Mayo/Dublin Fans on Sunday - Hoganstand Bogeymen

Very hard to have a thread on this without running the risk of being accused of speaking out both sides of the gob etc etc, but, feck it. I get enough of it here anyways!!

Met a lot of Mayo fans Sunday post match. Was in Madigans on Abbey St mostly. To a man and woman, as sound as you could meet. I dunno was I expecting bogeymen or something, i think i was expecting some of them to be bitter, hate filled ol sour wine gums. Cant imagine why I thought that mind.................!!

Anyway, I dunno if any of the HS Mayo crew were in Madigans, I assume not, but lads, we had great chat and banter and I remembered the fact that for all the genuinely bitter blood between Dublin and Mayo on HS down the years, I have never had anything but positive experiences in person.

I remember standing outside the Sean O'Casey post 2011 final. This couple from Kerry were talking to myself and Holymoly aka Navynblue. The female of the species after much chat says "I am shocked at how nice the Dubs are in real life"...............

Sometimes on here we all go on with shite, utter utter shite. We need to remember we are the GAA, we are as much one as we are separate. Our unity as a sport defines the very games we love. We are all just cogs in the wheel that is the best sport on the face of the earth as far as I am concerned.
We are not soccer. We dont segregate, we dont fire missiles we dont brawl. We might have a few words in the stands, but in general we shake hands after and we get on with it.

I will admit that the hysterics of some mayo "fans" on here down the years has soured me towards them. They are not my favourite team and never will be, yet I know deep down that it it due to a hangover of abuse from so called Mayo fans on HS. And I am WELL AWARE as Dubs, we have had out fair share of idiots too, Many of them! Myself incl at times! Its not real life, its not the reality of life on the street, on the farm or in the workplace.

Anyways, the long and the short of it is this. Mayo and Dublin is the most bitter rivalry on Hoganstand, it has been for years for a variey of reasons. Sometimes, we all, myself incl, need to take a step back and remember that.
Mayo fans that I met and have met in the past have been as sound as you could meet.

The Hoganstand bogeymen do not exist beyond the realms of workplaces and household laptops.

Le chéile tá Éire ar cheann

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/09/2016 15:34:35    1916986

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Very hard to have a thread on this without running the risk of being accused of speaking out both sides of the gob etc etc, but, feck it. I get enough of it here anyways!!

Met a lot of Mayo fans Sunday post match. Was in Madigans on Abbey St mostly. To a man and woman, as sound as you could meet. I dunno was I expecting bogeymen or something, i think i was expecting some of them to be bitter, hate filled ol sour wine gums. Cant imagine why I thought that mind.................!!

Anyway, I dunno if any of the HS Mayo crew were in Madigans, I assume not, but lads, we had great chat and banter and I remembered the fact that for all the genuinely bitter blood between Dublin and Mayo on HS down the years, I have never had anything but positive experiences in person.

I remember standing outside the Sean O'Casey post 2011 final. This couple from Kerry were talking to myself and Holymoly aka Navynblue. The female of the species after much chat says "I am shocked at how nice the Dubs are in real life"...............

Sometimes on here we all go on with shite, utter utter shite. We need to remember we are the GAA, we are as much one as we are separate. Our unity as a sport defines the very games we love. We are all just cogs in the wheel that is the best sport on the face of the earth as far as I am concerned.
We are not soccer. We dont segregate, we dont fire missiles we dont brawl. We might have a few words in the stands, but in general we shake hands after and we get on with it.

I will admit that the hysterics of some mayo "fans" on here down the years has soured me towards them. They are not my favourite team and never will be, yet I know deep down that it it due to a hangover of abuse from so called Mayo fans on HS. And I am WELL AWARE as Dubs, we have had out fair share of idiots too, Many of them! Myself incl at times! Its not real life, its not the reality of life on the street, on the farm or in the workplace.

Anyways, the long and the short of it is this. Mayo and Dublin is the most bitter rivalry on Hoganstand, it has been for years for a variey of reasons. Sometimes, we all, myself incl, need to take a step back and remember that.
Mayo fans that I met and have met in the past have been as sound as you could meet.

The Hoganstand bogeymen do not exist beyond the realms of workplaces and household laptops.

Le chéile tá Éire ar cheann"
Liam do you enjoy the sound of your own voice as much as you like reading your own posts? How many threads do you need to set up?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7889 - 20/09/2016 15:47:08    1916992

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Very hard to have a thread on this without running the risk of being accused of speaking out both sides of the gob etc etc, but, feck it. I get enough of it here anyways!!

Le chéile tá Éire ar cheann"
Easier to go on with bullplop on here than face to face. To be fair people have a habit of losing the run of themselves behind a keyboard. I would also say the HS posters in general are fair you should look at the shite on Facebook Twitter and the comment sections of newspapers and the likes of the 42 where a lot of people show their ignorance and where a lot of trolls operate. This is where the bitterness is but in person we are cordial to each other in the most part. Don't mention Keegan/connolly relationship a lot of Dublin keyboard warriors have a vendetta against Keegan while the Warriors from the rest of the country wouldn't be fans of Connolly either but both set seem to appreciate both players football skills behind the supposed hatred.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 20/09/2016 16:34:43    1917010

Kerry fans are the same in real life though.

Literally 2 mins after the final whistle of Dublin Kerry the Kerry fan beside me in the pub was congratulating the Dubs on playing the game how it should be played not like the likes of Tyrone and Armagh in the 00s.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 20/09/2016 16:56:59    1917023

Replying To Breffni39:  "Kerry fans are the same in real life though.

Literally 2 mins after the final whistle of Dublin Kerry the Kerry fan beside me in the pub was congratulating the Dubs on playing the game how it should be played not like the likes of Tyrone and Armagh in the 00s."
And long may you continue to come to Croke Park from Cavan to watch Tyrone and Armagh.

donegael (Donegal) - Posts: 188 - 20/09/2016 17:10:13    1917033

I'm the opposite. I'm alright on here but an absolute p###k in real life.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 20/09/2016 17:21:40    1917042

Replying To donegael:  "And long may you continue to come to Croke Park from Cavan to watch Tyrone and Armagh."
I can't make any sense of your point/jibe, sorry.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 20/09/2016 17:37:52    1917050

Replying To MesAmis:  "I'm the opposite. I'm alright on here but an absolute p###k in real life."
Jaysis! If you think you're alright on here. . .

;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 20/09/2016 18:04:54    1917073

Sure isn't that what seems to be the case no matter which sport you follow . Once you have an affiliation to a team you tend to take umbrage at anyone who isn't in your gang. GAA , Soccer or rugby to name just three all have this inbuilt disciple like maintality that has otherwise quiet intelligent people baying for blood when they get within the confines of a sports arena and facing a rival.
Once you meet them outside this scenario they can be quiet friendly normal punters but go online and create a space for them to vent their fury at someone who might cast aspersions on their colours and all of a sudden it's like you have Mr Hyde on you hands.
Give them anonymity and you may as well give the lunatics the freedom of the asylum.Any half sour goon that has nothing better to do but Stoke up a bit of sh*te will cut loose and let you know why you have no right to be winning stuff when they can't .
Don't even bother with Facebook and the Twitter sh*te as it's full of loolaas who haven't a clue about most things.
Ah! Feel better now!

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/09/2016 18:17:42    1917079

Replying To MesAmis:  "I'm the opposite. I'm alright on here but an absolute p###k in real life."
Sure I'm a giraffe.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 20/09/2016 19:34:07    1917100

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Sure I'm a giraffe."
You've some neck alright !

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/09/2016 19:38:47    1917103

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Sure isn't that what seems to be the case no matter which sport you follow . Once you have an affiliation to a team you tend to take umbrage at anyone who isn't in your gang. GAA , Soccer or rugby to name just three all have this inbuilt disciple like maintality that has otherwise quiet intelligent people baying for blood when they get within the confines of a sports arena and facing a rival.
Once you meet them outside this scenario they can be quiet friendly normal punters but go online and create a space for them to vent their fury at someone who might cast aspersions on their colours and all of a sudden it's like you have Mr Hyde on you hands.
Give them anonymity and you may as well give the lunatics the freedom of the asylum.Any half sour goon that has nothing better to do but Stoke up a bit of sh*te will cut loose and let you know why you have no right to be winning stuff when they can't .
Don't even bother with Facebook and the Twitter sh*te as it's full of loolaas who haven't a clue about most things.
Ah! Feel better now!"
Class post. Hilarious but so true...could be describing me there...

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/09/2016 20:08:34    1917111

Replying To avonali:  "Class post. Hilarious but so true...could be describing me there..."
Sure dont we all have those moment's where you think " where the fu*k did that come from.
You'd hear fellas roaring incoherent rot at referees and players and be thinking,
What a tool, and the next thing you're in a haze of rage and a jibbering clown yourself.
Jesus, the curse of being susceptible to outbursts.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/09/2016 20:33:58    1917126

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "You've some neck alright !"
Like a jockey's bol*** !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 20/09/2016 22:35:14    1917216

Of all the pubs in Dublin and you went to Madigans!

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 21/09/2016 07:56:31    1917262

Liam - you really think 3 or 4 mayo fans posting on an internet forum that annoy you are representative of a county people? You really are gullible. By the way ye have more than a few wum's on this site too so take of the blinkers.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 21/09/2016 09:40:42    1917301

I'm far far less argumentative in real life than I am here! Very easy to lose the run of myself here, this place brings out the worst in me :) I often read back some of my posts thinking 'was there really any need for that?!' but sure it's a bit of a laugh and never any malice meant!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 21/09/2016 09:58:27    1917316

Replying To yew_tree:  "Liam - you really think 3 or 4 mayo fans posting on an internet forum that annoy you are representative of a county people? You really are gullible. By the way ye have more than a few wum's on this site too so take of the blinkers."
Yew, re read the OP buddy.....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/09/2016 12:24:06    1917404