Top subs - #BarryJohn Keane

In GAA they always talk about the impact sub and I dono about ye but when I see BarryJohn Keane there is that extra bit of excitement that he will do something.

Is there many more impact subs in the country?

Is BarryJohn worth the start or is he a sub that will always be a sub?

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 04/08/2016 08:55:11    1895155

Kevin McManamon - although he's been starting more games lately in the past has been outstanding off the bench.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 04/08/2016 09:32:19    1895174

Greatest supersub of all time was Tom Brewster in 2004. Always good for a few points, didn't start any game until the replay against Mayo. Scored the point to put favourites for the All Ireland Armagh out in the qf stage.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 04/08/2016 09:33:32    1895176

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "In GAA they always talk about the impact sub and I dono about ye but when I see BarryJohn Keane there is that extra bit of excitement that he will do something.

Is there many more impact subs in the country?

Is BarryJohn worth the start or is he a sub that will always be a sub?"
Kev Mc...#kerrykiller

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/08/2016 09:38:19    1895179

Christy 'Magnus' Toye!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 04/08/2016 09:47:31    1895183

Kevin Mc is THE best sub I have ever seen. Won 2 all irelands on the back of his impact in finals.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/08/2016 09:56:45    1895189

Mcmanamon is one that springs to mind too getting more starts not, Barry John has made I think 25 appearances of the bench if I was eamon fitz hed start no questions asked.

Anyone agree?

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 04/08/2016 09:58:57    1895191

Kev Mac greatest sub of all time there can't be any arguments. Mate half the Kerry posters wouldn't have Barry John Keane on there panel never mind being a sub or starting , they don't really rate him down there.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/08/2016 09:59:50    1895193

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kev Mac greatest sub of all time there can't be any arguments. Mate half the Kerry posters wouldn't have Barry John Keane on there panel never mind being a sub or starting , they don't really rate him down there."
Well my God I'm actually agreeing with you for once Clondalkin!!

Aye, I don't think he should be on the panel. Nothing personal against the fella I just don't think he has ever stepped up when we really needed him. Its grand coming on kicking a few scores when the game is already over, but if in 3 weeks time there's a point or two in the game is BJK the man to grab the thing by the scruff of the neck? I havn't seen him do it yet and his around the panel 3-4 years at this stage.

We have some potentially brilliant forwards within the junior and U-21 set ups, one of those lads should be given the chance instead.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/08/2016 10:22:49    1895210

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kev Mac greatest sub of all time there can't be any arguments. Mate half the Kerry posters wouldn't have Barry John Keane on there panel never mind being a sub or starting , they don't really rate him down there."
I dono how ya cant rate him. I think he outstanding.
Agree with your mc statement hes up there.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 04/08/2016 10:38:17    1895224

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Christy 'Magnus' Toye!"
Fine lookin fella too!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/08/2016 10:39:34    1895226

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Mcmanamon is one that springs to mind too getting more starts not, Barry John has made I think 25 appearances of the bench if I was eamon fitz hed start no questions asked.

Anyone agree?"
I disagree. Kerry have some deadly forward that aren't getting started. There are only 6 spots and I would have others ahead of him.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 04/08/2016 10:45:57    1895230

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Christy 'Magnus' Toye!"
Fine lookin fella too!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/08/2016 10:47:25    1895234

Kevin Mc is either the best supersub or the luckiest - That said - you make your own luck Either way hard to argue that he is the player that has had the most impact off the bench - The 2 all Ireland finals aside I remember the 2011 Semi - which was at a total stalemate until he came on - Direct strong runs against weary Donegal legs - turned the game in Dublin's favour - Arguably a defining moment in terms of Dublin getting our the right side of tough games. versus what they had done before and would do afterwards v Kerryx3 - Mayo x 2

For Donegal certainly Christy Toye - has scored a few big goals off the bench and a few calming points when things were in the melting pot - Thought he had done it again in the Ulster final but Sean Cavanagh had different ideas

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 04/08/2016 10:55:25    1895244

Keane is as dangerous as they come. we don't hear much about him in the papers either, he seems to suit the role of coming off the bench perfectly and then disappearing again until the next day out.

Kevin Mc is a fab sub, great for the odd goal and deadly running on and off the ball, mostly on it though.

Chrisy Toye is also a scoring sub. Great vision and can pass the ball without error also.

MDMA will be taking on this mantle from now on.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/08/2016 10:57:53    1895247

Barry John Keane is a great man to come off the bench and kick three or four points when the game is already won.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 04/08/2016 10:58:53    1895248

Willie Joe was a great sub to lift a crowd and the team late in his career. A few mighty fetches, didn't contribute much to the scoreboard but there was always a buzz when we knew he was coming on and a mighty roar when he took to the field.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 04/08/2016 11:05:11    1895258

Replying To Jackeen:  "Fine lookin fella too!"
Really?! Don't see it myself!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 04/08/2016 11:07:36    1895261

Listen, When talking about subs, the start, middle and end of this particular conversation should focus on Kevin McMenamon.

Simple as that.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/08/2016 11:15:27    1895272

Kevin McMenamon isn't a bad sub to have! I'd have to give honourable mention to Andy Moran, as he always comes up with something from the bench.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/08/2016 11:28:01    1895284