Dunphy on the Dubs

Dunphy doesn't seem to be too enamoured with a few dubs and the team in general. I think he might be bringing his soccer approach with talk of a team being loved to the table.
Sounds like he's got a bit of an issue with one or two of them who didn't want to chat candidly when they bumped into one another.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 23/09/2017 10:06:38    2049520

Poor old Eamon got a quick handshake and wasn't made to feel very important i'd say.

Wouldn't blame the lads if i'm honest.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/09/2017 10:46:44    2049530

This is a big concern. Can't wait to hear what else Eammo has to say.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 23/09/2017 10:51:53    2049534

Eamonn "You've jumped over the fence baby"

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1014 - 23/09/2017 11:41:55    2049545

"..being admired and respected is one think. I don't think they will ever be loved....."

Eammo, you got it in one, baby.

My sentiments exactly, shared by everyone I know.

SouthsideRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 88 - 23/09/2017 13:36:10    2049576

Good ol' Dunphy, I remember during the 80s he wrote something regarding Brian Mullins. One day shortly after they crossed paths at the entrance to Independent House in Abbey St and Mullins let him know what he thought of him and Dunphy scarpered on down the road shitting himself lol :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 23/09/2017 13:55:58    2049583

Stick with the soccer Eamonn. The Dublin footballers will focus on football. They are excellent
ambassadors for the game.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 597 - 23/09/2017 14:32:32    2049593

Replying To SouthsideRossie:  ""..being admired and respected is one think. I don't think they will ever be loved....."

Eammo, you got it in one, baby.

My sentiments exactly, shared by everyone I know."
From Balbriggan to Kippure and from Lucan to the North Wall they'll be loved.

What the rest of country or the odd crank thinks doesn't matter one iota.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 23/09/2017 14:49:13    2049598

Replying To MesAmis:  "From Balbriggan to Kippure and from Lucan to the North Wall they'll be loved.

What the rest of country or the odd crank thinks doesn't matter one iota."
The dubs are alright apart from the odd gouger!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 23/09/2017 15:00:02    2049602

his opinion seems to counteract Brolly's write up last week. Maybe RTE should arrange a debate show between the pair of them. Be a good laugh ahead of a long winter.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 23/09/2017 15:09:06    2049605

They seem like decent enough lads. There are probably a couple of big-headed types on the team but that's the way of the world really. Must be hard not to get carried away with yourself if you're winning All-Irelands all the time.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 23/09/2017 15:09:18    2049606

So who does Messi think he is?
On of the Dubs ;)
Seriously , Dunphy has made a career out of doing a Joe Brolly on it. Make a controversial remark and go on the odd rant and people are suppose to take him seriously.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 23/09/2017 15:19:47    2049609

oh how these dubs must yearn to be loved, just like tyrone, meath Cork etc. The only champs whoever get the love is kerry and kilkenny, pure adoration and no questions asked

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 23/09/2017 15:28:10    2049610

Replying To MesAmis:  "From Balbriggan to Kippure and from Lucan to the North Wall they'll be loved.

True!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/09/2017 17:20:30    2049641

the soccer boys seem to be running scared at the minute with roddy doyle now dunphy trying to have a go.
id ask the question has dunphy ever even met messi?
highly unlikely i would say, in that case how would he even know what type person messi is?
of all the things to accuse this team of being full of themselves has to be madness.
they have seperate guys who are ambassadors for suicide prevention, mental health and addiction problem.
the manager flew a plane to uganda for concern and goal last year after the all ireland final.
on several occasions throughout this year they have helped out in the capuchin day centre for homeless people.
they have taken the trophy specificaly to children who are suffering with life long illness on match days to let them celebrate.
another player does ted talks to help people who are suffering with depression and are at low points in their life.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/09/2017 17:23:09    2049642

I don't understand this love thing, being a Dubs supporter for many year, I think this Dublin team is by far the most loved, admired acknowledged and respected nationally l have have ever seen.

Natural rivals will resent the success especially in the moment and you can understand that, but there is so much good will I think toward the team and their achievements broadly.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/09/2017 17:30:39    2049645

I find the current Dublin players to be a respectful bunch off the pitch. Dunphy is of The Ban generation and this probably colours his view of the GAA somewhat.

Personal attacks on amateur players (admittedly anonymous in this case) for some perceived slight in a private situation are "beyond the pale" if you pardon the pun.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 23/09/2017 18:03:30    2049652

is this the same Eamon Dunphy who changed his mind on Ronaldo, John Hume, U2 and Roy Keane to name a few?
Wouldn't listen to a word he has to say personally. So his nose was knocked out of joint by a few Dubs who didn't bow and scrape in front of him. Tough sh** baby.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/09/2017 18:14:06    2049653

Does Dunphy not live in that area?

Anyway I'm sure there are one or two that are not nicest, just like i'm sure there are genuine, nice and good hearted people on that team. A team is made up of a collection of individuals with different personalities. You will always get on better with some people than others no matter what you do. I'm sure you have all played on teams, worked with or socialised in circles with people you just don't like. Maybe Dunphy came across someone who wasn't a nice guy, maybe they are a nice guy but just weren't his cup of tea.

Anyway it is of no relevance. Dunphy made a sweeping statement, no heed should be paid to it. I don't understand the Dubs losing their rag either defending every Dublin player to the hilt. There are fermanagh players that I know that are idiots, there are others that are nice guys. Dubs, no need to take it so personally.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 23/09/2017 18:58:32    2049673

Replying To gotmilk:  "Does Dunphy not live in that area?

Anyway I'm sure there are one or two that are not nicest, just like i'm sure there are genuine, nice and good hearted people on that team. A team is made up of a collection of individuals with different personalities. You will always get on better with some people than others no matter what you do. I'm sure you have all played on teams, worked with or socialised in circles with people you just don't like. Maybe Dunphy came across someone who wasn't a nice guy, maybe they are a nice guy but just weren't his cup of tea.

Anyway it is of no relevance. Dunphy made a sweeping statement, no heed should be paid to it. I don't understand the Dubs losing their rag either defending every Dublin player to the hilt. There are fermanagh players that I know that are idiots, there are others that are nice guys. Dubs, no need to take it so personally."
it is a bit strange yes...a lot of fanboys on here...speaking as someone who knows a good few of the lads on the team personally...i honestly think people feel more involved by defending everyone to the hilt

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 23/09/2017 20:03:04    2049701