Oulart v Cuala

Predictions. Oulart are going into this game with no great pressure. They are expected to lose. Cuala are Des Cahill's darlings. Every say it has to be them. I have a sneaky suspicion Oulart will do it. This is winter hurling. It's as much as about hunger and mental strength as it is about skill.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 26/11/2015 21:02:32    1810163

Cuala have no experience at this level at all and are coming from a poor enough county Championship.

I have no idea why they are being so heavily tipped.

Yes they've beaten two decent sides in Leinster thus far but I disagree that they should be massively favoured. Oulart are a strong team. Much closer to 50/50 in my opinion.

This is Oulart's best chance to win Leinster against an inexperienced team from a weak enough Championship.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 27/11/2015 08:29:17    1810175

If it was summer I would go Cuala. Heavy ground does not suit their hurling (does not suit hurling full stop).

So I go with Oulart...but will be supporting Cuala.

Sad thing is that this would be a great battle if we hard a hard pitch as Oulart themselves can hurl.

Sad to see so many big hurling matches played in weather like this.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 27/11/2015 08:30:03    1810176

No pressure on Oualart? They have been to 5 of the last 6 Leinster finals and have dominated the Wexford championship for how many years? Cuala are into their first Leinster in 20 years and haven't really done a lot in the Dublin Championship so I don't see how their is "no pressure" on Oualrt? Me thinks someone is being a bit of a cute hoor, eh? Oualart are lookin to finally get their hands on that coveted Leinster title afyer so many defeats while Cuala, who have a good chance of winning too of course, are under no pressure at all to deliver.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/11/2015 09:31:50    1810190

Des Cahill is also a Cuala man so why wouldn't they be his "darlings"?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/11/2015 09:37:48    1810191

Cuala all the way.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 27/11/2015 10:03:55    1810194

The problem is that Cuala will have no experience of the occasion so it might not get to them. Maybe they will just come out and hurl. There will be serious pressure on Oulart especially if its a tight game. The fear of losing again could be too much to overcome.
For sure its Oulart's final but we thought that 2 years ago and they just didnt turn up against an MLR team that had no fear.
I expect Oulart to win but if they cave again it'll be no surprise.

jpcampion (Laois) - Posts: 194 - 27/11/2015 10:19:42    1810196

Oulart by 4+.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/11/2015 10:57:32    1810203

witnof

1810176 If it was summer I would go Cuala. Heavy ground does not suit their hurling (does not suit hurling full stop).

So I go with Oulart...but will be supporting Cuala.

Sad thing is that this would be a great battle if we hard a hard pitch as Oulart themselves can hurl.

Sad to see so many big hurling matches played in weather like this.

Totally agree , but whats the point in moaning no ones listening , no really gives a shi7 about our best players certainly not the GPA , scandalous .
Of course I will be shouting for Cuala , but have to say honourable mention to their opponents have been to Wexford a lot with Dublin development squads played Wexforda fair bit and met many a fine member from Oulart , very passionate and up for a bit of craic .Either way who ever wins I will support for the rest of the competition .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 27/11/2015 11:16:03    1810206

Mesamis,

"Cuala have no experience at this level at all and are coming from a poor enough county Championship."

They said the same about MLR.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 27/11/2015 15:11:21    1810255

Cuala for me, Schutte should be the difference.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 27/11/2015 17:32:51    1810287

keeper7
County: Longford

Mesamis,

"Cuala have no experience at this level at all and are coming from a poor enough county Championship."

They said the same about MLR.

Very true.

Don't get me wrong I think Cuala have a great chance but I just don't by some the BS being peddled about them being roaring favourites.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 27/11/2015 17:56:15    1810290

This is an Oulart team full of quality. Pretty much every member has or does represent Wexford at some level. But, it's a team that's probably 3-4 years past it's prime. Traditionally I'd have no love for Oulart but I'd absolutely love to see them win it. Players like Rossiter,Roche,Stamp,Mythen are as good as anything hurling has produced in the last 20 years and have won nothing. Please finish the job from all of Wexford. The county needs another boost.
Oulart have struggled yet overcome every hurdle. Titanic battles with Kilkenny and Offaly clubs only to continually fall at the final hurdle. Surely they sh*t has to come in at some point ?

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2627 - 28/11/2015 09:38:42    1810309

This is an Oulart team full of quality. Pretty much every member has or does represent Wexford at some level. But, it's a team that's probably 3-4 years past it's prime. Traditionally I'd have no love for Oulart but I'd absolutely love to see them win it. Players like Rossiter,Roche,Stamp,Mythen are as good as anything hurling has produced in the last 20 years and have won nothing. Please finish the job from all of Wexford. The county needs another boost.
Oulart have struggled yet overcome every hurdle. Titanic battles with Kilkenny and Offaly clubs only to continually fall at the final hurdle. Surely the ship has to come in at some point ?

oops. Accidental bad word in the last post.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2627 - 28/11/2015 09:40:00    1810311

i do not like oulart on a local level but i absolutely hope they win this weekend.

if anything lads,the reason oulart lost in recent years was they have too many skillful hurlers but not enough big men who were primed for a dogfight in december.for me,the epitome of this was the day v mount leinster rangers when they just didnt have the stomach for battle like mlr did.the same could be said against kilcormac killoughey where the 2 healions were just up for a battle and cleared ball after ball after ball.

if any of those games were played in the middle of summer then i believe they would have won them.

i have huge respect for oulart and their players,they took club hurling to new level in wexford and the likes of rossiter,the jacobs,etc have represented club and county in a very sporting and honest manner.but there is no room for sentiment in sport.

i have to admit,turning up in carlow tomorrow shouting for oulart will be a strange expereince!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 28/11/2015 11:29:42    1810324

I think Oulart might pull it off tomorrow. The focus is on Cuala, Oulart have no pressure coming into the game. They must have been tempted to throw it all in having lost three finals in a row, 2011 to 2013, but showed great resilience to stick with it. Hope they do it tomorrow.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 28/11/2015 14:46:13    1810351

I would like to see Oulart win. Players like Rossiter, Rory Jacob, didnt get the reward for the effort they put in throughout their careers. It is a pitiful and pathetic Wexford person who wouldn't want to see them win tomorrow.
This is a big day for Wexford hurling, at least a win means our best club is better than Dublin's which is something.
Good luck Oulart. I never thought I would mutter those words.

Oulart would have won some of those finals if they werent played in the muck and slop and squalor of November or December. Summer hurling suits classy hurlers like Oulart have, they are not built for winter but I think that has changed with the addition of a few new players.

But I feel our elite clubs and elite club players deserve better.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 28/11/2015 15:52:18    1810359

Fifty fifty game today between Oulart and Cuala. Both teams loaded with inter county players so there should be nothing in it. Windy day so however wins the toss will have a big decision to make.

clonjon (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 29/11/2015 13:42:11    1810435

Looks like a decent strength wind for Oulart in first half.Hard to say,but they would need a 5-7 point lead at the break.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/11/2015 14:15:17    1810441

Hard luck Cuala,but well deserved win for the Wexford men.Paddy Power made me an offer i cudnt refuse.That'll pay for the Christmas turkey.Maybe a goose too.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/11/2015 15:26:21    1810453