Dublin v Donegal

The third part of the Dublin v Donegal rivalry.

Well done to Donegal on a very good win against Cork. Had to dig deep there.

With Dublin and Donegal sharing one victory apiece in championship games in the past 4 or 5 years, I'm really excited about this :D.

We will have our work cut out with McBrearty that's for sure.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/07/2016 17:36:35    1892341

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

Dublin

Dublin v Donegal

Here we go again , Donegal looked open all day but they'll be way more defensive next Saturday , I remember them against Armagh two years ago they were average at best so this game tells us nothing, still doh you'd have to fancy Dublin to win.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 30/07/2016 17:55:52    1892360

Itll be dublins toughest game yet but Id be surprised to see Donegal reach the semis now.
The experience of the games against Monaghan, tyrone and Cork will stand to them greatly, however, but they could maybe do with another week to recover.
Still though, two very good games next Sunday (assuming its Mayo v Tyrone). Are they on sky or rte does anyone know?

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 30/07/2016 17:59:03    1892364

A true test for Dublin, against a team we know can hurt us, all respect offered and I think it will be a very tight game that can go either way.

Dublin have a great team albeit a very worrisome backline, all the ingredients are similar to 2014 for me and I don't think it will be the forgone conclusion the media will promote it to be.

This is what it's all about, no offence but would prefer it this way to win an all Ireland rather then the handy run on the other side of the draw and inevitable detractions if any success is achived.

Time for battle.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/07/2016 18:03:03    1892371

No chance for Donegal in my opinion, and I always give us a chance! 7 day turnaround while Dublin have had almost a month of a break... That's why we have little or no chance. When we beat Dublin in 2014, each team had 3 weeks prep time.. The scheduling of the GAA is ridiculous, we have to wait nearly a month between Ulster games and then we have a week recovery for an All Ireland Quarter final.. Nonsense. Anyway, Dublin are so good, so dynamic, have such a quality squad that the week turnaround comes at the worst possible time. We will be lucky to be within 10 points. Seriously.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 30/07/2016 18:07:11    1892375

Replying To waynoI:  "The third part of the Dublin v Donegal rivalry.

With Dublin and Donegal sharing one victory apiece in championship games in the past 4 or 5 years, I'm really excited about this :D.

We will have our work cut out with McBrearty that's for sure."
Looking forward to it, hope we can at least make it a competitive game against the 'unbeatable Dubs' jes where did I hear that before!!

Seriously though we will have to be on top of our game and tighten the defense to compete with Dublin, Cork could have beat us today but we just did enough and got a few breaks,
going to be a cracker hopefully, Michael Murphy to hit form again and Donegal to shock the GAA world and win!! well no good if you can't dream.
Donegal by 2.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 30/07/2016 18:13:23    1892377

This is the match I've been dreading.
If the wheels come off the wagon, this is the one which will be Donegal's downfall
Hoping to eat my words. We'll have to play out of our skins this day

Kirkintilloch (Donegal) - Posts: 43 - 30/07/2016 18:13:43    1892378

Most people will expect Dublin to win this I would think, which is what you would want if you were in Donegal corner.
Underdogs playing the AI champions who have yet to be tested.Surely your best chance to catch them.This will be a difficult game for Dublin make no mistake. Donegal have played a couple of tough matches and could be in a better place than Dublin right now.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/07/2016 18:16:27    1892383

Looking forward to this, but the absence of Neil Gallagher & the fact that Murphy is way off the pace suggests to me that it might be a long day at the office.

Mind you, can you just imagine if we did win.........

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/07/2016 18:30:54    1892390

The Donegal team have responded well to all the negative comments from posters and ex managers. I've been negative about their ability to kick goals and their inconsistancies but really feel humbled now.
Theae boya have dug deep and whether the criticism and the disapontment of the Ulster final has driven them on.
Could be they are now gelling together and finding the confidence and belief to take this al the way.
Really need to get behind our boys

Kirkintilloch (Donegal) - Posts: 43 - 30/07/2016 18:34:24    1892394

Replying To waynoI:  "The third part of the Dublin v Donegal rivalry.

We will have our work cut out with McBrearty that's for sure."
You're easily excited. A Dublin win is inevitable.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 30/07/2016 18:35:23    1892395

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Most people will expect Dublin to win this I would think, which is what you would want if you were in Donegal corner.
Underdogs playing the AI champions who have yet to be tested.Surely your best chance to catch them.This will be a difficult game for Dublin make no mistake. Donegal have played a couple of tough matches and could be in a better place than Dublin right now."
You could be right, but there is a big difference between us in 2014 and this year.

However, I am not writing off our chances either. You just never know.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/07/2016 18:46:46    1892402

Well done donegal on a good victory with some great point taking by paddy mcbrearty..but now its time for revenge for 2014..should be a cracker in croker with the donegal fans.but it will be a dublin win..no ambush this time lads..seen a lot of gaps in that donegal defence today.

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 30/07/2016 18:46:49    1892403

Dublin might be undercooked at this stage of the campaign so it might suit Donegal to meet them now.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 30/07/2016 18:49:39    1892406

Replying To GGdub:  "Well done donegal on a good victory with some great point taking by paddy mcbrearty..but now its time for revenge for 2014..should be a cracker in croker with the donegal fans.but it will be a dublin win..no ambush this time lads..seen a lot of gaps in that donegal defence today."
I can understand where you are coming from but I wouldn't see beating this Donegal team as revenge for 2014.

They are a shadow of that side with two of our most influential players Neil Gallagher & Michael Murphy not driving things. Neil Gallagher missing completely & Murphy is obviously carrying an injury. In 2014 everyone was fit & short of that Donegal would not have won that day & won't next Sunday.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/07/2016 18:59:09    1892412

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Looking forward to this, but the absence of Neil Gallagher & the fact that Murphy is way off the pace suggests to me that it might be a long day at the office.

Mind you, can you just imagine if we did win........."
Jes it would be some craic alright, then we'd likely be meeting Kerry in the semi and we could get revenge for 2014!! the plot thickens.
better start lighting a few holy candles and saying the prayers though, going to be very hard to stop the blue juggernaut.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 30/07/2016 19:05:01    1892413

Can only see one outcome here

1) Donegal have played 5 quarter finals in 5 years - they won 3 all of which were after coming through as Ulster Champions - we lost 2 against Mayo both after playing a 4th round game the previous week -
2) the extra game short turnaround is even more difficult given the mileage on some of the players
3) 2014 is the only blemish on Gavin's copybook - Dublin will be up for this
4) Dublin only lost that game because of their halfback line going missing inside the Donegal 45 - they have learnt from this
5) Rory is not Jim
6) Should have been 2 goals today - Dublin would run riot if given that space
7) no midfield today - Tyrone got a grip on game once the pushed up on kick outs - Gavin will have seen this
8) Murphy is clearly injured and out of sorts

Maybe we can frustrate Dublin with a very defensive set-up maybe we can put their full back line under pressure - maybe we can sneak a goal or two which may give us a chance - but most scenarios I think through aren't great

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 30/07/2016 19:23:55    1892424

Ahh dub posters will ye give it a rest. Cutehoorism at its worst. Dublin received 1.8 million , Donegal have what 40k when it comes to funding, nothing would make me happier than for Donegal to send Dublin packing, but these days money buys you all Irelands, Dublin by 10 unfortunately.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/07/2016 19:31:07    1892430

I think Donegal could win this,they are capable of it.Dublin could be a bit flat because they have played nobody yet.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/07/2016 19:40:47    1892437

Everyone predicting a handy Dublin win.

Getting a sense of Dejavu here.

It'll be close guys.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/07/2016 19:47:42    1892442