Insult to Hurlers

You would hardly know that it's the All Ireland Hurling final this weekend with the column inches dominated both on here and in the National Press by the replay between Dublin and Mayo tomorrow. However leaving that aside I find it disgraceful that the GAA actually scheduled this game for Croke Park, with the biggest game of the year in hurling taking place less than 24 hours later. While I do believe that the weather is supposed to be okay this weekend, what if rained all day tomorrow, and the pitch got destroyed, leaving it bordering on unplayable for Sunday. Hurling at any level requires a decent surface, but the All Ireland final if anything requires the Croke Park pitch to be in the best condition possible, and only by virtue of the fact that it is due to be dry this weekend, will the GAA get lucky with the condition of the pitch. This game should either have been played the week after the hurling final, or in Thurles, but as per usual the GAA just saw the opportunity for a cash windfall, and to hell with the hurling final.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 04/09/2015 16:43:48    1782268

Hoganstand has always been a football forum with a bit of hurling
Dont ask me why, just has always been the way

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/09/2015 16:54:17    1782276

Gilly it is not a cash decision, it is a practical one, but sadly it does take away from the Hurling, especially with the Dubs in it.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 04/09/2015 16:57:58    1782281

You are bang on. I think in addition they should move the minors to Parnell Park also so the pitch will be fine for the senior hurlers only. Maybe they could move the football replay to Limerick for old time's sake.

Seriously though, get a grip, 70 minutes the day before is hardly going to destroy the pitch.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 04/09/2015 17:01:10    1782284

I agree regarding the press, there's been very little this week but when it comes to HS, the topics up for discussion here are started by us, the general public. If you want more discussions about the All Ireland hurling final all you needed to do was start one.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 04/09/2015 17:05:27    1782287

Gilly, with regard to the column inches it's unfortunate but in fairness fairly inevitable. That game is promising to be a real doozy and as the most county with the largest population and the county with the noisiest fans are involved there was guaranteed to be a lot of coverage.(Nisiest fans is not meant as a dig at Mayo. OK. I take it back, it was absolutely a dig. Couldn't resist. I've been nice for far too long).

But your point about the playing surface is absolutely spot on. It's the showcase hurling game of the year and the GAA gave not one thought to what state the surface would be in following what should be an incredibly physical game of football. And they wonder why hurling isn't more popular...

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 04/09/2015 17:33:52    1782313

Liamwalkinstown is spot on there. Way more excitement and discussion on here about football but its easy to realize why. Its the most popular game in the country and the Dubs always go very far cause they have a fantastic team at the moment and probably will always be in with a chance every year.

The Limerick forum is hurling dominated so I'm happy out there. Was never much good at football but can see why the discussion is so popular as the game last week generated so much discussion for it being so close.

Also i have about 3 millions reasons why this game is on at croke park this weekend. aside from the bumper crowd there could hardly move the game forward either as kerry are waiting patiently for an opponent.

Fishermantom (Limerick) - Posts: 569 - 04/09/2015 17:57:48    1782327

It's a game of football, not synchronized JCB driving.

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 04/09/2015 18:23:00    1782338

I am 50/50 in terms of hurling and football and being honest the football game has way more appeal to me. It is two evenly matched teams going head-to-head. There is nothing between them as previous results have shown in the championship.

The hurling game is possibly between to evenly match teams but not certainly. Previous results (including this year) in the championship show that KK could give Galway a hiding on Sunday as they have done to Galway (and pretty much everybody else) numerous times. They are going for their 11th title in 16 years. Fair play to them but that is not exactly going to get the neutral excited.

If Mayo v Dublin was not on, then hurling would get centre stage. However, this year there is a bigger show in town and its on tomorrow. That is how I see it at least.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 04/09/2015 19:12:59    1782358

Not a hope, just see the viewing figures, there'll be way more watching the hurling

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 04/09/2015 19:42:01    1782377

I think bennybunny has summed it up pretty well

I love hurling but tomorrows game has me well excited - cant wait for it

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 04/09/2015 19:55:42    1782384

I love both games but as another poster said I'm way more excited about the football tomorrow.

All the controversy about last weeks clash has added to it whereas there doesn't seem to be much spice to the hurling in comparison.

Unfortunate that the clash has happened but there is little that can be done about it.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 04/09/2015 21:57:23    1782429

Don't think anything could begrudge all the headlines about today's football game. All set up for a classic.
Goals, Points, black cards, red cards, yellow cards, brolly, Spillane, lyster, then u have aiden o shea and Diarmuid Connolly.
It's a PR dream.

61123 (Wicklow) - Posts: 172 - 05/09/2015 08:30:16    1782445

wouldn't be too worried about the pitch. look at the amount of games played in thurles this year over weekends and the pitch was perfect. Why the GAA don't redevelop thurles to the size of croke park and play all championship hurling games there i will never know. redeveloping stadiums like pairc ui chaoimh etc is beyond comprehension.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 05/09/2015 10:18:15    1782542

Yes its a PR dream alright but are we going to see any good football? Ive never heard so much talk about a match that was so poor in quality. In fact Ive heard hardly any discussion on the football played during the match. There are so many side show the main stage has been lost. However it is hard not to be sucked in by all the hype, its the Dublin factor really. Im sure the hurling will have all the quality, albeit with less talking points.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 05/09/2015 10:27:34    1782558

Yeh fishermantom thats because hurling is a skillful art when played right. where as football is so simple. theres no skill at all involed. Just
pass and pass. Dont get wrong it was an intresting game 20 years ago when lads could kick a ball.

hogan35 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 93 - 05/09/2015 10:28:49    1782560

I'm actually looking forward to tomorrow's match more, probably because I last played football about ten years ago, but I enjoyed the craic and the rigmarole about the football this week. Especially now that it all worked for us ;-)

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 05/09/2015 10:48:40    1782591

hogan35
County: Kilkenny

Yeh fishermantom thats because hurling is a skillful art when played right. where as football is so simple. theres no skill at all involed. Just
pass and pass. Dont get wrong it was an intresting game 20 years ago when lads could kick a ball.

The players are much more skilful these days.

Football is a much more difficult game to play now than it was 20 years ago.You got space to do what you liked 20 years ago so it was easier to look like a good footballer back then.It's a bit tougher these days.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 05/09/2015 10:56:24    1782601

Imagine how the women footballers feel.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/09/2015 10:56:54    1782603

If the LGFA don't like it they can build their own stadium

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 05/09/2015 11:05:32    1782617