McEnaney's Discrimination Remarks

In an interview the Monaghan man said: "As someone would say, that's how people in Ballymun walk anyway."

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=243611

I think from somebody who occupied the position of Chairman of National Referee Committee
these comments are disgraceful and clearly discriminating against an entire area
you would have to wonder if ref's have already formed opinions on certain players before taking to the field
Whatever he thinks about an incident involving a player
he has no grounds to use where a person is from to demean them.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/09/2015 14:33:02    1781327

Stupid comments and an even worse defence. 'Someone else said it to me'.

Then you repeated it, therefore, you said it. He should be reprimanded.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/09/2015 15:03:12    1781359

Jaysus only read them there!!

Lost a lot of respect for him due to the lack of apology. We've all said stupid things off the cuff or whatever but given time to reflect on them and not to apologise is not right.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 03/09/2015 15:35:27    1781389

Get off yer high horses, he was 100% right!

xxB3B0Stunnahxx (USA) - Posts: 94 - 03/09/2015 16:07:10    1781434

Lads it was a joke and quiet a funny one as well , maybe he should not have said it but get a bit of backbone .

tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 03/09/2015 16:11:59    1781443

hill16no1man

1781327 In an interview the Monaghan man said: "As someone would say, that's how people in Ballymun walk anyway."

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=243611

I think from somebody who occupied the position of Chairman of National Referee Committee
these comments are disgraceful and clearly discriminating against an entire area
you would have to wonder if ref's have already formed opinions on certain players before taking to the field
Whatever he thinks about an incident involving a player
he has no grounds to use where a person is from to demean them.

Jesus will you lighten up. Sometimes I despair of people in this country. It seems that some people are just looking for cause to be offended and outraged. Then cue furore. Pat McEnaney made an off the cuff remark . So what. It was a remark similar in tone to the "culchie" remarks made by Dublin people in relation to their country brethren. No more and no less. Can we please park the ridiculous outrage and offense and get a life.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 03/09/2015 17:09:12    1781509

It was meant as a joke - I'm fairly sure Pat would have funny things to say about people from most towns/counties
When people were offended he might have saved himself some bother and apologised. I think that the politician (as politicans do) is just trying to get some publicity and make a name for himself.

As a culchie working in Dublin I get loads of good natured abuse (about my accent, diesel laundering, sheep! etc...) and I give it back with interest - because it's all in the spirit of a bit of craic. For me its all about the intention and I think he was trying to be humorous. I actually respect him more for not apologising - its all political correctness gone mad.

Gaels from Ballymun should be proud of where they're from and the players they produced. If anything being over-sensitive shows a lack of confidence.

Cherno_Samba (Louth) - Posts: 632 - 03/09/2015 17:09:28    1781511

Hear, hear Cherno... That politician is looking for a few votes, he's out canvassing already for a general election I believe. Just wants his name heard. Let him belt away.

xxB3B0Stunnahxx (USA) - Posts: 94 - 03/09/2015 17:22:44    1781531

no harm in telling a few home truths ;-)

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 03/09/2015 17:42:28    1781548

....don't think Pat mind's the attention this has created...no apology will ever come....unless this would create another media furore and get him more publicity

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 03/09/2015 17:52:06    1781561

It's ironic that he should find himself in hot water for commenting on an incident that didn't actually happen. Not only did he get the allegation against Philly wrong he managed to insult the good people of Ballymun also. Pin this up in the dressing room Jim. If it wasn't bad enough that the ref's are against us, we now have ill informed and ill judged statements coming from the chairman of the referees committee. An apology costs nothing Pat.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/09/2015 18:01:12    1781565

Huh huh, he mightnt be far off, I got stitched a loaf there twice! For me thats more than anyplace in the world, barr the city centre

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 03/09/2015 18:38:03    1781592

I thought the Tyrone supporters were the only ones who did outrage and offence . Seems I was wrong .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 03/09/2015 19:16:17    1781603

Spare me! Seriously, some Dubs taking offence at a light hearted, good natured remark? I thought they were a lot tougher and thicker skinned than this. Also a bit of hypocrisy going on. So it's OK to say "Culchie this, Culchie that, Nordie so and so's etc" but can't take a bit of humour when it goes the other way? If you can't take it don't give it out.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 03/09/2015 19:39:27    1781611

I AM OUTRAGED AND OFFENDED!!!

Seriously, it was a joke, just get over it ffs.

Steve (Fermanagh) - Posts: 293 - 03/09/2015 19:46:17    1781614

if he was talking about somebody because of their sexual orientation
or their skin colour or if they were a member of the traveler community
or what religion they were belong to and degrading them
their would be uproar on here
but its ok to use where somebody is from in a degrading manner
ye feel?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/09/2015 19:49:02    1781616

He was wrong end of story. He should not have said it and should apologise!

Molaise (Fermanagh) - Posts: 96 - 03/09/2015 19:57:06    1781623

I thought is was a hilarious comment and shows that Pat has a great sense of humour. The problem is the dubs can dish it out but can't take it.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 03/09/2015 20:01:29    1781628

No worse than saying as Colm O'Rouke said that theres a bad smell coming off Tyrone wans ...Outrageous

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 03/09/2015 20:13:37    1781636

Wise up Hill. That is the point that people are making . He didn't mention any of those issues you refer to . Pat McEnaney made a light hearted, off the cuff remark . That remark was very similar in tone to the culchie remarks you and your fellow Dubliners make about country people . Catch yourself on and drop your faux outrage . It is ridiculous .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 03/09/2015 20:18:22    1781637