Fair Play Diarmuid Connolly

Credit where credit is due. Thought he was immense on sunday considering he hadn't played in months. He received a lot of criticism after the Carlow game but he accepted his ban and obviously kept working hard to ensure he was in the form required when called upon. Connolly has got a tough time of it over the years and maybe rightly so at times but he came good yet again when needed. I think it's a shame he hasn't received more personal accolades although he still has a few years left (Think he only has 2 all stars) but when this great Dublin team is talked about in the years to come I think he'll be up there with Cluxton as one of the all time Dublin greats.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 19/09/2017 13:51:04    2048058

Was the best player on the pitch in the second half
Scored the point of the game, gave Rock as sweet a pass as u will ever see for his fisted point and won the last free

Not starting him was madness, a huge mistake

Match winner
Genius
Legend

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/09/2017 14:03:39    2048067

Looking at the game back its was a clever tactical play with Keegan on Kilkenny that i didnt notice during the game.

Dermo had the freedom of Croke park. He just took over Kilkennys playmaking duty's and Mayo never got to grips with him and he penetrated the lines so much. Thats not a criticism of Keegan because he himself scored a wonderful goal, but when he was tied up with Kilkenny, Dermo probably had his easiest game against Mayo. Dermo was allowed influence the game and critically got a point and won the free for the winner in addition to his playmaking. Again one of those fine margins that influenced the game watching it back.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/09/2017 14:07:07    2048072

The two most sublime pieces of skill on Sunday came from Connolly. That 20+ yard pass with the outside of the right over the defenders arms into the chest of Rock and that towering point having jinked by 4 Mayo defenders. He has skill to burn that fella.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/09/2017 15:31:51    2048130

Replying To TheUsername:  "Looking at the game back its was a clever tactical play with Keegan on Kilkenny that i didnt notice during the game.

Dermo had the freedom of Croke park. He just took over Kilkennys playmaking duty's and Mayo never got to grips with him and he penetrated the lines so much. Thats not a criticism of Keegan because he himself scored a wonderful goal, but when he was tied up with Kilkenny, Dermo probably had his easiest game against Mayo. Dermo was allowed influence the game and critically got a point and won the free for the winner in addition to his playmaking. Again one of those fine margins that influenced the game watching it back."
Jesus lads how was it a clever tactical play? Keegan was marking Kilkenny not Connolly. Connolly then comes on and has a bit more space than usual. It was always going to be that way. It just goes to show how Keegan has dominated that match up in the past few years. Shutting Kilkenny down was the main Mayo strategy and Keegan did that easily. Basically what I'm saying is Keegan is the best player in the country again. But we only have one Keegan unfortunately.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 19/09/2017 15:59:45    2048149

Replying To Joxer:  "The two most sublime pieces of skill on Sunday came from Connolly. That 20+ yard pass with the outside of the right over the defenders arms into the chest of Rock and that towering point having jinked by 4 Mayo defenders. He has skill to burn that fella."
Yep
He was the winning of the game
Simple as that
The man is a genius
Not starting him was crazy

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/09/2017 16:23:57    2048160

Replying To TheUsername:  "Looking at the game back its was a clever tactical play with Keegan on Kilkenny that i didnt notice during the game.

Dermo had the freedom of Croke park. He just took over Kilkennys playmaking duty's and Mayo never got to grips with him and he penetrated the lines so much. Thats not a criticism of Keegan because he himself scored a wonderful goal, but when he was tied up with Kilkenny, Dermo probably had his easiest game against Mayo. Dermo was allowed influence the game and critically got a point and won the free for the winner in addition to his playmaking. Again one of those fine margins that influenced the game watching it back."
True, Mayo obviously did not consider man-marking him. Maybe that was a mistake although his impact was fairly limited

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/09/2017 17:13:12    2048185

Was a great substitution. Diarmuid is my favourite Dublin player and he turned the game immediately when he came on. Dubs got their rhythm back which is all important for this amazing team.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 713 - 19/09/2017 18:29:06    2048217

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Jesus lads how was it a clever tactical play? Keegan was marking Kilkenny not Connolly. Connolly then comes on and has a bit more space than usual. It was always going to be that way. It just goes to show how Keegan has dominated that match up in the past few years. Shutting Kilkenny down was the main Mayo strategy and Keegan did that easily. Basically what I'm saying is Keegan is the best player in the country again. But we only have one Keegan unfortunately."
Watching the game back, Kilkenny stayed centre field and took Keegan with him, Connolly exploited the gaps and to be honest played exactly were Kilkenny would usually. I agree I think only Keegan could do the job on Connolly, Connolly was penetrating the lines at will. I'm speaking defensively here, Keegan of course got a wonderful goal.

If you watch the last team mins again, you will see Kilkenny get on the ball more then at any other time in the match, they didn't know who the bigger threat was Conolly or Kilkenny.

Just my observation I'm sure lads will have different opinions.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/09/2017 19:47:42    2048243

Replying To TheUsername:  "Watching the game back, Kilkenny stayed centre field and took Keegan with him, Connolly exploited the gaps and to be honest played exactly were Kilkenny would usually. I agree I think only Keegan could do the job on Connolly, Connolly was penetrating the lines at will. I'm speaking defensively here, Keegan of course got a wonderful goal.

If you watch the last team mins again, you will see Kilkenny get on the ball more then at any other time in the match, they didn't know who the bigger threat was Conolly or Kilkenny.

Just my observation I'm sure lads will have different opinions."
Pre game and all year all we heard was how Kilkenny was amazing. A beast of an athlete who is the playmaker of the Dublin team. Keegan had him in his pocket. Kilkenny had 7 possessions, 7!!! Connolly came on after playing very little football all year, it was debatable the impact he would have. Hindsight is a great thing!!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 19/09/2017 19:57:37    2048251

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Pre game and all year all we heard was how Kilkenny was amazing. A beast of an athlete who is the playmaker of the Dublin team. Keegan had him in his pocket. Kilkenny had 7 possessions, 7!!! Connolly came on after playing very little football all year, it was debatable the impact he would have. Hindsight is a great thing!!"
I agree mate, was a brilliant tactic Kilkenny is Dublins brain. Keegan did a fine job on him and nullified him up to last ten mins.

Problem was it was rumbled after 35 mins, in the second half Kilkenny took Keegan centre field and everything went through Connolly. Connolly tipped the balance in my opinion.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/09/2017 20:25:26    2048266

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Pre game and all year all we heard was how Kilkenny was amazing. A beast of an athlete who is the playmaker of the Dublin team. Keegan had him in his pocket. Kilkenny had 7 possessions, 7!!! Connolly came on after playing very little football all year, it was debatable the impact he would have. Hindsight is a great thing!!"
I actually said this before the game, you need more Keegans. He's a great man marker but you mark Kilkenny then Mannion will hurt you, you mark Mannion and Connolly will do the damage. As much as Keegan kept Kilkenny quite, apart from his goal, Kilkenny kept Keegan anonymous But for a poor effort at a point, a yellow card and an attempt to hurl a GPS, he was out of the limelight. He was anonymous in the semi final against Kerry also. Great player? Yes when he concentrates on ball. Best player in the country? No chance.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/09/2017 22:07:59    2048329

Replying To Joxer:  "I actually said this before the game, you need more Keegans. He's a great man marker but you mark Kilkenny then Mannion will hurt you, you mark Mannion and Connolly will do the damage. As much as Keegan kept Kilkenny quite, apart from his goal, Kilkenny kept Keegan anonymous But for a poor effort at a point, a yellow card and an attempt to hurl a GPS, he was out of the limelight. He was anonymous in the semi final against Kerry also. Great player? Yes when he concentrates on ball. Best player in the country? No chance."
Obviously a case of selective amnesia. Maybe you have been celebrating too much, and I don't blame you. When I watched the game I clearly saw Keegan scoring a thunderbolt of a goal and he would probably have scored a second if two Dublin players had not combined to drag him down on the edge of the square. When you consider that he also completely dominated Kilkenny, you would have to say that was an impressive day's performance. Easily the outstanding player in the country over the past few years.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/09/2017 23:07:15    2048360

Was very glad to see Diarmuid come in and contribute so well in second half. Showed great leadership and scored a wonder point. Delighted for the guy,personally love watching him play. Phenomenal athlete and footballer.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/09/2017 02:34:01    2048398

Replying To neverright:  "Obviously a case of selective amnesia. Maybe you have been celebrating too much, and I don't blame you. When I watched the game I clearly saw Keegan scoring a thunderbolt of a goal and he would probably have scored a second if two Dublin players had not combined to drag him down on the edge of the square. When you consider that he also completely dominated Kilkenny, you would have to say that was an impressive day's performance. Easily the outstanding player in the country over the past few years."
Not even close to being the best player in the country this year.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 20/09/2017 08:36:52    2048415

Replying To neverright:  "Obviously a case of selective amnesia. Maybe you have been celebrating too much, and I don't blame you. When I watched the game I clearly saw Keegan scoring a thunderbolt of a goal and he would probably have scored a second if two Dublin players had not combined to drag him down on the edge of the square. When you consider that he also completely dominated Kilkenny, you would have to say that was an impressive day's performance. Easily the outstanding player in the country over the past few years."
We'll agree to disagree. Yes he scored a goal and he kept Kilkenny under wraps but Kilkenny also kept him quiet, apart from that lapse of concentration. Outstanding player of last few years???? Certainly not. Outstanding player in his position? Probably.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2017 08:39:07    2048416

I thought Connolly was very good when introduced. Really stepped up to the plate and filled that Kilkenny role with Keegan so masterfully wrapping Ciarán up in a neat little bow! As well as cracking a superb goal into the Hill!

The decision to not start him though still looks a good one to me as maybe Keegan would have kept him quieter had he started.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 20/09/2017 09:51:48    2048433

Connolly divides a lot of opinion for 1 reason or another but have to give him all the credit in the world he is a top player and a true warrior

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 23/09/2017 09:26:22    2049509

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Connolly divides a lot of opinion for 1 reason or another but have to give him all the credit in the world he is a top player and a true warrior"
He doesn't divide opinion at all, we all know he's a great player, we just can't respect him for the way he carries on like he's 14.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 23/09/2017 14:47:17    2049597

Wrong again!!!! watch the game again and stop taking everything some pundits say as Gospel..KilKenny had 7 possessions in the last 15 mins when ye were out scored 4 to 1.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 23/09/2017 15:37:54    2049612