If not Mc Stay then who is best for Mayo job ?

It'll probably take another while before it's finalized but Kevin Mc Stay might be the best candidate for the job though he might need some help from a good shrink to get the Mayo players heads right after all the nearlys.
Who do you think will get the job ?

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 04/09/2014 18:48:38    1648092

Liam McHale.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 04/09/2014 19:59:04    1648127

David Brady with Liam McHale,

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 04/09/2014 20:05:07    1648129

McShtay and McHale partnership is probably the best option for Mayo , not that many noteworthy candidates for it to be honest , ideally Gilvarry should get a stint at U21 role before he graduates to senior management

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 04/09/2014 20:22:42    1648132

Horan has left a far better platform for success compared to the one that he walked into

If this Mayo team want to win AI's then they need to unearth forward talent or improve on what's available

Freeman looked like he had it all... perhaps he wasn't properly nurtured under Horan

Letting Mortimer slip away was daft IMO... honestly believe that decision cost Mayo an AI title...

Major clash of personalities with Horan

Always worth 3-6 points a game...

They should get him back... still lots to offer...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 04/09/2014 20:26:56    1648136

Mortimer left because he felt he had a God-given right to start for Mayo, he didn't. Wasn't prepared to work as hard when he didn't have the ball as other forwards. No point in having one man playing for himself while the others will die for the jersey. There's my diplomatic opinion on Conor.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 04/09/2014 20:47:13    1648154

GreenandRed.. You are spot on. Mortimer is good when the team is good but when the team is struggling in a game, you won't see Conor in the thick of the action

mayoaresavage (Mayo) - Posts: 313 - 04/09/2014 21:38:54    1648199

Mortimer is a player that plays with instinct - he's a natural forward

You should bring him back into the fold - honestly believe you would have beaten Dublin in 13 if he was on the pitch

Always a thorn in our side and had some top end performances against Dublin - no fear of them whatsoever

Mortimer is there to win frees and finish off moves - sometimes this over emphasis of every player on the team needing to track back and tackle is quite silly

You need forwards to do what forwards do,... and for me in a setup which finds itself with limited forward options it was a bad mistake to let the caliber of player that Mortimer is... an established and proven inter county scoring forward with years of experience in big games walk away... it def didn't help and as I said - I honestly 100% believe that you'd have an AI in the bag with him in the panel over the last coupe of years

Whoever takes over should get him back into that panel - and just watch the result... I'm fecking telling ya!

He'd burst a gut for yiz up front now that Horan is gone - if anything else it would be a huge motivational factor for Mortimer to rub it into Horan who's sitting at home.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 05/09/2014 09:33:25    1648250

To get back to the point of the thread Noel Connelly is a serious candidate. He is involved in the Mayo Development panels currently and would have managed alot of these l;ads before at u-21 including an AI win at that grade. Work commitments will need to allow for him to commit as lets face it its now a full time job.

McStay looks to be the favourite but Im not sure the county board are sweet on the idea of him bringing in McHale, which he almost certainly will.

On Mort, it was him who decided to walk under Horan when he wasnt guaranteed to start. No one is. But I am all for starting with a clean slate and under the next man I would never say never. Im sure he feels there is unfinished business with Mayo but every player must tow the line for the good of the panel.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 05/09/2014 10:44:14    1648292

To Answer first question Noel Connelly.

Jimbo would you not think Evan Regan is a better option?

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 05/09/2014 10:51:50    1648295

jimbodub, You having a laugh?? "Micheal Jackson" Mortimer didn't fit in to the group ethos and was let go. Even if he did start to buy in with the management and team plan, the 30/31 year old (whatever age he is) is not performing at a level that would warrant his inclusion in the squad.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 05/09/2014 11:36:47    1648321

Has David Brady much experience ????

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 05/09/2014 11:52:52    1648333

I like Brady, but he comes across as a little clownish on the radio!
What about Maughan?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 05/09/2014 12:15:06    1648353

Pat Holmes would be a big contender.

Won 4 Connaught U21 and an U21 All Ireland with most of those players. Got an average castlebar team to the All Ireland final. Won a national league at senior in his first stint as manager (lost every championship match in a 3 year period though) when he was given the job straight out of retirement.

For me its McStay or Holmes with Connelly as selector. Gilvary to the U21's to bring on the last two minor teams and eventually take the senior job.

Whoever gets it needs to keep the basics of what Horan has done, i.e. consistant performance, good strength and conditioning, supreme tackling and top class forward play (average of 55% shooting over 3 years bettered only by Kerry). A bit cuter on the tactical side (i.e develope a plan B and vary the kickouts a bit) and they will definitely win SAM.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1103 - 05/09/2014 13:06:03    1648389

I really respect Mc Stay's views on football,he is usually very fair and spot on with his analysis,though I'm not sure if that's the skill set necessary to be a great manager,though he's obviously done very well at club level.
Mayo actually need someone like JMG to inspire them and change their mentality,they also need a few good forwards,but that has always been Mayo's downfall as long as I've been watching them,surely there must be some good young forwards coming through in Mayo,I'd forget about Mortimer, JMG got rid of Cassidy and we lost a few big players this year but JMG has the unit playing so well it doesn't matter,
the man is an inspiration to players and supporters,Mayo need a leader like Jim,not easy to find,Horan made too many fatal mistakes on the line,not closing out the first drawn semi by reacting to Donaghy coming on is a prime example,also the young lad he had marking Michael Murphy at the start of the 2012 final.
From an outsiders point of view Mc Stay looks the best option.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 05/09/2014 13:17:47    1648393

GreenandRed

Mortimer left because he felt he had a God-given right to start for Mayo, he didn't. Wasn't prepared to work as hard when he didn't have the ball as other forwards. No point in having one man playing for himself while the others will die for the jersey. There's my diplomatic opinion on Conor.

Highest scorer ever for Mayo.............awkward

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 05/09/2014 14:54:27    1648447

I think Donie Buckley would be the best man for the Mayo job. He has been there for two years and knows the players well plus he could now put his own systems in place. It was obvious James Horan had a set way he wanted to play the game and Buckley had to facilitate that. He is one of the best coaches in the country and Mayo should not let him go. You only have to look at how he turned Limerick around when the was given a free rein. Mayo are now noted as one of the best tackling teams in the country (Buckley's doing id say as in 2012 All Ireland Final tackling was very poor) and with a slight adjustment to their defence would definitely challenge for an All Ireland next year. Realistically there are only 3-4 teams that can win it.

Cowboy (Roscommon) - Posts: 11 - 05/09/2014 15:14:22    1648457

Cowboy - I think you are correct about Donie Buckley but I am surprised to hear you say that only 3-4 teams can win the All-Ireland next year. Who are those teams?.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 597 - 05/09/2014 15:46:29    1648476

Mayo, Dublin, Kerry and Cork with an outside shout to Donegal if we could keep our focus after winning this year :-)

Re the OP, keeping the structures in place from Horan but adding some more tactical nous I reckon McStay and McHale ticket might just get it done. This Mayo panel probably needs a break though.

DLGael (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 05/09/2014 15:52:32    1648481

Teams that could win the all Ireland

Leinster - Dublin only
Munster - Kerry and definitely not at the start of this year. I think Cork have a lot to do.
Connaught - Mayo only
Ulster - Donegal and same as Kerry at the start of the year written off. Tyrone / Armagh / Down etc. are not contenders yet in my opinion.

Everyone says McStay and he sounds to be well tuned in from his analysis on RTE but has he really that much county experience in management. He won a club all Ireland with a team who had won 2-3 Connaught titles when he took them over and who had contested a club all Ireland. Ballymun had them dead and buried at half time only for a great comeback.

I agree with comment about McGuinness he seems to be tactically way ahead of the pack. When Mayo went ahead in both games they should of been able to close out the game but I think James Horans all out attack system back fired. They had been leaking at the back all year eg Dublin in the league. Mayo nearly won the game against Kerry the first day playing all out attack with 14men it was just in the first half the whole team were to defence minded. The 15th man in the replay should have been the sweeper, let the rest attack but have one up at the back and have a different man marking Donaghy...

Cowboy (Roscommon) - Posts: 11 - 05/09/2014 16:14:38    1648501