GAA matches clashing with rugby

Just seen that meath v roscommon game is moved to 1pm to give supporters chance run to pub and watch ireland v england game. Why is the rest of the countys trying to organise the same

MeathOnHill16 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 23/02/2015 17:51:07    1696067

Fair play to the Meath and Roscommon CBs for accomadating their mainly (it seems) west-Brit, egg chasing sets of supporters ;).

It makes sense in fairness............

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 23/02/2015 17:58:44    1696070

GAA supporters must be the only ones in the world who give out about their matches clashing with other sports. It's pathetic.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 23/02/2015 18:04:53    1696073

MeathOnHill16

Just seen that meath v roscommon game is moved to 1pm to give supporters chance run to pub and watch ireland v england game. Why is the rest of the countys trying to organise the same

-----
Is Big Joe still connected to the Meath panel? He may be insisting upon seeing the match.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/02/2015 18:35:24    1696087

Very good Mes :-)

Ah Mike, we are back on the same side!

At this time of the year with daylight as it is, games have to be at times set. Are they supposed to play Dublin/Kerry or Cork/Donegal at 11am in the morning?

Games have clashed before - including a Dublin/Kerry game down in the Kingdom and there was still a big crowd including 2/3,000 from Dublin.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/02/2015 18:35:45    1696088

The time is coming --and it's not too far away -- when the GAA will become a feeder organisation for rugby. We are at the beginning of cultural change. The mighty oak of professional sport inevitably grows and dominates kindred amateur sports once it has put down deep roots in a country. Soccer was never able to do that here but rugby has. Maybe DeValera was right when he said "rugby suits the temperament of the Irish".

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 23/02/2015 18:36:15    1696089

Attendances will be down if they don't move the games. The die hards will go and if the GAA just want to cater for them then that's ok and maybe correct, but there are many casual GAA fans who will choose to watch the rugby if there is a clash.

The league attendances are relatively small anyways and the league isn't the be all and end all, so no big deal either way, but I remember the Ulster council refusing to move a Donegal vs Derry game I think in 2002 when Ireland were playing Spain in the World Cup. Now that was madness and only a few thousand showed up.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 23/02/2015 19:19:48    1696102

PoolSturgeon

The time is coming --and it's not too far away -- when the GAA will become a feeder organisation for rugby. We are at the beginning of cultural change. The mighty oak of professional sport inevitably grows and dominates kindred amateur sports once it has put down deep roots in a country. Soccer was never able to do that here but rugby has. Maybe DeValera was right when he said "rugby suits the temperament of the Irish".

When there are more rugby clubs in Ireland than GAA clubs in Cork then maybe you might then have a point.

GAA and soccer a long way ahead of rugby. Both are sports for all which helps them I think.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 23/02/2015 19:25:33    1696106

county man
County: Limerick

The league attendances are relatively small anyways and the league isn't the be all and end all, so no big deal either way, but I remember the Ulster council refusing to move a Donegal vs Derry game I think in 2002 when Ireland were playing Spain in the World Cup. Now that was madness and only a few thousand showed up.

A massive difference between an Ireland England rugby match that happens every year and a once in a lifetime Ireland soccer World Cup match!!

There'll be very little, if any, drop in attendance at the majority of league matches. The casual fans watching on TV might switch over to the rugger but that'll be it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 23/02/2015 19:30:43    1696107

Mike03 are you saying it's pathetic to like more than one sport?? I think it's your backward attitude that's pathetic

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 23/02/2015 19:45:14    1696111

In fairness it's a good call, I know a lot of Gaa fans don't care for rugby but then again a lot of others do, myself included, now of course some people will say that the Gaa shouldn't have to accommodate for other sports but it probably makes more financial sense for them if they do.

county man

but I remember the Ulster council refusing to move a Donegal vs Derry game I think in 2002 when Ireland were playing Spain in the World Cup. Now that was madness and only a few thousand showed up.

Ye I'll never forget that one, that was a crazy decision, Ireland rarely qualifies for the world cup as it is and we were playing a KO game that day, madness.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/02/2015 19:46:47    1696112

Is Big Joe still connected to the Meath panel? He may be insisting upon seeing the match

Maybe not Joxer, Maybe Joe schimdt saw some old footage of him and decided to start him

optimist (Louth) - Posts: 175 - 23/02/2015 19:46:59    1696113

If both can be accommodated then why not. Think quite a few GAA fans would also like to see the rugby. Joxer Joe wanted the Meath/Roscommon game played as part of a double header with Ireland/England. maybe play a half for both games

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 23/02/2015 19:53:24    1696115

Unfortunate but hey that' Sky plus is for

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 23/02/2015 19:58:57    1696123

Blackspot Im not saying it's pathetic to like more than 1 sport. I like Jennifer Aniston and Jennifer Lopez. I wouldn't expect to be in bed with the 2 of them at the same time. Id have to choose one. And I wouldn't expect the other one to be changing her schedule to fit around mine.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 23/02/2015 20:03:48    1696125

seadog54

If both can be accommodated then why not. Think quite a few GAA fans would also like to see the rugby. Joxer Joe wanted the Meath/Roscommon game played as part of a double header with Ireland/England. maybe play a half for both games

----
Ha, very good. There's no show like a Joe show and on the double he would draw a bigger crowd than Garth Brooks himself.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/02/2015 20:06:02    1696127

Mesamis, there will be no uproar if the league games aren't moved but that is more to do with the status of the league rather than the Ireland vs England match. It does happen every year but it is only once a year and both teams going for the championship means there is huge interest in it.

There will have to be some drop in attendance if it clashes with league games. The die hards will go but there are alot of casual GAA fans who would have gone to the games if they didn't clash with the Ireland match. I'm not saying the games should be moved but there will be a drop in attendances.

As Blackspot says it is possible to be a supporter of more than 1 sport...

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 23/02/2015 20:08:07    1696128

why are you on this site mike if you think gaa supporters are pathetic?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 23/02/2015 20:27:13    1696132

Fabio, I do you are taking Mike up wrongly. He is criticising those who want the league games moved.

As I said before, a Dublin Kerry match in Kerry clashed with a rugby international 2/3 years ago and there was still a big crowd. There was a Dublin match in Parnell last year that partly coincided with Ireland v France and likewise no discernible impact. I would watch the rugby but not in preference to Dubs. Is that so bizarre? Obviously there are thousands of Kerry, Donegal, and other supporters who will do likewise.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/02/2015 20:53:05    1696144

wouldnt care about the rugby myself hurlindub if my own county were playing...not there for the glamour...if was wouldnt be following gaa....maybe i have

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 23/02/2015 21:03:10    1696148