New jerseys

See Mayo wanting to look like Sligo; and Carlow turning into Mayo

Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 209 - 31/01/2015 16:18:08    1688364

Like them both I must say, something different, long past the time that away jersies should be a bit more inventive than just a reversal of the normal jersey!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/01/2015 16:32:05    1688372

No excuse in this day and age to not having an innovative design to county jerseys. Given the materials and technology - no excuse at all, even Antrim could be made look cool.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 31/01/2015 18:31:38    1688408

The mayo away jersey is nice all right but does it look a bit rugbyish ? And the Carlow jersey does look like the old mayo away one .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/01/2015 18:39:54    1688415

I seen a lot of people on social media giving out about the new Mayo jersey cause their traditional colours are not featured. Seriously people get a grip, its innovative and certainly looks nice

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 31/01/2015 18:47:27    1688420

A bit 'rugbyish' KIngdomboy? You mean skintight, designed to show off the physique. I see your point there alright. A lad I worked with used to always say the old GAA county jersies looked cheap. Like someone had ironed on the crests and sponsors logos and they were flimsy enough. He wasn't a rugby man by any means but liked the way their jersies looked like they can take a bit of wear and tear and the badges ans sponsors logos were stitched in to most rugby jersies. A few years ago you'd be able to spot a GA, Soccer or Rugby jersey a mile off. Is it me or are they starting to look a bit like each other now ? The replica rugby jersies through are still sturdy and they're all over-priced. Social media observers that don't see the Green and Red featured on the new jersey should be checked for colour blindness. Just looking for an excuse to give out about a jersey that's moving with the times.

It took me a long time to bite the bullet and buy the last jersey, didn't like the 'modern soccer-looking' (in my own head), design. I know lads who still wear the Genfitt to games and I still love them old jersies, proper traditional jersies. Can always tell the hipster at a game wearing the Retro GAA jersey ! I asked for a 50 euro Elverys voucher at Christmas to help funding the new jersey. Can't wait to get it but it'll have to be large or extra large because my aging physique is nothing to admire !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 31/01/2015 20:05:52    1688462

Is this another case of Mayo trying anything to change their fortune. Their jersey was predominantly green in the past, then changed to predominantly red and now predominantly neither. I couldn't imagine Kilkenny or kerry doing something similar.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 31/01/2015 21:35:17    1688532

I'd say me aul mates Jimmy Keavney and Joe McNally are glad the tight fits weren't around back in the day, no offence lads :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 31/01/2015 21:54:47    1688540

We've always had a predominantly green home/first choice jersey Zulu. The mainly red jersies were the 2nd jersey.

As for changing the jersey to try and change our fortunes, that'd be like saying there might be some sort of psychological weakness after losing 7 All Irelands, a ridiculous notion indeed !

I'll be cautiously optimistic and look to good omens like the last time Connelly and Holmes named Keith Higgins Mayo captain it worked out alright.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 31/01/2015 21:59:23    1688542

ZUL10
County: Clare

Is this another case of Mayo trying anything to change their fortune. Their jersey was predominantly green in the past, then changed to predominantly red and now predominantly neither. I couldn't imagine Kilkenny or kerry doing something similar.

The last time they won an All Ireland they wore the white of Connacht so maybe that's what they should play in! They've never worn a predominantly red jersey as a home strip though.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 01/02/2015 10:53:25    1688599

No excuse in this day and age to not having an innovative design to county jerseys. Given the materials and technology - no excuse at all, even Antrim could be made look cool.

Wash your mouth out sir. We have always had nice jerseys and the new one is no exception. Nice two tone saffron hoops running down the top with every club crest incorporated in to the area above the white bar and the Adidas style stripes down the site. Trend setting.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/02/2015 11:11:19    1688604

Mayo are not the only team to have diff colour away jersey
Kerry have blue and are green and gold
Donegal have white and yellow and are green and yellow
Kildare have dark green and are Lilly white s
Down have yellow and black and are red and black
And I rem when Galway played Westmeath one was wearing green as away kit
So it's not just mayo plus all the team s I named the jersey s are nice and maybe more teams I hav nt named
So it's no big deal and mayo s main jersey will always be green and red
I think the New Jersey is class and we never had any luck when played in red too
It's 2015 and times are changing so lets be

Vman (Mayo) - Posts: 39 - 01/02/2015 11:32:53    1688612

While I love what Mayo have done here and gone a little "out there" with their choice of away shirt - I must confess I'm not a fan of the design.

Its similar to that of the regular training gear used by GAA teams over the last few years. I'm sure there's better designs out there!

..but fair play to them for breaking the trend. I'm sure they will get it right soon

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 01/02/2015 17:27:02    1688752

Ban

I would agree with that 100%. If your going to break from tradition do it in style (except Stade Francais/Leinster/Connaught pink)

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 02/02/2015 08:49:40    1689014

ZUL10

Ah come on, it's a jersey... More like mayo trying to increase their revenues. If you like it buy it. If you don't, buy it as an ironic protest. Either way, just buy it...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/02/2015 09:18:49    1689023

player fit jerseys are a brilliant addition
if the ladies can do the little black dress
us masculine machines should get to show off our physiques

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/02/2015 12:04:02    1689122

Does anyone know if counties get a % on each jersey that is sold? I am assuming that they do.....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 02/02/2015 12:31:36    1689141

I suppose New York will never have to worry about an away jersey? Unless of course they travel to Boston, Philadelphia or Chicago :) I think the Mayo strip is alright as a casual display or training gear. But I believe there should be some semblance of the 'Green & Red' of Mayo and not just the county crest. I am not an old fashioned type, I admire the Kerry blue jersey, it does keep a bit of their 'green n gold' on display.

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 02/02/2015 15:54:47    1689270

A clear move towards a rugby type jersey which is disappointing. Does every single gaa garment have to be without a collor?? Even the iconic Kerry Jersey has its collar yanked from it and it looks the poorer for it. At this moment in time,the Dublin jersey is by far the best looking jersey on the Market. Laois's jersey last year is also impressive.

Stand up for our collars people!!

buckshot (Donegal) - Posts: 185 - 02/02/2015 16:55:34    1689313

Vman you are on the button. Typically when we play Westmeath they wear the green of Leinster and we the white of Connacht (which is likely to be the case this Sunday in Mullingar). To slightly confuse this trend I remember attending our league match with them in Mullingar early noughties and they had their home maroon jersey but we togged in a knacky green jersey. Did our form no harm as Savo scored a classic goal helping us to a decent win.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 03/02/2015 11:05:00    1689518