger pointing, and you did this, you did that, the weather had a big part to play in all of that!

Mayo played as I expected them to play, and if Dublin were caught out by that then it's their own fault!

There's a fresh new game coming and it's all about preparing now

Even as a bloody fan Leaving CP I had already pretty much wiped that game clean, I binned the ticket and my program on the way out.

Went for 1 pint after the game and then home. Not out of frustration but it was already time to move on, crap game, exciting finish yes, but a brutal affair that was completely forgettable in footballing terms

There's an all new game coming and Dublin have zero injuries or suspensions. James McCarthy will be back in there and his shoulder will have had another couple of weeks, a few Dublin players showed that perhaps they should be starting so that's all positive

A new day is coming, so happy days and bring it on!

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 20/09/2016 18:15:30    1917076

Replying To Administrator:  "This is part two of jimbo's message.

Part 2

But there's a slight kink in that armour and they must be worried that Dublin still opened them up at least 4-5 times, and even though the two goals were fortunate there could have been more - those lucky deflections came about because the Mayo players weren't composed enough, Dublin had opened them up, they were in panic mode and that's what can happen when you're overly stretched and under intense pressure, you lose composure and you stick out an arm or leg

Out of the two teams I believe Mayo showed more of their hand IMO, tactically they put it all on the line, and although there's room for improvement for them no doubt, and yet that was still easily their best performance in the championship to date. It might be hard to surpass your already best game but who knows! Peaking twice... that's hard.

Out of the two teams Dublin for me have more to improve on, and it's already proven that they are a better team than Mayo. Silverware doesn't lie, results don't lie.

Mayo have some worrying injuries with reports of 3 forwards being in doubt - Mayo cant afford to lose 3 forwards and even if they cant train 100% in the build up to the replay it could be costly and have them ill prepared

Dublin will have the very best in reconditioning over the next couple of weeks, an advantage we enjoy and will use to our advantage.

So yes for me, after the smoke has cleared and the dust settled, Dublin have the advantages in playing personnel being in good shape and nothing much to worry about apart from preparing themselves to the max which they will have laid out for them.

I think it's time to stop the finger pointing, and you did this, you did that, the weather had a big part to play in all of that!

Mayo played as I expected them to play, and if Dublin were caught out by that then it's their own fault!

There's a fresh new game coming and it's all about preparing now

Even as a bloody fan Leaving CP I had already pretty much wiped that game clean, I binned the ticket and my program on the way out.

Went for 1 pint after the game and then home. Not out of frustration but it was already time to move on, crap game, exciting finish yes, but a brutal affair that was completely forgettable in footballing terms

There's an all new game coming and Dublin have zero injuries or suspensions. James McCarthy will be back in there and his shoulder will have had another couple of weeks, a few Dublin players showed that perhaps they should be starting so that's all positive

A new day is coming, so happy days and bring it on!"
Ye know, I feel a whole lot better after reading that. I just hope Mayo come back with their full complement of players.
Let's do this again , hopefully in dry weather. Mayo , to a degree, have shown their hand. The Dubs have been vaccinated now, any lingering complacency has been well and truly flushed out of the system.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/09/2016 20:52:13    1917149

Replying To avonali:  "Ye know, I feel a whole lot better after reading that. I just hope Mayo come back with their full complement of players.
Let's do this again , hopefully in dry weather. Mayo , to a degree, have shown their hand. The Dubs have been vaccinated now, any lingering complacency has been well and truly flushed out of the system."
........should all go well for dubs next day so. great to get second chance.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 20/09/2016 22:52:11    1917220

Replying To avonali:  "Ye know, I feel a whole lot better after reading that. I just hope Mayo come back with their full complement of players.
Let's do this again , hopefully in dry weather. Mayo , to a degree, have shown their hand. The Dubs have been vaccinated now, any lingering complacency has been well and truly flushed out of the system."
I agree with most of the above. I sat down last night and watched the game from start to finish just to clear up any misconceptions I had from Sunday. I thought the ref had a very good game and got almost all his decisions right. The one call I thought was harsh was the McCarthy black card, but I think he did that on advice from the linesman. On second viewing I thought the Dubs had the better of the first half and were deservedly ahead at half time, although two to three points would have been a fairer reflection. When Mayo pushed up at the start of the second they caused all kinds of problems but they hadn't the energy levels to sustain it. Either side could have won it but a draw was probably the fairest result. I think saying that Mayo have lost the element of surprise is a little disrespectful to Dublin. Dublin were well aware of what Mayo would bring to the table and Mayo didn't try anything that Dublin were not prepared for. I think what surprised Gavin and Dublin was that they weren't better able to respond. I thought both defences were brilliant but I think Dublin still have the better forward line. For the replay it's still advantage Dublin. On a fine day Rock will score four or five points more and the Dublin forwards have more room for improvement. Mayo need to improve their kicks out, the ball into the inside forwards and also their shot selection. I think if Sunday teaches us anything it's that both teams are evenly matched and very little will decide the replay. Whichever team learns the most from the drawn game will prevail and I this stage I am leaning slightly towards the Dubs. I sincerely hope I'm wrong.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/09/2016 23:03:55    1917224

Avonali:

'The Dubs have been vaccinated now'

Now that's good!! Fair play Avonali! Would love to hear a pundit come out with that.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/09/2016 23:09:49    1917225

Mayo have showed their hand defensively only.. Our attack didnt function

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 21/09/2016 09:42:51    1917304

Replying To unclegerry:  "Mayo have showed their hand defensively only.. Our attack didnt function"
Mayo have showed their hand defensively only.. Our attack didnt function
___

It really hasn't all year if your honest

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/09/2016 09:51:29    1917311

Cant wait for the replay both teams will be looking for big improvements up front, I think Dublin will definitely start Andrews for who I don't know but he'll start, do the Mayo posters think there be any changes In their team?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/09/2016 11:33:57    1917379

There is an arrogance to suggest Dublin took Mayo for granted...nothing to do with Mayo stopping them lads? All the talk now is that Dublin will win the replay, have learnt their lesson and Mayo have blown their chance. If I was a Mayo player I would be seething...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 21/09/2016 11:46:45    1917386

Chill out YT Dublin players didn't take Mayo for granted and Dublin players can't help what posters on forums say or pundits or whoever . It's all opinions don't be getting worked up about it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/09/2016 12:17:57    1917401

Hope the weathers better and the players get more of a chance to shine.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4223 - 21/09/2016 12:56:25    1917417

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Chill out YT Dublin players didn't take Mayo for granted and Dublin players can't help what posters on forums say or pundits or whoever . It's all opinions don't be getting worked up about it."
Under pressure man :) - back at work today and trying to re-arrange time off, hotels, transport etc for the replay. - Will be an awful short winter for the winner. Could we possibly be heading for a 2nd replay....I wouldn't rule it out.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 21/09/2016 12:56:34    1917418

Replying To unclegerry:  "Mayo have showed their hand defensively only.. Our attack didnt function"
Aidan O'Shea need to be moved,not working in the forwards ,perhaps back to the old days of midfield I think with his brother

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 21/09/2016 13:07:56    1917424

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Aidan O'Shea need to be moved,not working in the forwards ,perhaps back to the old days of midfield I think with his brother"
The problem there is that he'd last 35 minutes there - at most. He doesn't have the legs for a whole game @ midfield, ditto his brother.

Fenton could very well run both of them off the pitch, although Aido's fielding is solid, and is power in the tackle unquestionable.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 21/09/2016 13:10:54    1917425

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Aidan O'Shea need to be moved,not working in the forwards ,perhaps back to the old days of midfield I think with his brother"
Seamus had a very poor game. Some costly turnovers..

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 21/09/2016 13:31:01    1917434

Mayo's attack didn't function? So, what do you say about the Dublin attack then? A paper never refused ink... etc

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 21/09/2016 13:33:22    1917438

Does anyone know when a potential second replay would be held or is that something would have to decide on in the aftermath of a second draw?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 21/09/2016 13:39:14    1917446

I wouldn't sacrifice Parsons for either of the O'Sheas on present form, it would be one or the other getting the curly finger. IMO Barry Moran was brought in too late in last game, as SOS was visibly tired for ten minutes or so before that.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 21/09/2016 13:41:53    1917448

Mayo average number of scores in championship to date: 15.85
Mayo number of scores on Sunday: 15

Seems like the attack functioned pretty normally.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 21/09/2016 14:07:14    1917456