O'Gara red overturned

Excellent news. Common sense applied.
He wont even start but it was a terrible decision and its good to see some sense.
We give the GAA enough shite when they feck up, credit when they do the right thing.

And to those who said it was a deserved red, nonsense. Utter nonsense.
Connollys two cards were deserved. EOG's not in a million years

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/08/2016 16:28:13    1903280

Correct decision with the ban being overturned. We'd all like for the umpires get more involved but not when it's such a bad decision. Surely they have to 100% sure on what they seen on something like that.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 19/08/2016 17:27:28    1903297

While I am glad to see this overturned the rule in the official rule book states a strike with hand or fist is a red card offence. What was this?

"Striking or attempting to strike with arm,
elbow, hand or knee." cat 3 offence. 1 match ban

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 326 - 19/08/2016 18:06:59    1903308

Replying To republican:  "While I am glad to see this overturned the rule in the official rule book states a strike with hand or fist is a red card offence. What was this?

elbow, hand or knee." cat 3 offence. 1 match ban"
It wasn't a strike it was a slap the chc states. Which is a yellow card offence.
The reason the ref sent him off couldn't be proven accurate also they stated

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/08/2016 18:31:06    1903313

The point is discretion though. How many times do you see a fella slap another on the shoulder, back, chest, belly etc with an open hand. Should they all be sent off? The spirit of the rule is to have a rule to dismiss somebody who slaps another in the face during a stand-off for example. The real problem is still the shop keepers at each end. What is their role? Hawkeye could be extended to make the white flag waving task redundant. They need to be empowered and also in-game video evidence used where appropriate.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/08/2016 18:39:07    1903318

Replying To republican:  "While I am glad to see this overturned the rule in the official rule book states a strike with hand or fist is a red card offence. What was this?

100% correct.

Common sense has prevailed to an extent but by the letter if the rule book it was a red card offence.

So I think it's time for Croke Park to come out and make a statement. Will they amend the rules to ensure this doesn't happen again? I'd be gobsmacked!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 19/08/2016 18:40:14    1903319

Was it judged to be a slap as opposed to a strike ? I'm glad the red card has been rescinded.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 19/08/2016 18:45:53    1903321

I think you need to apply a bit of common sense.

To the letter of the law it should probably be a red card.

The reason for the law is to punish players where they've looked to harm another player.

His "strike" really wasn't looking to cause any damage.

Do we want to adhere to our rule book so strictly that we can't make judgement calls in specific situations where the punishment is too severe for the crime. I'd say we shouldn't.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4221 - 19/08/2016 18:47:32    1903323

Glad to see he will play. I think that the rules are enforced when they shouldnt be and vice versa in this sport, a lot of the time at least.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/08/2016 18:53:49    1903327

Why don't ye actually read the chc report they clarify it for all.
The cloak and dagger stuff on here is very typical.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/08/2016 18:58:43    1903331

A bit of common sense at last, and yes he won't start, may not play, but that is not the point.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 19/08/2016 19:01:38    1903333

I agree with everyone. Common sense did indeed prevail but I cannot see how this was rescinded when by the law/rulebook its a sending off offence.

There is a large grey area here. It was a strike with the hand!!

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 326 - 19/08/2016 19:17:23    1903336

Replying To republican:  "I agree with everyone. Common sense did indeed prevail but I cannot see how this was rescinded when by the law/rulebook its a sending off offence.

There is a large grey area here. It was a strike with the hand!!"
It was an openhanded slap/push.
the ref indicated a closed fist punch.
There was no sufficient evidence of this the chc agreed. Therefore downgraded the offence to rough play which is a yellow card.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/08/2016 19:36:12    1903340

Great to see EOG back in action after his injury, one of the most exciting forwards in Ireland. Common sense prevailed as a pat on the back could get you sent off as far as the book is concerned. Welcome back Eoghain

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 19/08/2016 19:38:22    1903341

Ooooohhhhhh eoghan o gara

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/08/2016 19:49:51    1903344

Proper order..sure all he did was tickle mcgees belly.he wouldnt have started anyway..but good to see a bit of common sense prevail here.

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 19/08/2016 19:51:10    1903346

Replying To hill16no1man:  "It wasn't a strike it was a slap the chc states. Which is a yellow card offence.
The reason the ref sent him off couldn't be proven accurate also they stated"
So by your logic you can say slap a guy in say the face and get away with once the hand isn't closed? Crazy stuff.
I remember Tomas o'se getting done for the same thing against Stephen Kelly and they used video evidence to get him banned for a game.
Typical double standards by the GAA and they are sending a great message to all dubs young and old alok

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/08/2016 20:05:59    1903348

Replying To republican:  "I agree with everyone. Common sense did indeed prevail but I cannot see how this was rescinded when by the law/rulebook its a sending off offence.

There is a large grey area here. It was a strike with the hand!!"
I think Magee has to get some credit for not throwing himself to the ground and rolling around like a Down forward did against Fermanagh a few years ago after a similar tap. BTW did Fermanagh''s Cassidy get and serve a suspension for a similar slap or tap on Magee in this year''s c'ship? I seem to remember a number of posters calling for his suspension.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/08/2016 20:07:22    1903351

I heard they brought a fly in for the appeal. They said that O'Gara's strike with the hand wouldn't hurt a fly. They asked the fly what did he think. The fly hurt his right wing as he was rolling around the floor laughing thinking it was such a ridiculous question. O'Gara's strike wouldn't bother him at all at all he said, with an injured wing. The Dublin county board paid for the fly's vets bill.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 19/08/2016 20:11:03    1903353

From a common sense perspective it's the fairest decision - but techincally it's a red card - but as common sense and fairness prevails then happy for o Gara to have a clean slate - assuming McMahon is out for rest of year under same spirit of fairness ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 19/08/2016 20:44:23    1903363