Lovely hurling my ar*e

Looking at what has been on show today it just seems like the standard of hurling is really poor.
13 sides for Waterford in first half and still well ahead combined with the hiding Tipp gave them makes it look all the poorer.
The hurling Championship in general just seems really poor.Best games probably served up by Meath and Antrim.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 24/07/2016 14:42:19    1889131

I agree.

This has been a very poor game. Long shooting, poor wides etc etc.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 24/07/2016 15:09:06    1889149

Down with this sort of thing!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/07/2016 15:18:43    1889153

Replying To waynoI:  "Down with this sort of thing!!"
Good to see you maintaining your usual high standards of contribution.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 24/07/2016 15:41:40    1889166

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Looking at what has been on show today it just seems like the standard of hurling is really poor.
13 sides for Waterford in first half and still well ahead combined with the hiding Tipp gave them makes it look all the poorer.
The hurling Championship in general just seems really poor.Best games probably served up by Meath and Antrim."
"Looking at what has been on show today ..."

The second game (Clare v Galway) hasn't even started.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 24/07/2016 15:55:29    1889175

Right enough it's not up to much.
Clare Galway might serve up better fare.
One can always hope I suppose.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/07/2016 15:58:47    1889178

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Looking at what has been on show today it just seems like the standard of hurling is really poor.
The hurling Championship in general just seems really poor.Best games probably served up by Meath and Antrim."
"Looking at what has been on show today it just seems like the standard of hurling is really poor." you mean the standard of hurling on show - in the Waterford v Wexford game. I assume your not seriously suggesting that these two teams typify the standard of the game? If you want to know how not to play the game just watch these two teams - dire. But then playing in one dimentsion has been the monopoly of Football IMO over the last two years so it wasn't long before the disease infected hurling.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 24/07/2016 16:01:33    1889181

Well done Waterford but I doubt Kilkenny will be too worried after seeing that game.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/07/2016 16:38:14    1889202

that Waterford v wexford gane was brutal
at some stages Waterford didn't have a forward in the wexford half
killkenny will have them for lunch
for me tipp and Kilkenny are streest ahead
hurling played with all the great skills of the game
maybe galway can match tipp
it might give us one good game before final

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 24/07/2016 17:47:42    1889253

Two poor games today, particularly the first one. It's been a very forgettable hurling championship so far. Despite all the doom and gloom from the "experts", the football championship has been of much better quality. Another disappointing aspect of today's games was the attendance- only 31,000 bothered to show up, from 4 of the "top" hurling counties.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 24/07/2016 18:13:38    1889270

The fact that no team today managed to outscore either ourselves or Derry from last night says a lot about defensive hurling.

Fair play to Galway they used the extra defender they were given well today. Think they could trouble us. Clare were one dimensional today though. Galway will have to hit more than 2-17 if we get quality ball in to Callinan, McGrath and Bubbles

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 24/07/2016 19:24:01    1889311

Dissapointing fare today alright, Waterford are not the team I thought they were and I can see the Cats disposing of them easily being honest. Galway always have at least one big game in them and I don't think it was produced today, potentially good game ahead v Tipp and I hope it is, the year has been deviod of good hurling with the exception as said of Meath v Antrim which were two really good games

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 24/07/2016 19:43:46    1889323

Galway weren't great but not bad either. Can smell another ambush!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 24/07/2016 19:43:50    1889324

Replying To WildPundit:  "Galway weren't great but not bad either. Can smell another ambush!!!"
I fear it as well. Especially with the awful record of Munster champs in the semis of late.

Think we're a bit more dynamic around the middle now though. Hopefully better able to deal with Galway's pace and intensity there. Still think their full back line can be got at.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 24/07/2016 20:04:58    1889339

Replying To football first:  "Two poor games today, particularly the first one. It's been a very forgettable hurling championship so far. Despite all the doom and gloom from the "experts", the football championship has been of much better quality. Another disappointing aspect of today's games was the attendance- only 31,000 bothered to show up, from 4 of the "top" hurling counties."
It was funny.

At the start of the year hurling lads were on here criticising the predictable football championship.

Most open hurling championship in years supposedly.

Both the provincial championships were repeats of last season as now are the All Ireland
semis.

Football has produced 2 different provincial champions and 4 different provincial finalists from last year.

Tipp and Clare in the quarterfinals for the first time.

Either Galway or Tipp in an All Ireland semifinal.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4208 - 24/07/2016 20:21:19    1889346

Replying To roundball:  "I fear it as well. Especially with the awful record of Munster champs in the semis of late.

Think we're a bit more dynamic around the middle now though. Hopefully better able to deal with Galway's pace and intensity there. Still think their full back line can be got at."
I agree we have better midfielders this year and our forwards should learn from last year.
If our backs can contain Galway 6 forwards like Kilkenny did that will win us the game.
Anyway early days for talk on this one yet!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 24/07/2016 20:29:35    1889356

Replying To roundball:  "The fact that no team today managed to outscore either ourselves or Derry from last night says a lot about defensive hurling.

Fair play to Galway they used the extra defender they were given well today. Think they could trouble us. Clare were one dimensional today though. Galway will have to hit more than 2-17 if we get quality ball in to Callinan, McGrath and Bubbles"
Ye got quality ball in last year and scored 3-16. That's only two points more than Galway got today and Galway are better at the back than they were last year. Stop Callinan and Tipp are in massive bother .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 24/07/2016 20:49:25    1889367

Replying To roundball:  "I fear it as well. Especially with the awful record of Munster champs in the semis of late.

Think we're a bit more dynamic around the middle now though. Hopefully better able to deal with Galway's pace and intensity there. Still think their full back line can be got at."
Hopefully we will learn our lessons from last year cos I can't see us scoring three goals again this year.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 24/07/2016 21:12:44    1889384

The hurling championship has not had a good game since 2014 All Ireland final. Only Tipp and KK can match each other in intensity. That is a pity really. It is hard to get too enthused about any other match up.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 24/07/2016 22:09:23    1889424

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Looking at what has been on show today ..."

The second game (Clare v Galway) hasn't even started."
I'd extend that to the hurling championship in general.Dreadful overall.
If you've seen a game that suggests otherwise let me know.As I said apart from Meath v Antrim I havn't seen anything to get excited about.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 24/07/2016 22:51:32    1889439