Why teams dont push up on the Cluxton Kickout!

Was listening to Wooly on game on (I think) the other day and he asked the old question that people continue to ask, "why don't teams push up on the cluxton kick-out" to Marc O'Se.

Marc O'Se explained why Kerry at that moment had 2 banks of 4 marking space, (across the 21 and 45 yard line), He said that Stephen Cluxtons kick outs are just so fast that teams don't have the time to set up when a ball is kicked over the bar/wide from open play as the ball is already back in play before they even get a chance to set up so instead they pushed up when a free was given and it gives the opposition players time before the free is taken to push up for the resulting kick out.

It makes sense.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/09/2016 13:44:18    1909464

Also I think if you keep pushing up you'll be exhausted very quickly. Added to this, when he realises that you're pushing up he'll just go long and there's a very good chance of Dublin winning that ball in the middle, leaving you very exposed at the back.

Kerry were criticised somewhat for not pushing up on him in the second half, but in reality it would have been suicide, as he would have just hammered the ball down the middle every time. I think he'll be wiser against Mayo and pushing up mightn't do them any good.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/09/2016 14:16:22    1909469

Replying To waynoI:  "Was listening to Wooly on game on (I think) the other day and he asked the old question that people continue to ask, "why don't teams push up on the cluxton kick-out" to Marc O'Se.

Marc O'Se explained why Kerry at that moment had 2 banks of 4 marking space, (across the 21 and 45 yard line), He said that Stephen Cluxtons kick outs are just so fast that teams don't have the time to set up when a ball is kicked over the bar/wide from open play as the ball is already back in play before they even get a chance to set up so instead they pushed up when a free was given and it gives the opposition players time before the free is taken to push up for the resulting kick out.

It makes sense."
But also isn't there the danger that a lot of space is left open at the back for half forwards to run into.
I'm thinking of Kevin Mac's goal against Kerry in 2013. Pushing up has its own risks.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/09/2016 14:20:28    1909470

I think teams are not brave enough to push up on the Dublin kick outs. They are afraid if they lose the kick out with men pushed up that Dublin will run riot. It is hard to play both a blanket defence and push up on kick outs, most teams opt for the safety of the blanket. Dublin do really rely on Cluxton's kick-outs, it was amazing how they nearly imploded before half time when Kerry pushed up on them. They did really well to compose themselves in the second half.

Cluxton is really an amazing keeper, he has re-defined the position of goalkeeper. You can't get any higher praise than that. Of all the great players Dublin have, he will be the hardest to replace when he eventually retires.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 02/09/2016 14:23:13    1909472

its incredible the stick Cluxton gets
he has been incredible for 15 years, 15 years at IC football
Redefined the kick out
won an all ireland with the last kick in 2011
ice in his veins

but every mistake he makes gets jumped on with glee by his detractors. He had 18 perfect kick outs last week. 18 of 19!
No keeper has had the effect on football he has, and none ever will again
Best dublin footballer to ever play the game for me

legend

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/09/2016 15:08:26    1909485

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "its incredible the stick Cluxton gets
Redefined the kick out
ice in his veins

but every mistake he makes gets jumped on with glee by his detractors. He had 18 perfect kick outs last week. 18 of 19!

legend"
Most of that post is opinion, so instead of arguing, I'll pick the one "fact" out.

ALL of his kickouts that Dublin gained posession from were to an unmarked man.
You say 18 out of 19, so only 1 bad one?. . .he kicked one straight to Kerry for the first goal and the next one clean over the sideling on the cusack stand side. That's 2.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 02/09/2016 15:18:19    1909488

Replying To waynoI:  "Was listening to Wooly on game on (I think) the other day and he asked the old question that people continue to ask, "why don't teams push up on the cluxton kick-out" to Marc O'Se.

It makes sense."
The GAA hour on Sportsjoe Waynol. A good auld show, good analysis and a bit of craic. Even convinced me to get Soundcloud free app and I discovered there's plenty of sports podcasts there.

Re Cluxton's kickout it might be the only predictable thing about Dublin that an opposition could profit from. Knowing Galvin, not knowing him at all, he could well have tweaked the kickouts for the 18th. It's time we don't do much more paralysis by analysis of how Dublin play, as they've so many options, but come up with some new ideas ourselves.

Listen to Stephen Cluxton's Meltdown, Dean Rock appreciation and Dublin's character by SportsJOE.ie presents The GAA Hour #np on #SoundCloud
https://soundcloud.com/sportsjoe-gaa-hour/2908-gaa-hour-football-show

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 02/09/2016 15:26:26    1909495

I don't post here often but have to agree Cluxton has re-defined the role of the goalkeeper.
His kickouts are so accurate that he is really akin to an American Football quarterback.
In the all ireland Final of 2013 Dublin really ran Mayo ragged at midfield, this in a game we ultimately lost by a point (if only we had the 'new normal' 6 minutes that day !)

Anyway if you recall that day Aidan O'Shea came into that game in brilliant form but Cluxton didn't kick the ball near him, he kicked balls into 20 yards of space on the 45 metre line for MDM to run onto.

I really think that Cluxton will only really be appreciated when he is gone.

mayo.man (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 02/09/2016 15:26:59    1909496

I think the best compliment that anyone could give is that so many people will be happy when he hangs up the boots. he's given so many masterful displays!!it is a rarity that a keeper gets that recognition.
I would love to see a team continuously push up for a full game but as someone said there, the energy that would take would end up catching you in the last quarter

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 02/09/2016 16:28:31    1909514

He's a legend of the game.

I can't think of a player who's had a bigger influence on how the game is played.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 02/09/2016 17:58:31    1909532

Nice to read s few positive things on clucko for a change. Thanks lads

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/09/2016 18:40:09    1909537

Replying To cavanman47:  "Most of that post is opinion, so instead of arguing, I'll pick the one "fact" out.

ALL of his kickouts that Dublin gained posession from were to an unmarked man.
You say 18 out of 19, so only 1 bad one?. . .he kicked one straight to Kerry for the first goal and the next one clean over the sideling on the cusack stand side. That's 2."
Do you ever let up? its a major issue you have with Dublin, every and any opportunity you pounce , very sad.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/09/2016 18:55:47    1909539

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "its incredible the stick Cluxton gets
Redefined the kick out
ice in his veins

legend"
Think there were a few kick outs that did not go as intended but I would not blame him for the goals. For the first goal the two backs on that side of the field have to shoulder much of the blame as they did not read his kick out and we're then slow to react. Maybe they have become too complacent about his accuracy. For the second goal, the back should have given him protection and held off the run of the forward.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 02/09/2016 19:30:38    1909546

It makes sense."
You think managers don't realise this already? Last Sunday wasn't the first time a team did it. Mayo have done it before. It works sometimes but it isn't as simple as it sounds. If you do it all the time he will find a route that ends up in severe punishment as you have players pushed up as another poster pointed out.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 02/09/2016 19:50:58    1909548

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Nice to read s few positive things on clucko for a change. Thanks lads"
Am a huge admirer of Cluxton. Not only has he brought the role of keeper to another level, he also displays strength of character and immense leadership qualities. Will be very sad day for gaelic football when he eventually hangs up the boots.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 02/09/2016 23:24:15    1909577

Very hard thing for any team to deal with , what just baffles me though is why so few keepers can copy it to his style.I've seen Evan Comerford for Tipp do it a bit in the Mayo game and others and it worked reasonably well but nothing to Cluxton standardI know he's the best in the game but surely other teams can at least copy his style to 80percent to make a more even game?

If Mayo are to win they must be winning a decent share of the kickouts, it is where Dublin get their possession ,build it up and get scoring chances,, other teams often work from the 50/50 ball kicked into the middle or one side .These possessions win games...

How do Mayo stop it? I've absolutely no idea. Anyone?

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 03/09/2016 01:07:29    1909588

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Very hard thing for any team to deal with , what just baffles me though is why so few keepers can copy it to his style.I've seen Evan Comerford for Tipp do it a bit in the Mayo game and others and it worked reasonably well but nothing to Cluxton standardI know he's the best in the game but surely other teams can at least copy his style to 80percent to make a more even game?

If Mayo are to win they must be winning a decent share of the kickouts, it is where Dublin get their possession ,build it up and get scoring chances,, other teams often work from the 50/50 ball kicked into the middle or one side .These possessions win games...

How do Mayo stop it? I've absolutely no idea. Anyone?"
I'd say we don't spend too much time and energy focusing on it. We should try and find some other areas to exploit, though that won't be easy against the GOAT. Being more decisive and ruthless when scores come our way is definitely one thing we need to improve. There are plenty more.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 03/09/2016 10:04:12    1909600

ALL of his kickouts that Dublin gained posession from were to an unmarked man.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts:1772 - 02/09/2016 15:18:19   1909488

Eeeeh that's kinda the point. Why would he kick the ball out to a marked man? He's not stupid man.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 03/09/2016 10:22:22    1909606

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Very hard thing for any team to deal with , what just baffles me though is why so few keepers can copy it to his style.I've seen Evan Comerford for Tipp do it a bit in the Mayo game and others and it worked reasonably well but nothing to Cluxton standardI know he's the best in the game but surely other teams can at least copy his style to 80percent to make a more even game?

How do Mayo stop it? I've absolutely no idea. Anyone?"
Copying Cluxton is weird..... its like copying Mayweather in boxing. It looks easy!!!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 03/09/2016 10:25:47    1909608

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I'd say we don't spend too much time and energy focusing on it. We should try and find some other areas to exploit, though that won't be easy against the GOAT. Being more decisive and ruthless when scores come our way is definitely one thing we need to improve. There are plenty more."
I might have to say the opposite in that regards. Dublin are an amazing team but take that kick out to a 50/50 level and other teams near Dublin's level can be brought right back to almost a level playing field. Dublin's dominance is fueled by Cluxton and his near perfect kick outs so Dublin always hold possession.

If I was Rochford and Co I'd be up night and day trying to find my way around this one.

I believe ye can win but only if ye do something on that kickout and go for goal in moments where most teams would go for points. Goals have to be got against Dublin and many of them ,you just won't out shoot them.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 03/09/2016 10:58:19    1909617