Were the floodlights broken in Croke Park?

The second half of the Kilkenny-Waterford march was played in near semi-darkness, people watching on telly might not have noticed. My eyesight's not what it used to be so I kept glancing at the floodlights thinking "surely they'll turn them on now. Surely?!" But no, the match continued in the dusk. When the rugby and soccer crowd were playing in Croke Park, the stadium authorities couldn't wait to bathe the ground in light for our esteemed guests. But a bunch of bogtrotters up from the country for a hurling match? Nah, don't bother wasting the floodlights on them.

I really hate the people who run Croke Park.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 08/08/2016 00:17:27    1897764

You know they've turned the lights on for football and hurling matches in the past too?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 08/08/2016 00:39:21    1897768

i wasn't at the match but i have often seen them turn the lights on if it gets dark.it wasn't that dark in Wexford yesterday anway!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 08/08/2016 08:21:38    1897793

Replying To MesAmis:  "You know they've turned the lights on for football and hurling matches in the past too?"
Yes, night time matches, mostly football and mostly Dublin. The "glamour games". The acid test for the Croke Park authorities is if they're willing to turn on the lights on an August mid-afternoon for a couple of hurling teams up from the country. It was very dark in the second half yesterday but they didn't want to waste a few bob to turn on the lights. No wonder the umpires needed hawkeye so many times.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 08/08/2016 10:25:14    1897856

Replying To perfect10:  "i wasn't at the match but i have often seen them turn the lights on if it gets dark.it wasn't that dark in Wexford yesterday anway!"
Well, they didn't yesterday and it was very dark in Croke Park. Ye must have had nicer weather in Wexford. The whole point is that Croke Park treats GAA fans and players like muck, compared to how they rolled out the red carpet for the rugby goys.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 08/08/2016 10:28:27    1897858

Replying To ballydalane:  "Yes, night time matches, mostly football and mostly Dublin. The "glamour games". The acid test for the Croke Park authorities is if they're willing to turn on the lights on an August mid-afternoon for a couple of hurling teams up from the country. It was very dark in the second half yesterday but they didn't want to waste a few bob to turn on the lights. No wonder the umpires needed hawkeye so many times."
I was there and had no problem making out what was happening on the pitch.

It was a normal, overcast and cloudy day.

Take the poor auld rural country chip off your shoulder.

If the lights were needed I'm sure they would've put them on just like they have done previously for teams 'up from the country' like the Kerry and Galway footballers in 2008.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 08/08/2016 11:26:26    1897904

It wasn't that dark yesterday.Its still the month of August FFS!

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 08/08/2016 11:35:56    1897912

It wasn't that dark yesterday.Its still the month of August FFS!

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 08/08/2016 11:35:56    1897913

How did we ever play matches at 3.30 on a Sunday afternoon in August before we had floodlights?
BTW those rugby matches were played in March.
We will tell the lads in Thurles to turn them on good and early next week so folks can find the stadium in the dark. They may use a neon ball for the 6.45 throw in.

jpcampion (Laois) - Posts: 194 - 08/08/2016 11:49:51    1897921

Dubs on here defending Croke Park like it's their home ground....just saying

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 08/08/2016 11:57:38    1897926

Replying To jpcampion:  "How did we ever play matches at 3.30 on a Sunday afternoon in August before we had floodlights?
BTW those rugby matches were played in March.
We will tell the lads in Thurles to turn them on good and early next week so folks can find the stadium in the dark. They may use a neon ball for the 6.45 throw in."
i was just talking to a kilkenny man and asked him the same question?he thought this was hilarious!!he said it was a grand day and didn't hear anybody complaining about it.

might be time for a trip to specsavers balldalane!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 08/08/2016 11:58:59    1897930

Ar people now really suggesting the lights only get turned on for Dublin games lol !! ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/08/2016 12:11:08    1897945

Replying To Weary:  "Dubs on here defending Croke Park like it's their home ground....just saying"
We are the only crowd that fill the place after all!

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 08/08/2016 12:11:48    1897947

Replying To Condorman:  "We are the only crowd that fill the place after all!"
You are? When would that be?

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 08/08/2016 12:23:18    1897962

Replying To ballydalane:  "The second half of the Kilkenny-Waterford march was played in near semi-darkness, people watching on telly might not have noticed. My eyesight's not what it used to be so I kept glancing at the floodlights thinking "surely they'll turn them on now. Surely?!" But no, the match continued in the dusk. When the rugby and soccer crowd were playing in Croke Park, the stadium authorities couldn't wait to bathe the ground in light for our esteemed guests. But a bunch of bogtrotters up from the country for a hurling match? Nah, don't bother wasting the floodlights on them.

I really hate the people who run Croke Park."
Deary me, dry your eyes and you should see fine.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 08/08/2016 13:57:07    1898048

There was no need for floodlights on Sunday. The sun didn't set until three hours after the game finished.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 461 - 08/08/2016 14:03:41    1898054

Replying To ballydalane:  "Yes, night time matches, mostly football and mostly Dublin. The "glamour games". The acid test for the Croke Park authorities is if they're willing to turn on the lights on an August mid-afternoon for a couple of hurling teams up from the country. It was very dark in the second half yesterday but they didn't want to waste a few bob to turn on the lights. No wonder the umpires needed hawkeye so many times."
'Very dark'? At 4pm in August?

No floodlights needed for either of the games on Saturday, both throwing in later than yesterday's game.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 08/08/2016 14:04:10    1898055

Replying To waynoI:  "Ar people now really suggesting the lights only get turned on for Dublin games lol !! ?"
yeah...sad isn't it?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 08/08/2016 14:30:33    1898085

Yeah. They only turn on the lights for them West Brit Dubs and they used to turn on the lights for Brit games like soccer and rugby. And Beyonce, maybe she's British too ? Seriously?

McGrath and Cody both ranted that the lights weren't turned on too !!! You already said your eyesight isn't the best, like myself, maybe you need new glasses. I had no problems watching 3 games on Saturday from the upper deck of the Hogan three seats from the end and it wasn't always bright for Dubs and Donegal.

You saw a class game of hurling and your team are the best of all time. I was priveliged to see them with DJ back in '99. Don't worry be happy. I'm sure the GAA weren't discriminating us culchies leaving us in the dark this time.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 08/08/2016 14:59:36    1898114

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "yeah...sad isn't it?"
Nobody has suggested this but sure whine away

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 08/08/2016 15:02:08    1898119