Who's the favourite for Mayo hotseat ?

Interested to hear who posters think will be next Mayo manager.
Is there any chance JH will return?

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/10/2015 15:36:33    1795467

Stephen Rochford more than likely will get the job.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 03/10/2015 15:53:39    1795470

flaker,would he be widely considered best man for the job in Mayo?
Better option to outgoing managers?

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/10/2015 17:03:11    1795484

Players I think put forward James Horan to return or Stephen Rochford as the two. As a Galway man I'd be disappointed if Rochford up and left Corofin who are in a county final and probably view themselves to going close to another All Ireland. But it's probably to big a opportunity to turn down.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 03/10/2015 17:21:26    1795489

I think he would be, another young manager with a player focused attitude, really well thought of, doing great work in Galway, I have no doubt he will be the next manager.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 03/10/2015 19:10:00    1795517

In no particular order : John Maughan, Jim Mc Guinness, John Evans , Jack O Connor, James Horan. The players have placed massive pressure on themselves by ridding Holmes and Cnneallly. The County board in Mayo must be under huge pressure to get in the best possible manager. What happens to the manager though if the wheels fall off the cart again. In all reality Mc Stay should have got the job after Horan. That one was mind boggling !

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 03/10/2015 19:24:19    1795520

Not as mind boggling as you suggesting John Maughan and John Evans.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 03/10/2015 20:11:53    1795534

03/10/2015 19:24:19
moros
County: Roscommon

In no particular order : John Maughan, Jim Mc Guinness, John Evans , Jack O Connor, James Horan. The players have placed massive pressure on themselves by ridding Holmes and Cnneallly. The County board in Mayo must be under huge pressure to get in the best possible manager. What happens to the manager though if the wheels fall off the cart again. In all reality Mc Stay should have got the job after Horan. That one was mind boggling !
Moro's,
I'd agree there's pressure on all concerned now but I couldn't see a least 3 of those names getting the job.Maughan ,Mc Guinness or O Connor very unlikely and while Evans is a good manager I doubt if Mayo supporters would be excited with his appointment.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 04/10/2015 10:15:37    1795573

Flanker you took the bait fairly easy. no John Maughan or John Evans are a million miles away from the Mayo job. Ye should stay within County. Could be a poisoned chalice for an outsider

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 04/10/2015 11:18:41    1795584

Jack o connor would be a massive boost if they could get him, ask he can only say no.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 04/10/2015 11:24:52    1795587

moros
County: Roscommon

Flanker you took the bait fairly easy. no John Maughan or John Evans are a million miles away from the Mayo job. Ye should stay within County. Could be a poisoned chalice for an outsider

The bait? So you named some people you were serious about and then a couple you claim were jokes? Brilliant stuff

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 04/10/2015 11:58:56    1795593

Jack O'Connor is a teacher in South West Kerry, it would not be feasible for him to be manager of the Mayo team.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 04/10/2015 12:15:31    1795601

Chill out flaker. We took plenty of flak from ye lot this year. Just a bit a banter. Hope ye get yer house in order and get the best man for the job which imo would be James Horan. Would love us to draw Mayo in the first round of 2016 Connacht in next weeks draw. If Mc Hale and as looks the case Mc Stay are on the Ros line then any returning emigrant into Knock the day of the game would be scratching their heads to see so many Mayo men in Ros attire on the Ros sideline. Ye lot have our Man Andy Moran remember. I'll stop now! Just having the crack ! It's off season remember!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 04/10/2015 12:20:04    1795604

I am chilled I was just pointing out to you that if you want to make a sarcastic post, then don't include names of serious contenders!! Good luck.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 04/10/2015 13:16:15    1795614

Stephen Rochford as manager who will be advsied by James Horan who will in turn be advised by John Maughan who will be consulting John O Mahony etc etc, that should spread the blame out nicely and leave it very hard for anyone to be personally abused.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 04/10/2015 14:16:51    1795621

WHEN MAYO GET KNOCKED OUT OF THE CHAMPIONSHIP NEXT YEAR ARE
THE PLAYERS GOING TO HAVE ANOTHER VOTE OF CONFIDENCE ON MANAGEMENT
OR TAKE A LOOK AT THEMSELVES AND SAY MAYBE WE ARE NOT UP TO THE REQUIRED
STANDARD

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 04/10/2015 15:00:26    1795631

wfkerry
County: USA

WHEN MAYO GET KNOCKED OUT OF THE CHAMPIONSHIP NEXT YEAR ARE
THE PLAYERS GOING TO HAVE ANOTHER VOTE OF CONFIDENCE ON MANAGEMENT
OR TAKE A LOOK AT THEMSELVES AND SAY MAYBE WE ARE NOT UP TO THE REQUIRED
STANDARD

Probably not no, any other questions?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 04/10/2015 15:11:10    1795635

Don't ask Flaker questions. No one can question what's going on in Mayo according to him or have a bit of craic. Get a life bud!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 04/10/2015 20:30:48    1795733

Sorry he asked would there be a vote of no confidence again next year? I said no, simple really. The OTT reaction to this has been laughable. People comparing it to the Cork hurling situation. Get a grip lads, I said the other day that the managers would be smart enough to step aside and they did, time to move on.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 04/10/2015 21:00:31    1795749

It's nothing like the Cork situation

That's right

They had 3 All Ireland's to help back up their credentials

Proven winners

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/10/2015 21:24:20    1795763