7 minutes extra time?

Where the hell did 7 minutes come from? I can't remember too many stoppages? I except subs were used but then every game should be 7 minutes or more but there not. I thought it was a crazy amount of added time.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/09/2016 17:27:13    1916496

20 seconds per sub, think there were twelve subs, which adds on four minutes. Also several lengthy breaks for injuries and general acting the maggot off the ball. Given the time wasting that went on in injury time, Lane actually ended up playing almost nine minutes.

People are complaining about the added time as the GAA previously just seem to add two or three minutes irrespective of what had gone on previously.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/09/2016 17:44:29    1916511

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Where the hell did 7 minutes come from? I can't remember too many stoppages? I except subs were used but then every game should be 7 minutes or more but there not. I thought it was a crazy amount of added time."
Seemed excessive alright.Last year it would have been 2 minutes and Dublin would have been champions.7 minutes is a lot added on to a 35 minute half.It's equivalent in soccer would be 9 minutes of injury time and i'm not sure I've ever seen that.The Gaa seem to have gone from one extreme to the other on injury time and I'd hazard a guess that if O'Connor hadn't kicked the equaliser when he did,there might have been a couple more minutes added on.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 19/09/2016 17:56:44    1916518

I've noticed this all summer. It was always 2 or 3 minutes injury time. Now this year a lot of matches are all 5 and 6 minutes injury time. Seemed a bit excessive yesterday. The GAA won't be worried. Another big pay day on the way!!

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - Posts: 235 - 19/09/2016 18:02:55    1916522

Yeah 7 minutes was a lot. Seems like the GAA are playing more than they used to but even at that 7 seems too much.

There was 6 minutes for Dublin Kerry, 4 minutes only for Mayo Tyrone and 5 minutes for Donegal Dublin so it isn't happening every game.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 19/09/2016 18:08:43    1916523

Zzzzzzzzzzzzxxxx. Check the rule book lads, and then maybe move on. And I love that post from my Connacht neighbour. Another if this/if that man. Painful stuff.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 19/09/2016 18:10:32    1916524

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Where the hell did 7 minutes come from? I can't remember too many stoppages? I except subs were used but then every game should be 7 minutes or more but there not. I thought it was a crazy amount of added time."
Pity dubs spent most of the seven mins lying on the ground faking injury

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 19/09/2016 18:17:52    1916525

2 minutes for the Dubs delay in entering the field of play !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 19/09/2016 18:26:42    1916529

7 mins of added time was probably down to Dublins cynical fouling ;

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 19/09/2016 18:54:13    1916538

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Zzzzzzzzzzzzxxxx. Check the rule book lads, and then maybe move on. And I love that post from my Connacht neighbour. Another if this/if that man. Painful stuff."
Do you not think Flakey that there's a near tradition in gaa games that refs add on a bit of time in a tight game to give the losing side a chance to equalise.Nearly always happens and I'm glad Mayo equalised yesterday because they didn't deserve to lose that game and a draw was a fair result.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 19/09/2016 19:31:27    1916553

Replying To Vishred:  "7 mins of added time was probably down to Dublins cynical fouling ;"
Ha, yeah. Green tinted glasses there bud.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/09/2016 19:46:31    1916558

There was a new directive with regards added on time this year but only has being enforced from quarters on. 20 seconds per sub so that's four minutes. Hard not to see where seven comes from. There was extra couple minutes added on to seven because of hold up in added on time. The standard one at ht and three at ft was always the same regardess of what happened before hand.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 19/09/2016 19:46:35    1916559

Replying To liner:  "Pity dubs spent most of the seven mins lying on the ground faking injury"
Hardly surprising when you're being rugby tackled every time you put a hand on the ball. The man who equalised in the 77th min should have been sitting in the stands.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/09/2016 19:48:53    1916564

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Zzzzzzzzzzzzxxxx. Check the rule book lads, and then maybe move on. And I love that post from my Connacht neighbour. Another if this/if that man. Painful stuff."
What are you on about with the Rule Book!

Sure if we paid heed to that most treads here would last about 2 posts!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 19/09/2016 19:56:00    1916573

I'm not making excuses about the time , Mayo were way better and should have won in normal time, I'm just saying I don't remember many stoppages that's all,and the subs thing still doesn't allow for 7 minutes added time and Mayo lads stop going on about Dublin players lying down as if your players never do. Every county is guilty of trying to kill the clock so stop with that craic. Like I could say Lee Keegan is a disgrace and you's will come straight back at me and say Philly McMahon is a disgrace, so can we all just agree that stuff happens on the pitch we don't like but all county's do it?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/09/2016 19:56:39    1916574

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I'm not making excuses about the time , Mayo were way better and should have won in normal time, I'm just saying I don't remember many stoppages that's all,and the subs thing still doesn't allow for 7 minutes added time and Mayo lads stop going on about Dublin players lying down as if your players never do. Every county is guilty of trying to kill the clock so stop with that craic. Like I could say Lee Keegan is a disgrace and you's will come straight back at me and say Philly McMahon is a disgrace, so can we all just agree that stuff happens on the pitch we don't like but all county's do it?"
The ref did point at it his watch a couple time when Rock was over frees indicating he was adding all the wasted time on.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 19/09/2016 20:23:06    1916587

Replying To Joxer:  "Hardly surprising when you're being rugby tackled every time you put a hand on the ball. The man who equalised in the 77th min should have been sitting in the stands."
What about the Dublin clean pickup off the ground close to the Mayo goals with time almost up. There were incidents which went both ways. I do not condone all this off the ball stuff though

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/09/2016 20:36:35    1916594

Replying To Joxer:  "Hardly surprising when you're being rugby tackled every time you put a hand on the ball. The man who equalised in the 77th min should have been sitting in the stands."
In fairness he could have had plenty of company.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/09/2016 20:51:51    1916600

Bring in a stopclock sort this crap out , no need for little games of time wasting on the winning side and the other side complaining or too much extra time .

If you waste time expect more extra time , if there are lots of sub's expect more extra time, messing around I'm extra time ...more extra time .

Hopefully one day we will see a stopclock and stop all the controversy.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 19/09/2016 21:02:43    1916615

I honestly can't remember any time wasting, I know he pointed to his watch one time when Rock was taking a 45 but that was early in the second half and Mayo were only a few points behind so he'd no reason to waste time there was still 25 minutes to go he was only moving the ball after it rolled off his divet.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/09/2016 21:30:12    1916645