Kerry v Kildare

It's been a while since we took on Kildare in the championship. '98 semi-final and '02 qualifier stand out.

Impressive win by Kildare in the Qualifier Round 4A clash against the Munster runners-up. Much more impressive performance than managed by the Kingdom against the same opponent.

3 of the last 6 All-Ireland champions have gone out in the quarter-finals and the other 3 in the semi-finals. Kerry are heading into the danger zone for defending champions where a hungrier opponent as Down showed in '10 can end your championship.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7806 - 25/07/2015 21:52:11    1758965

Problem with Kildare is they will not catch Kerry off the hop.My advice for Kildare would be GO FOR IT!,but I think Kerry will put up a performance(haven't performed well at all so far imo)and Kildares win over Cork will be good motivation for Fitzmaurice.Kerry to grab a few goals,and win by 8-10 points.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/07/2015 22:00:22    1758973

Ziggy
If you go back to the QF of 2010 down caught Kerry on the hop and indeed Kerry at no stage looked like winning
If Kildare play the way they played last night they have every chance of beating Kerry I honestly think they will expose the Kerry back line plus they have an outstanding midfield pairing.
I'm going for a Kildare win as I think this record of Kerry getting to semifinals/ finals will end next Sunday.
I think that if Cork had have beaten Kerry the first day then Kildare would have beaten Kerry last night
I think Kildare underperform againstdublin ( bit like ourselves against Monaghan) but I take them to win next Sunday

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 26/07/2015 09:20:20    1758986

Kildare V Kerry, the two teams who invented the game meeting in a quarter final, looking forward to testing the young lilies against the All Ireland Champions.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 26/07/2015 09:36:04    1758994

From a Kildare perspective its great to be involved at this stage again. The business end of championship is where you want to be & I already cant wait to get my ticket and head up to Croker next Sunday. I think Kerry will have too much for us, up front in particular. There was times last night when Cork did open us up and I think a higher calibre of players like Donaghy, JOD & Gooch would exploit that. Looking forward to it though and this will be a massive learning curve for our young team.

ShortGrass_1 (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 26/07/2015 10:50:13    1759032

Kildare have the momentum but Kerry have the streetwise mindset, would love to see Kildare upset the odds but this Kerry, Croke park, in August.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/07/2015 11:01:39    1759040

Well I honestly did not see this coming about.

Its been many a year since we took on the Lillywhites, but its a pairing with a huge historical dimension.

The Kerry v Kildare three match All Ireland sage for the 1903 final is what catapulted the GAA and Gaelic football into the Irish public's mind. The combined attendance was over 60,000! To put it into context, for years before the attendance record for any sporting event in Ireland was an Irish rugby international match against Scotland when 10,000 showed up.

They were also the great rivalries of Kerry during many a hard fought championship and (newly created) national league battle during the mid to late 1920s when Kerry was gearing up for its historic 4 in a row, which they started by beating Kildare in 1929.

Hard to believe a proud football county like that hasn't won an All Ireland since they took home the inaugural Sam Maguire in 1928.

I'm looking forward to the history and the modern day novelty of this pairing, and considering the girlfriend's from Naas, it will make for an interesting weekend!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/07/2015 11:29:18    1759053

Having watched Kildare last night, there is no doubt in my mind they are warm favourites and it will take a huge performance to get past them next Sunday.

While we just squeezed past the Rebels after 140 minutes, the Lilywhites just blew the Rebels away and had the game won after 40. It just goes to show when are not playing the fearsome, invincible blue juggernaut they are a very fine side and I am both scared and excited at the prospect of meeting the Lilywhites. I underestimated them a few weeks ago in not putting in my 'main contenders' for the No 2 side in Ireland but they are certainly now in that list!

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 26/07/2015 11:45:00    1759064

Kildare get stuck into them this is no great Kerry team believe like last night they were blessed to get a draw against Cork and look what you's did to Cork #believe.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/07/2015 11:54:33    1759075

Delighted for Kildare , honestly didnt see them doing it , of course Kerry are rightful favourites , for me I hope the ref has a good game , certain players for Kerry have been getting away with murder recently , Kildare will need a bit of luck to get through .
The recent hammerings from ourselves will actually help in that they know they will need a quick start , they will not peg back Kerry if Kerry get a run on them .
Match first 20 mins crucial .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/07/2015 12:19:08    1759089

I have some great friends from Kerry, and I think the love of football in both counties, was founded in the early days of the GAA. Unfortunately for Kildare, we became a sleeping giant, whilst Kerry went on to rule the roost.

I can't see any negative tactics being applied from either side next week, Kerry have the better more experienced players, and truly deserve to be all Ireland Champions, all Kildare can do is try out their young guns and give it a lash.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 26/07/2015 12:36:47    1759092

Fair play to Kildare but nobody will give them a chance v Kerry in Croker.
Also,puts to bed any talk of Munster being a competitive province.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 26/07/2015 12:37:20    1759093

Agree with Damothedub, Kerry know how to bury you in the first quarter, if Kildare spend even the first 5 minutes standing off Kerry and being overawed by the occasion, they're goners.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 26/07/2015 12:49:09    1759098

If game is played man om man , i think Kildare have the players to do it. But Kerry are too clever and wont let this happen , Hopefully the ref has his eyes open for this one, Kerry will make it very hard hard for Kildare to play football ,lads blocking and pulling off the ball when ref isnt looking, Kerry will probably grind out a win in this one, but Kildare if let play have every chance.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 26/07/2015 13:20:59    1759118

Kerry to win by at least 15pts while resting some of their best players

leftback (Limerick) - Posts: 64 - 26/07/2015 13:49:06    1759133

Kildare just need to keep their focus. Play to their strengths. Their running game was very slick yesterday tho not many cork hands went in. They need to not let Kerry get Up in their faces which we all know they are masters of. I tip it 60/40 in Kerry's favour but hopeful Kildare can pull it off. Wouldn't surprise me if they do.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/07/2015 14:23:50    1759150

Good auld Clondalkin and Jackeen unable to hide the auld jealousy of all things Kerry.
Clondalkin isn't funny how we an average team wins an all Ireland?
Even our average teams can win Sam.
As for the game itself, Kildare have a bit of momentum and confidence.
Will be a tougher game then westmeath or Fermanagh would have offered so I'm happy with that.
Would rather that than Dublin going into a semi half cooked against mayo/donegal. ( can't see them loosing to Galway)

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 26/07/2015 14:35:53    1759156

Beating Cork was great, and the talk beforehand maybe didn't take account of our championship form last year; we Down at home by 10 points and Monaghan were lucky to take us into extra time.

By far the most encouraging thing has been the return of the team's unity of purpose which sank without trace during the league.

But beating Kerry & Cork back to back? Without Dan Flynn, Darryl Flynn, Sean Hurley, Paddy Brophy, Tomás O'Connor, Keith Crobbin, Hugh McGrillen, Darroch Mulhall or our injured captain Leper? That's 9 players. NINE! Nope. Not realistic.

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 26/07/2015 14:38:15    1759158

Ah yes westkerry your paranoia knows no bounds. I will always support a Leinster team over any other team. Possibly an alien concept to you but sure it is what it is.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/07/2015 14:50:07    1759162

We'll have to bring our A game next Sunday if we are to stay with a younger and super fit Kildare team,. Kildare have picked up a lot of expierence and confidence through the back door and in fairness we are sitting ducks , it is going to take every bit of cunning and reff plamaucing and cheating that we can muster to beat this Kildare team, we need to get stuck into the reff early in the week get some of our former players to soften him up who ever he is, even though I'm sure our county chairman has picked who it'l be all ready and the old hamper will probably be deliverd first thing in the morning by the bomber and ogie . Anyway I'm puff to practice my excuses for when we lose.
God bless and take care.
An Rìocht Abu.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/07/2015 14:53:30    1759163