The Golden Generation of Hoganstand.

Will the magic of HS ever come back ?

This is a different place nowadays.

I'll always remember the good times when we had posters like Loyal2TheRoyal, Dubupnorth, Dubbydave, Ta32, Patrique (God bless him), Slayer, BettystownRoyal, Horse, JayoCluxton, RealLouth, Cavan Slasher, Whiterbananas (As I called him), PPlocal. Niamh, Orlaith

I'm sure there are many more not mentioned.

We had the non-sport forum.

We had the craic and a bit of a laugh.

But, alas, Hoganstand has gone from a once mighty place, To a bit of a borefest. With people just lining up to complain or fuel there agendas against certain individuals. Childish carry on.

There is very little discussion kept on topic anymore, It doesn't take long before a thread descends into chaos and a slagging match.

I appreciate the thumbs up and thumbs down thing, I appreciate that we can now reply directly to posts without having to copy and paste (Though Ormond doesn't seem to notice that yet) but legends of the past are gone and they cant be replaced.

2006-2009 despite being a desperate time to be a Dublin fan on here, was undoubtably the golden generation of HS.

I cant see a new golden generation any time soon, The standard of posters these days is muck!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/08/2016 14:28:00    1901828

We need ballboy back, with his superior education, to elevate standards to the halcyon days of the mid noughties.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 16/08/2016 14:43:04    1901844

Squidword is another name that you can add to that list. He is not on here about four years. I suspect he is going under a new username.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 16/08/2016 14:51:07    1901852

Replying To waynoI:  "Will the magic of HS ever come back ?

I'll always remember the good times when we had posters like Loyal2TheRoyal, Dubupnorth, Dubbydave, Ta32, Patrique (God bless him), Slayer, BettystownRoyal, Horse, JayoCluxton, RealLouth, Cavan Slasher, Whiterbananas (As I called him), PPlocal. Niamh, Orlaith

But, alas, Hoganstand has gone from a once mighty place, To a bit of a borefest. With people just lining up to complain or fuel there agendas against certain individuals. Childish carry on.

There is very little discussion kept on topic anymore, It doesn't take long before a thread descends into chaos and a slagging match.

I appreciate the thumbs up and thumbs down thing, I appreciate that we can now reply directly to posts without having to copy and paste (Though Ormond doesn't seem to notice that yet) but legends of the past are gone and they cant be replaced.

2006-2009 despite being a desperate time to be a Dublin fan on here, was undoubtably the golden generation of HS.

I cant see a new golden generation any time soon, The standard of posters these days is muck!!"
Only new to this so don't know the golden days.

There's some decent threads occasionally, they die pretty quickly though.

The prediction threads are decent.

There have been some cr@p threads recently and a lot get repeated. How many threads do there need to be about Mayo.

How often do some of the posters from Kerry have to remind us that they've no chance this year.

I've put a lot of sh1te up about championship restructuring, I'm going to wind that in a lot. It is pretty boring also.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 16/08/2016 14:52:42    1901853

Replying To Lockjaw:  "We need ballboy back, with his superior education, to elevate standards to the halcyon days of the mid noughties."
Did he not go and spend a few years finding himself on Croagh Patrick then when he realised it was himself he was looking for came back down as liathroidboy?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 16/08/2016 14:58:58    1901861

I cant see a new golden generation any time soon, The standard of posters these days is muck!!"
Wayno

There were as many rows back then

In fact there was probably a lot more going on

Lots of threads were all about lads rowing with each other

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/08/2016 14:59:52    1901863

Cavan Slasher is still on the Cavan board. He has spent the intervening years calling for Terry Hylands head. :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 16/08/2016 15:02:24    1901866

There have been some cr@p threads recently and a lot get repeated. How many threads do there need to be about Mayo.

Mostly started by supporters of rival counties, in fairness. Best one I ever saw tried to blame the Galway hurlers' ousting of Anthony Cunningham on the corrupting influence of their neighbours to the North.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 16/08/2016 15:07:07    1901871

Quit looking the the past Wayno....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 16/08/2016 15:09:14    1901876

I blame the Dublin posters. I heard they get free cars etc.....

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 16/08/2016 15:13:57    1901882

I think a lot of it is down to the moderation to be honest. The life is choked out of a lot of debates, and there appears to be some kind of tactical modding going on. Im generally not allowed to post on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Even the most simple of things, complete blackout. Yesterday was the first Monday in ages my posts were put up. Maybe that is just me, but if that is going on for others then how is the forum supposed to do well? It used to be great.

The dubs being successful has killed it a bit also. Posters from Dublin tend to be always on the clock. Talk up Dublin, stick the boot into Mayo and Kerry, and never from this mantra shall thou digress. Because of that the non sport thread and the soccer forum are generally better.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/08/2016 15:16:16    1901883

Pointless threads are probably the biggest issue to be fair.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 16/08/2016 15:24:51    1901892

Replying To TheMaster:  "I think a lot of it is down to the moderation to be honest. The life is choked out of a lot of debates, and there appears to be some kind of tactical modding going on. Im generally not allowed to post on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Even the most simple of things, complete blackout. Yesterday was the first Monday in ages my posts were put up. Maybe that is just me, but if that is going on for others then how is the forum supposed to do well? It used to be great.

The dubs being successful has killed it a bit also. Posters from Dublin tend to be always on the clock. Talk up Dublin, stick the boot into Mayo and Kerry, and never from this mantra shall thou digress. Because of that the non sport thread and the soccer forum are generally better."
Whine, whinge, whine, whinge

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/08/2016 15:29:29    1901899

Stupid post, longing for the past. Like fellas saying ah shure I remember when we used to have Summers, or when went to school in our bare feet & had no arse to our trouser. When the pint was less than a pound & if you were in a row it would be just fists no knives or guns. You just want a select group of people, one of the big laughs here is this league table & it is so obvious, fellas showing up on every thread & different counties threads, a typical example is Pat from county x comes on & says wishing Ye all the best the next day ye should win. This is repeated over & over till he gets the likes. Or it's usually where one group from a county target another group & they keep posting & all the lads from his county give him loads of likes, it's pathetic, just like the need to have Tim, John & Pat from the old days, ffs.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 16/08/2016 16:14:38    1901932

Replying To jimbodub:  "Whine, whinge, whine, whinge"
Shh, adults speaking...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/08/2016 16:20:16    1901937

Replying To TheMaster:  "I think a lot of it is down to the moderation to be honest. The life is choked out of a lot of debates, and there appears to be some kind of tactical modding going on. Im generally not allowed to post on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Even the most simple of things, complete blackout. Yesterday was the first Monday in ages my posts were put up. Maybe that is just me, but if that is going on for others then how is the forum supposed to do well? It used to be great.

The dubs being successful has killed it a bit also. Posters from Dublin tend to be always on the clock. Talk up Dublin, stick the boot into Mayo and Kerry, and never from this mantra shall thou digress. Because of that the non sport thread and the soccer forum are generally better."
Where have I ever stuck the boot into Mayo or Kerry and big up Dublin?? Seeing as though you're doing a sweeping generalistion there....

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 16/08/2016 16:40:28    1901947

Ah lads, there was every bit as much slagging back then.

Everyone hated Tyrone much more than they do now. They had some serious rivalries on here with Meath and Mayo in particular.

But I'd still agree it was the golden era. And if I'm honest, I think Jim took the best of HS with him following that faithful final post of his in 2008. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 16/08/2016 16:46:42    1901953

The clique exists.

On another note - if memory is correct it was far worse back then!!! BallBoy was a prime example and there were a few other king WUMs.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 16/08/2016 16:57:43    1901959

There were indeed Brolly!

Speaking of WUM's what about oul Snuf, I haven't heard a dicky bird from him in a while....is he contributing on the Dublin forum or has he disappeared altogether?

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 16/08/2016 17:24:18    1901978

Replying To moc.dna:  "Stupid post, longing for the past. Like fellas saying ah shure I remember when we used to have Summers, or when went to school in our bare feet & had no arse to our trouser. When the pint was less than a pound & if you were in a row it would be just fists no knives or guns. You just want a select group of people, one of the big laughs here is this league table & it is so obvious, fellas showing up on every thread & different counties threads, a typical example is Pat from county x comes on & says wishing Ye all the best the next day ye should win. This is repeated over & over till he gets the likes. Or it's usually where one group from a county target another group & they keep posting & all the lads from his county give him loads of likes, it's pathetic, just like the need to have Tim, John & Pat from the old days, ffs."
LOL

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 16/08/2016 17:38:28    1901982