Eamon McGee's Diarmuid Connolly phone calls

Have you's heard about this? McGee gets Connolly's number to help get him off his red card in '11 after he gets off McGee then decides every time he's drunk to go and abuse Connolly down the phone until Connolly eventually blocks his number and blocks him on Twitter. What sort of lads are you's up there in Donegal?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2016 10:41:38    1908995

Ciaran Kilkenny teaching in Gweedore for a couple weeks. Hope McGee doesn't have his no :)

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 01/09/2016 10:54:32    1909008

http://www.donegaldaily.com/2016/08/27/gaa-star-mcgee-admits-he-regularly-called-dubs-star-to-abuse-him-down-phoneline/

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 01/09/2016 10:58:15    1909013

Some of the stuff that's published here is bizarre.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 01/09/2016 11:01:14    1909016

Replying To Breffni39:  "Some of the stuff that's published here is bizarre."
Read the article posted above, bizarre alright. But true.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 01/09/2016 11:29:23    1909035

Replying To Breffni39:  "Some of the stuff that's published here is bizarre."
McGee broke the story himself a week or so ago. Was all over the internet before Sunday's game. I suppose you need some guys like that to keep life interesting!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 01/09/2016 11:35:39    1909048

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Read the article posted above, bizarre alright. But true."
Ah right, hadn't read the article, it's a lot more light-hearted than Clondalkin has portrayed.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 01/09/2016 11:49:53    1909059

If you want to make sense of everything Eamon has said or done while on the sauce - let me know when you have an answer !

That said fair play to him for his part in Dublin winning the 2011 final

If the intention of the post is to wind up Donegal posters based on a players off the pitch behaviour then maybe including Connolly in the same post is a flawed approach.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 01/09/2016 11:55:25    1909060

What? I was laughing at this I thought it was funny, my last sentence on op said "headbangers" instead of "lads" but admin obviously thought Donegal folk would take offence.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2016 12:15:24    1909074

Rua I think it's hilarious and he didn't get Connolly off.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2016 12:29:59    1909086

I can only imagine the circle jerk here if it were a Mayo player! Why on earth didn't he just delete Connolly's number afterwards?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 01/09/2016 12:42:02    1909089

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Rua I think it's hilarious and he didn't get Connolly off."
Oh you are right to highlight this.

McGee is a character no doubt about it.

Donegal did help out Connolly in 2011. The player involved rang HQ or sent a letter stating that Connolly shouldnt have been sent off.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 01/09/2016 15:43:02    1909194

A bit of a character alright! McGuinness used to let the players take turns playing music at training. Apparently Eamon's music shuffle went from ultra cheesy Euro-dance one minute to really dark & mental stuff the next!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9131 - 01/09/2016 16:16:48    1909209

This is funny as you get.I have a friend is who is friends with mcgee. I must ask him more about these phone calls next time I see him ,hilarious .

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 01/09/2016 16:30:05    1909218

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A bit of a character alright! McGuinness used to let the players take turns playing music at training. Apparently Eamon's music shuffle went from ultra cheesy Euro-dance one minute to really dark & mental stuff the next!"
Me and Mr McGee have something in common so :)

Desperate music taste.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/09/2016 17:58:16    1909245

Anyone hear McGee on newstalk yesterday
Seemingly the confidence was that high in 2012 once Dublin were beat - a few of the lads went for pints the night before the AI final .

Now that the in camp shackles are off McGee - I expect to hear some crazy stories especially some of his pre mcguiness escapades with Cassidy

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 18/09/2016 22:21:38    1915939

Being honest I think McGee is being a complete lamp with his comments since retiring, what's wrong with riding off into the sunset with a bit of dignity and decorum?? I know plenty of Donegal folk who have been far from impressed with his musings of late and I don't blame them.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/09/2016 10:30:21    1916085

I think you can take Eamonn's ramblings with a rather large pinch of salt. He seems to want to make a name for himself in the media.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 20/09/2016 09:18:34    1916747