Am Surprised by Kerry

Normally ahead of every ambush '55, 75, 09 etc Kerry talked down their chances. Feed the Dubs hype by basically they were only showing up for the numbers etc. And not much noise other than to talk up Dublin

This time they have basically come out guns blazing (in relative terms) saying they will win, talking about hunger, speed and the bench and that Eamon Fitz has a surprise/new strategy up his sleeve.

This time the 'hype' is all Kerry and Dublin are making no noise other than to say it will be tight.

I thought Kerry would try to fuel the Dublin favouritism. if they lose will they be accused of believing in their own hype as the Dubs of the past have been?

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 26/08/2016 11:00:16    1906239

Replying To witnof:  "Normally ahead of every ambush '55, 75, 09 etc Kerry talked down their chances. Feed the Dubs hype by basically they were only showing up for the numbers etc. And not much noise other than to talk up Dublin

This time they have basically come out guns blazing (in relative terms) saying they will win, talking about hunger, speed and the bench and that Eamon Fitz has a surprise/new strategy up his sleeve.

This time the 'hype' is all Kerry and Dublin are making no noise other than to say it will be tight.

I thought Kerry would try to fuel the Dublin favouritism. if they lose will they be accused of believing in their own hype as the Dubs of the past have been?"
I agree

They were at this before the 2011 final too

It's like the mask slips when they play us

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/08/2016 11:10:19    1906252

Replying To witnof:  "Normally ahead of every ambush '55, 75, 09 etc Kerry talked down their chances. Feed the Dubs hype by basically they were only showing up for the numbers etc. And not much noise other than to talk up Dublin

I thought Kerry would try to fuel the Dublin favouritism. if they lose will they be accused of believing in their own hype as the Dubs of the past have been?"
It is reverse Yerracology I think.

I've being looking at polls on different sources on the net.

I think on Joe.ie something like 50( i cant be exact on this one but deffo evenish) percent of people thought Kerry will win.

Pundit Arena says 66 percent to Dublin 33 to Kerry.

Kerry Gaa proboards doesn't have a poll (that I can find anyhow)

On Mayo's main Gaa website it is a little more optimistic with Kerry at 47 percent

Resevouir Dub page doesn't have a poll but general consenus is that Dubs will win.

I would love to say a poll were no Dubs or Kerry fans are voting , I think that would be closer to 75 25 in favour of Dublin although I could be wrong.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 26/08/2016 11:18:50    1906258

Are you suggesting that the change of tack could signify a different result than '55 ,'75 and '09??

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 26/08/2016 11:33:45    1906267

Replying To avonali:  "Are you suggesting that the change of tack could signify a different result than '55 ,'75 and '09??"
Yea, I was posting this on the Dublin Page

Kerry are really pulling out all the stop's this week they have all there people in the media out in full force...John o'keefe, Ger o'keefe, Liston, O'se, Quirke, O'Flarartha, Kearns, Mickey Ned...With one thing in common they just cant bring themselves to give an un-biased view and all tip Kerry to win. ( With the exception of Kearns ).

Spillane the week before the league final had a double page spread with the headline "Why Kerry will beat Dublin".

Sheehan showed his true colour's this week.. Dublin are just a lucky team!! The excuses were rolling of his tongue with the theme is Kerry never showed up. Sheehan always came across as a bad loser remember is antics at the end of the league final..

All the Talk was Kerry were targeting the league final to lay down a marker when that didn't work Fitzmaurice come's out with the beauty of Kerry in April is different to Kerry in championship..

If we don't concede goals we will win this with a bit to spare

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 26/08/2016 11:48:06    1906271

I am surprised as well. A lot of ex Kerry players have come out tipping Kerry to win. I think its better to say nothing. Why give motivation to the other side by questioning their "hunger and desire" etc.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 26/08/2016 11:49:34    1906273

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Yea, I was posting this on the Dublin Page

Kerry are really pulling out all the stop's this week they have all there people in the media out in full force...John o'keefe, Ger o'keefe, Liston, O'se, Quirke, O'Flarartha, Kearns, Mickey Ned...With one thing in common they just cant bring themselves to give an un-biased view and all tip Kerry to win. ( With the exception of Kearns ).

Spillane the week before the league final had a double page spread with the headline "Why Kerry will beat Dublin".

Sheehan showed his true colour's this week.. Dublin are just a lucky team!! The excuses were rolling of his tongue with the theme is Kerry never showed up. Sheehan always came across as a bad loser remember is antics at the end of the league final..

All the Talk was Kerry were targeting the league final to lay down a marker when that didn't work Fitzmaurice come's out with the beauty of Kerry in April is different to Kerry in championship..

If we don't concede goals we will win this with a bit to spare"
You're spot on!!

It's like a memo went out...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/08/2016 12:23:47    1906291

Sheehan never called Dublin lucky. He said they stole the AI in 2011 due to Kerry complacency. A natural enough viewpoint from a key player at the time wondering what could have been done different. It was 5 years ago an irrelevant now in relation to the upcoming game.

If there is any talking up of Kerry it's not coming directly from the camp, and I would say the players are around long enough to know not to take any notice.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 26/08/2016 12:31:40    1906299

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "It is reverse Yerracology I think.

I've being looking at polls on different sources on the net.

I think on Joe.ie something like 50( i cant be exact on this one but deffo evenish) percent of people thought Kerry will win.

Pundit Arena says 66 percent to Dublin 33 to Kerry.

Kerry Gaa proboards doesn't have a poll (that I can find anyhow)

On Mayo's main Gaa website it is a little more optimistic with Kerry at 47 percent

Resevouir Dub page doesn't have a poll but general consenus is that Dubs will win.

I would love to say a poll were no Dubs or Kerry fans are voting , I think that would be closer to 75 25 in favour of Dublin although I could be wrong."
Yerracology, that's definitely my favourite word of the day, so far! Maybe it could be incorporated into the social sciences dept of the Tralee Institute of Technology?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/08/2016 12:42:36    1906301

tbf I've read a few articles written by dubs as well and they're tipping their own boys too!!! Alan Brogan who only finished up last year is quite sure of dublin winning. I'd have thought he'd be a bit quieter since hes only a year out of the squad....... There's no reason why Kerry cant go in with confidence. they have nothing to lose against the all Ireland champions. plus Kerry people on here have been writing Kerry off all year. I think they feel they're ready to come to their milk now!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 26/08/2016 13:03:06    1906310

All jokes aside, I can't help but think that quite a few Dubs are changing their minds about how the match will go as we get closer to Sunday. Kerry will always ask questions and make teams doubt themselves. If the weather stays good I'd say both teams will play much better than what we saw in the All Ireland final.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 26/08/2016 13:50:43    1906335

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Sheehan never called Dublin lucky. He said they stole the AI in 2011 due to Kerry complacency. A natural enough viewpoint from a key player at the time wondering what could have been done different. It was 5 years ago an irrelevant now in relation to the upcoming game.

If there is any talking up of Kerry it's not coming directly from the camp, and I would say the players are around long enough to know not to take any notice."
"Lucky" or "Stole" doesn't matter it was a very surprising and dis-respectful thing to say especially from a current player let alone the team captain.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 26/08/2016 14:02:40    1906340

Replying To keithlemon:  "All jokes aside, I can't help but think that quite a few Dubs are changing their minds about how the match will go as we get closer to Sunday. Kerry will always ask questions and make teams doubt themselves. If the weather stays good I'd say both teams will play much better than what we saw in the All Ireland final."
What makes ou think that?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/08/2016 14:15:50    1906346

Replying To keithlemon:  "All jokes aside, I can't help but think that quite a few Dubs are changing their minds about how the match will go as we get closer to Sunday. Kerry will always ask questions and make teams doubt themselves. If the weather stays good I'd say both teams will play much better than what we saw in the All Ireland final."
Couldn't be much worse anyway, one would imagine!

SecretsOfFatima (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 26/08/2016 14:15:52    1906347

Don't die wondering!

Fitz? Ye know last year wasn't good enough... and tomorrow is promised to nobody, in Kerry of all places.

Gooch? Sure we all have great time for what ye've done... but "the blue juggernaut" set thinks ye're past it

Moran? The "smart money" says ye've hit yar peak two years ago against Mayo... and that ye've lost yar bottle and yar legs.

So many doubting Thomases. So big an ask. So... shure... ye might as well turn up anyway, break a sweat, stretch the legs and play yere part in the procession to greatness as da boys in blue string a whole two titles together. Fancy that. Whoever heard the like? ... begob n b bejesus Hickey!!!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 26/08/2016 14:25:36    1906352

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Sheehan never called Dublin lucky. He said they stole the AI in 2011 due to Kerry complacency. A natural enough viewpoint from a key player at the time wondering what could have been done different. It was 5 years ago an irrelevant now in relation to the upcoming game.

If there is any talking up of Kerry it's not coming directly from the camp, and I would say the players are around long enough to know not to take any notice."
I'm confused as to why he thinks Dublin "stole" that final yet he says Kerry were complacent. Kerry may have thrown it away and wilted in the last 10-15 mins but it was the brilliant scoring and never say die attitude of Dublin that deservedly won them that game. The scores from Dublin in that last 10 mins were top drawer with Kerry all over the place. "Stolen", "lucky", "robbed" me a€&e. Better team won that day and that has been proven by their dominance over the past 5 to 6 years now. Less of the excuses lads.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/08/2016 14:55:51    1906369

Replying To Joxer:  "I'm confused as to why he thinks Dublin "stole" that final yet he says Kerry were complacent. Kerry may have thrown it away and wilted in the last 10-15 mins but it was the brilliant scoring and never say die attitude of Dublin that deservedly won them that game. The scores from Dublin in that last 10 mins were top drawer with Kerry all over the place. "Stolen", "lucky", "robbed" me a€&e. Better team won that day and that has been proven by their dominance over the past 5 to 6 years now. Less of the excuses lads."
Lets hope for some more excuses come Sunday ;)

Although for me. I just have a feeling that Kerry will do it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/08/2016 15:01:53    1906372

Replying To plike:  "Don't die wondering!

Fitz? Ye know last year wasn't good enough... and tomorrow is promised to nobody, in Kerry of all places.

Gooch? Sure we all have great time for what ye've done... but "the blue juggernaut" set thinks ye're past it

Moran? The "smart money" says ye've hit yar peak two years ago against Mayo... and that ye've lost yar bottle and yar legs.

So many doubting Thomases. So big an ask. So... shure... ye might as well turn up anyway, break a sweat, stretch the legs and play yere part in the procession to greatness as da boys in blue string a whole two titles together. Fancy that. Whoever heard the like? ... begob n b bejesus Hickey!!!"
Who said the gooch is past it? The Blue Juggernaut? Who is he? Does he post here?
Or are ye creating enemies at the gate to rile the army into action against a ficticious foe?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/08/2016 15:09:24    1906377

Replying To Jackeen:  "What makes ou think that?"
I put it down to the experience Dublin fans had in 2014. Going into that match, they couldn't lose, there was no way they could, everything and everyone was saying that they would win. I think that game has left a long mark. Also, I think the number of articles written by ex Kerry players tipping Kerry to win might just start seeping into their minds and Dub fans might just start believing what these guys are saying. I know people will say that they disregard what pundits say, but a lot of the time the reason why people get riled up by what pundits say is because deep down they believe there's an element of truth to it.
Of course, if Dublin win, Monday morning we come on here and it turns into a case of "I told you so!!"

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 26/08/2016 15:22:40    1906382

Replying To Joxer:  "I'm confused as to why he thinks Dublin "stole" that final yet he says Kerry were complacent. Kerry may have thrown it away and wilted in the last 10-15 mins but it was the brilliant scoring and never say die attitude of Dublin that deservedly won them that game. The scores from Dublin in that last 10 mins were top drawer with Kerry all over the place. "Stolen", "lucky", "robbed" me a€&e. Better team won that day and that has been proven by their dominance over the past 5 to 6 years now. Less of the excuses lads."
As a netural watching that match it was a strange one. For 60 minutes Kerry were clearly the better side and I felt Dublin played within themselves and that was probably to do with the fact that it was their first appearance in an All Ireland final since 95 and were understandably nervy. Kerry were worthy of the lead thay had built up and it seemed they took the foot of the pedal around the hour mark because I think they thought they had the game won. Kevin Mc scored that incredible goal which turned the game on it's head even though I remember myself and my mates questioning how come Kerry did not pull him down before he got the shot off?? I'm sure it's something a few of the Kerry players regret to this day and maybe Sheehan is one of them and as a result the final of 2011 is a sore subject with him, hence he says the game was stolen or whatever but the game isn't only an hour long. As you said Joxer, Dublin's never say die attitude got them over the line on the day even when they weren't at their best and that attitude meant they were deserving winners. That win was massive for Dublin GAA and they pushed on to become the great football side we see today.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 26/08/2016 15:39:28    1906387