Bentley scores a hat trick

Of points that is (two of them from frees) in his gaelic football debut.
Ex pro footballer darren bentley has tried his hand at gaelic football, with aaron kernan going the other way.
Should be interesting to see how aaron gets on. Wish him the best, and hope he does the gah proud.
however I dont think that GAA players have reached professional fitness levels yet (its probably not possible if you have to hold down a job at the same time), but how do ye think GAA players would get on in other sports. for example Id like too see how ronaldo would get on if he had Tyrell, Delaney or Murphy gnashing at him for 70 minutes. Id dont think hed fancy it to be honest.
Would paul o connell outlast Paddy mcbrearty in a marathon? would john the bull hayes do 100 metres quicker than lar corbett?
Im not so sure.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 19/02/2015 11:57:08    1694930

Seriously the comparisons in this opening post are nothing short of rediculous

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 19/02/2015 12:45:23    1694953

A good man to hit a 45. The new Oisin McConville :)

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 19/02/2015 12:58:59    1694962

Well it is safe to say kernan wont score a hat trick in his first game anyway! It was good going in fairness to the guy.

Also, the guy's name is David Bentley...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/02/2015 13:01:52    1694964

No doubt Corbett would do the 100m faster than John Hayes but that's a pointless comparison - a hurling speed merchant vs a slow rugby power house. A Tommy Bowe, Simon Zebo, Cathal Naughton and Jack McCaffery 100m would be interesting, throw in a few soccer lads as well.

A track and field event for our sports stars with the proceeds to go to charity. I'd say that would garner some interest.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 19/02/2015 13:08:33    1694970

It would be like the old superstars all over again!!!!!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 19/02/2015 13:33:49    1694982

Hmm i wonder will a few young bentleys be playing with Crossmaglen in 17/18 years time even if he is long gone himself!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 19/02/2015 13:36:57    1694986

It is an interesting idea this and by all accounts he acquitted himself well. The idea to have an 'All Stars' fundraiser is a good one, similar to the old thing they ran back in the day, The Superstars!! [url=]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZUJ_bV2eHk

RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 19/02/2015 13:37:41    1694987

lar corbett v john hayes in a sprint?..what planet are you living on?..one thing gaa players are ideally suited for is long endurance...on the ronaldo point i think he would be alright at football certainly once he got the hang of it..incredibly athlete and skillful so normally translates with soccer and gaelic football...wouldnt underestimate a soccer players toughness either especially the elite 1s..would be well able to look after themselves

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 19/02/2015 14:07:50    1694997

Fair play to him, seems like a really good idea for the show.
Interested to see how Tyrell gets on at the baseball.

Would love to know if anybody was at the game and how he really played?
I find it hard to really hard to believe it was a proper match, maybe one for him to bed into the game and take a couple of scores for the cameras.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 19/02/2015 14:11:49    1695001

Jon carter you must have too much time on your hands man.. David Bentley was excellent at putting the ball over the bar when he was with Spurs as well!!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 19/02/2015 14:20:28    1695005

It was just a local challenge match, bentley took his scores well put made a few dodgy passes as far as I've been told. He's the first wob to wear a rangers jersey and i'd say the last.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 19/02/2015 14:51:18    1695016

I wonder how he will cope if Francie Bellew is marking him in training?

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 19/02/2015 15:36:54    1695046

I think that Aaron Keirnan will show his fitness to be well abouve average among the soccer players. The 2 things that may let him down in the long run are speed and soccer skill (specifically touch), which is a much more refined business than the skill of playing gaelic football. Also, the use of the hand pass might have blunted his kicking skills a bit, but it will be very interesting to see how he gets on all the same.

I think it is a great idea, and this program shows how much things have moved on from the bad old days in the north.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/02/2015 19:15:24    1695107

What was his fitness levels like does anybody know? Seeing that he retired from Soccer I would think it would have been tough even if it was only a challenge match

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 19/02/2015 19:21:19    1695111

Fair play to the guy for being game. I'd say his fitness levels were OK - he's only recently retired and face it, if you knew you had let yourself go a bit, you'd hardly be inviting TV scrutiny of yourself. Anyway, a good sport and up for the crack - more open-minded about Gaelic football than certain Irish soccer players / supporters would ever be. Plenty of soccer guys I met in Dublin would have swallowed weed killer quicker than be associated with what they routinely describe as the 'bog ballers' / 'muck savages'!

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 19/02/2015 19:50:03    1695125

Wise up fabio8,Rinaldo look after himself,sure he wouldn't even wear a helmet to start with.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/02/2015 20:05:21    1695136

I think it's fair to say there isn't many GAA, Soccer or Rugby players in the country that would keep up with Corbett over 100 metres never mind John Hayes.

Really looking forward to seeing Jackie batting. I always wondered would a hurler have the eye for for the likes of baseball and cricket.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 19/02/2015 21:39:36    1695169

bit misleading with bentley as two of them 3 points came from frees
which would be no differant to him from soccer really.
plus kernan is going over to play with spurs
bentley played with a club team here
be a lot more level comparison if he was thrown into an inter county set up

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/02/2015 08:17:28    1695189

Also, the use of the hand pass might have blunted his kicking skills a bit

I'd say you'd struggle to find a team in Ireland who kick the ball as much as Cross, They're not so much into the handpassing and possession for possessions sake as most other teams.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 20/02/2015 08:45:52    1695195