Objects thrown at referee David Gough

Disgraceful behaviour

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/objects-thrown-at-referee-david-gough-after-absorbing-dublinkerry-clash-35001938.html

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/08/2016 18:05:07    1907012

I think it is a bit unfair to say he was assaulted, tackling looked OK so maybe people just upset they lost.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 28/08/2016 18:22:33    1907024

Replying To arock:  "I think it is a bit unfair to say he was assaulted, tackling looked OK so maybe people just upset they lost."
One Kerry fan standing over the tunnel was one of the culprits. He was quickly pointed out to the Gardaí.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 28/08/2016 18:26:18    1907027

Disgraceful behaviour- Kerry GAA as a punishment should not be given any tickets for the All Ireland final.

POG2 (UK) - Posts: 14 - 28/08/2016 18:29:16    1907029

Terrible to see and no excuses for it no matter the performance of the ref

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 28/08/2016 18:32:53    1907038

He may have got one or two things wrong, lot less Tha most other refs, anyone who throws something at a ref should be banned from games for life, a pure and utter scumbag and has no place in the gaa.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/08/2016 18:42:33    1907051

Sadly there are clowns in every county .

By and large GAA fans are great .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 28/08/2016 18:44:35    1907052

look lads refs make errors but then again so do players, we have all been at games when our team got hard done by refs decision and tempting though it maybe to lash out its a cowardly thing to do , a cheap shot to be honest -bet the culprit has never reffed a game himself

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 28/08/2016 19:06:02    1907065

Im disappointed by this reaction to the refs performance

i thought he was pretty good and gave kerry as much as the dubs. He threw in the ball for cluxtons kick out and coild have black carded the kerry defender who took brogan out of it.

but we should be congratulating both teams for providing a classic

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 28/08/2016 19:12:16    1907070

He had a very very very very poor game IMO. Please can the GAA introduce 2 referees like in Ozzie Rules.
I though Dublin did get some soft frees but overall they won with their points from play the two in injury time were pure peaches.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 28/08/2016 19:15:30    1907073

Lets be honest lads, he made a b***s of the mc menamin hit, id be upset to.

222 (UK) - Posts: 691 - 28/08/2016 19:15:39    1907074

Thought he had a decent game and he is the best about at the minute.. Best of bad bunch maybe. Disgraceful if allegations are true. The minute we abuse our officials, we have no game worth talking about.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 28/08/2016 19:21:09    1907079

Replying To royaldunne:  "Disgraceful behaviour

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/objects-thrown-at-referee-david-gough-after-absorbing-dublinkerry-clash-35001938.html"
Agree but I understand why Kerry fans are furious - don't agree with their actions but he is not a good ref and like some of his fellow Meath referees wants to be centre of attraction. Why there's a Leinster ref doing this match is beyond me also - I know Meath and Dubs don't like each other but the man apparently works in Dublin for Christs sake!!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 28/08/2016 20:19:34    1907113

Ref had an undue influence on the game, particularly towards the end. Gave a free out to Dublin that undoubtedly was a free in to Kerry. Game should have been a draw.Spillane very magnanimous on TSG --- comes from having won so many All-Irelands. I'm sure if Kerry lost next year in the same circumstances with the same referee, he'd have called it as it was..

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 28/08/2016 20:32:16    1907122

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Agree but I understand why Kerry fans are furious - don't agree with their actions but he is not a good ref and like some of his fellow Meath referees wants to be centre of attraction. Why there's a Leinster ref doing this match is beyond me also - I know Meath and Dubs don't like each other but the man apparently works in Dublin for Christs sake!!!!"
Seriously? So am i to assume all my colleagues from Mayo, Cork, Donegal, Limerick etc all support Dublin because they live and work here?!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 28/08/2016 20:41:16    1907128

Gough was plain bad his errors cost Kerry dearly the Crowley incident turned the game in Dublins favour end of story

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 28/08/2016 20:43:05    1907129

Replying To Brolly:  "Thought he had a decent game and he is the best about at the minute.. Best of bad bunch maybe. Disgraceful if allegations are true. The minute we abuse our officials, we have no game worth talking about."
Not allegations. Fact. Thousands witnessed it. I was in the upper Cusack looking down at it. One (elderly) man in particular leaned over the tunnel and threw a bottle and his programme at Gough. Others throwing bottles at him as he was walking towards the tunnel.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 28/08/2016 20:43:31    1907131

Replying To 222:  "Lets be honest lads, he made a b***s of the mc menamin hit, id be upset to."
Upset enough to throw bottles at him?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 28/08/2016 20:44:32    1907133

Any attack on a referee as an attack on our Association..... throwing a programme is the same as throwing a bottle... wrong and tuggish behaviour
Can you image if this was Dublin fans that behaved like this - the reaction would have been a lot more vocal.....
Now of course not all Kerry fans are like this and we are talking about a minority... but still wrong... we are all annoyed with a loss or a referee's performance ... but other counties don't behave like this

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 28/08/2016 21:18:37    1907165

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "Any attack on a referee as an attack on our Association..... throwing a programme is the same as throwing a bottle... wrong and tuggish behaviour
Can you image if this was Dublin fans that behaved like this - the reaction would have been a lot more vocal.....
Now of course not all Kerry fans are like this and we are talking about a minority... but still wrong... we are all annoyed with a loss or a referee's performance ... but other counties don't behave like this"
I would agree with you and if it was an Ulster team everybody would be giving out about bad behaviour -double standards. The ref is one of the best around if not the best - tell me who is better. The Ref did not beat Kerry. When they were up with 7/8minutes to go they played too loose a game running into tackles instead of holding the ball and frustrating the Dubs - a bit of inexperience. The best team won and would all the whingers take a rest please.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 28/08/2016 21:35:54    1907180