Star - Brolly & O'Shea...

'Star' says Brolly riled him: http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=226096

Kieran Donaghy has revealed how criticism from Joe Brolly spurred him on this summer.

The former Footballer of the Year came in from the cold to play a starring role in Kerry's All-Ireland success last month and roared to the TV cameras after the final victory over Donegal: "How do you like that, Joe Brolly?"

---------------------------------------------------------------

Donaghy was on our local radio station Radio Kerry during the week. He had a comment to make on the Mayo drawn game:

"Do you know where the spite came from? It's a funny one but Aidan O'Shea celebrated the point in front of David Moran's face. You know when they got that point to put them five up with three or four minutes to go. I was running out and I saw it going on and it actually maddened me. Cos the game wasn't over and you know Dave is a very clean player, he wouldn't have any nastiness in him at all. So, I didn't know where this was coming from. The temper was built up in my stomach from then on.

Down I went, down to the Canal End goal and whatever ball was coming in I was going to have a stab at it anyway and whether I caught it or not would've been another thing. Paul Geaney put in a lovely ball on the outside of the left boot and it was at a time where I felt we needed a goal."

I think Star has made a fair comment here. It was one thing I noticed during that game when Mayo got a few scores, they were unsportingly shouting into the faces of their opponent. Aidan O'Shea wasn't the only Mayo player at that business in the drawn game. A few Dubs said a few of their players used to do that sort of stuff as well but they're glad now that they just get on with the game.

Star once was getting rough treatment off an opponent. He goaded his opponent after a score. Kerry won that game. Star got some stick for it but in fairness he came out and apologised. It's not the Kerry way.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 16/10/2014 19:43:17    1664438

Didn't Donaghy throw Aidans boot over the fence in the replay? I also remember Donaghy roaring into the Armagh keepers face....well able for it himself.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 16/10/2014 20:05:54    1664456

I thought Donaghy would have been better off saying nothing, but then that's just me. Whatever your style is!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 16/10/2014 19:17:53    1664463

I'm an admirer and fan of Kerry football but "it's not the kerry way" has got to be the most self-righteous (and aggravating) phrase in the GAA.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 16/10/2014 20:10:38    1664488

Its not the Kerry way, Funny Jack O C said that after Donegals system beat ye.
As for Star, he loves roaring in players faces when his team are winning, so shut up the whinging and enjoy being Blanket Champions and try and winter well ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 16/10/2014 21:22:19    1664530

Ballydalane
We are Kerry, and we do things the Kerry way, that's just the way it's always been, that's why we are world champions for the 37th time.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/10/2014 21:26:28    1664532

Donaghy does plenty of roaring at players/referees during a game, what a load of tripe! If he has grown up then why did he choose to be spiteful at such a joyful moment?? He's just won an AI and his first thoughts are grudges, very mature! I'm not saying Brolly should be immune to criticism but ive heard him sing 'stars' praises many times, level headed players can accept praise and criticism equally, and give it a rest with 'the Kerry way' rhetoric your polluting the air!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 17/10/2014 09:17:45    1664563

Ah youd swear he was revealing big news here. I thought his speech at the end of the final was quite funny, at least it wasnt sound bytes that you always hear gaa players coming out with. Normal and human - in the moment. But hes going on a bit now. Trawling through matches to find excuses to rub noses is not great. He should just enjoy winning sam this year and concentrate on his club football. Might he be setting himself up for a bit of a fall next year?? Im not sure that Aidan OShea will like hearing this being brought up.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/10/2014 10:03:55    1664576

Saffron don
You wouldn't understand the Kerry way , it's a special thing only us Kerry folk know.
Donegalman
I don't think we're set to meet mayo next year bar in the league coz I think it'l be mayo Dublin semifinal in next years championship.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/10/2014 10:38:30    1664593

I didn't think Star should have said that just after winning the All-Ireland. The likes of Joe loves that attention.
I cant stand goading after a score and most have been guilty of a bit of goading somewhere along their playing careers. The worst that springs to mind is Alan Brogan a few years back against Laois. I never thought much of him for what he did. In fairness to him, and great footballer that he is, I don't recall him doing that after. maybe im mistaken

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 17/10/2014 11:32:58    1664611

Kingdomboy, u never know, it could be the final. Or the back door!

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/10/2014 11:36:49    1664614

Donegalman
You could be right, I just take it for granted that mayo and Dublin will win there provinces, and I don't know what side of the draw mayo are on, I know we're on side 2 .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/10/2014 13:19:17    1664671

The semi finals repeat every 3rd year. Mayo v Dublin 2012, Leinster winners/round 4 winners v Connaught winners/round 4 winners. Potentially anyway. It could be a year of a few shocks.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/10/2014 14:36:15    1664703

Mayo and the capital have no division 1 opponent in their respective provinces. I expect about 4 Ulster quarter-finalists. Any two of Donegal, Tyrone, Armagh, Derry and Down could be their quarter-final opponents. Could be the year of Ulster. The championship with the qualifiers is setup for it.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 17/10/2014 15:50:09    1664736

Donegalman
You could be right , there could be shocks , in fairness I don't know how Kerry will get on with tommy Walsh coming home, will he slip in semelessly or will it cause friction like Tadhg Kennelly coming home did in 09? I don't know, will gooch come back better than ever? again I don't know , can we unearth another couple of defenders like Paul Murphy ? hopefully we can.
Then you have your own county , i think ye still have a very good team and the change in management might not be a bad thing , some times a fresh voice can do wonders and that goes for mayo as well.
Then you got Dublin , and you'd have to be expecting a massive backlash from them in 2015.
Then you have the chasing bunch: I'd have Cork leading that, with Armagh Monaghan Derry .
Then Galway tipp Roscommon and Tyrone after that. I can't see Meath or Kildare doing much next year either, although Meath have a few very good players to come back in so you'd never know.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/10/2014 17:14:32    1664768

Not that Brolly needs anymore press but it's a little like the Eamonn Dunphy/Jack Charlton scenario!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 17/10/2014 21:08:10    1664827

Of course it's not the Kerry way.Goading players , playing defensive systems and kicking the ball away on the goalkeeper .Never would they do any of these things.

911 (USA) - Posts: 41 - 17/10/2014 21:53:08    1664838

As iv said to other posters on here, look at the incident where Barry John was supposed to have kicked the ball away again and you'll see that durkin was taking the kick out from about a foot outside the 13 meter line which is not aloud, if Barry John was to kick the ball away wouldn't he have laced it in to the hill, you see their are some people on here like your self that unfortunately don't know the rules of football and just go by what they hear on the telly but of course Martin carney was going to go mad because he is a Donegal man and of course he wanted Donegal to win , but why rte had a Donegal man co comentating on a game which involved Donegal il never know.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/10/2014 10:18:47    1664850

Years I'd park it K'boy1, there will always be people who nit-pick against certain count1es..

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 18/10/2014 12:41:27    1664901

Kerry earned their victory , but kicking the ball away and winding lads up , coupled with their blanket defence will mean they will be a tough opposition next year. Who knows even Tyrone might copy their style next year , though i dont think Mickey Harte would go that far in pursuit of victory. But The Kerry boys can winter well knowing they done what it took to get Sam down to the Kingdom.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 18/10/2014 21:47:59    1665057