Congrats Dublin on 3 in a row!!

There are so many bitter and begrudging threads on here that as a culchie and Leinster man i want to wholeheartedly congratulate Dublin on a magnificent 3 in a row. The team's composure in the final stretch is something to behold. We all want to reach the bar you have set.

Well done Mayo on a brave performance. I hope your time comes very soon.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/09/2017 20:48:37    2046984

Yes, congratulations to Dublin. They have a truly great side who always find a way to win even in unpromising circumstances.

I do hope someone else wins Sam next year though, with a heavy preference for us.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 17/09/2017 21:06:28    2047004

Unfortunately haters are always going to hate and begrudge.

I see Jim Gavin mentioned composure in his press conference. That was ultimately the difference in the end. Dublin used all their experience of winning to close it out. They brought the old heads off the bench whereas Mayo brought on young Turks.

I hope Mayo start Durcan, Loftus, Coen and Drake in every league game they are fit and available for in 2018. They are over reliant on the old guard and these young lads are good enough, just need some more game time.

Fair play to Mayo though, they put in some performance today. I hope these boys stick at and realise their dream of winning an All-Ireland.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 17/09/2017 21:20:26    2047023

Congrats to Dublin. They are an immense group of players and I'm proud that our team can and do compete with no matter who hard the defeat is to take. There is more to come from this Dublin squad they are a credit to their county.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 18/09/2017 00:41:41    2047176

A big congratulations to Dublin on a magnificent achievement of winning 3 in a row. Games often swing on the tiniest of margins & it was Dublin's composure in the last 10 minutes that got them over the line in what was an epic struggle.

As for Mayo, I really hoped they would win yesterday. Not that I had anything against Dublin, far from it, but Mayo really deserve a title after the journey they have been on & to lose by a point after losing by a point in last year's replay shows that they are the equal of this Dublin team & if Dublin are the greatest team football has ever seen then Mayo are right up there with them.

Dublin won on the day, it could have been different, but the real winners were all of us who got to witness a great game between two magnificent sides & congratulations to everyone concerned.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/09/2017 09:14:02    2047236

What a team. I was heartbroken for Mayo but at the same time this Dublin side deserve a three-in-a-row and they deserve to be mentioned with the greatest sides of all time. They are fantastic. Congratulations to all involved

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 18/09/2017 09:31:57    2047248

I've personally never seen a squad of footballers quite like what dublin have. It surpasses all teams of the past as far as I'm concerned.

Moreso now more than ever football is a team won not by a team of 1 to 15 on any given day but by a match day squad and this dublin squad is phenomenal. Look at what they sprung from the bench yesterday, scarily good.

And credit has to go to the manager for managing that as it isn't easy yet he retains a control over all he oversees, managing that many top class footballers and keeping them all in check and focussed is a job in itself.

So congratulations to dublin for a remarkable achievement but in reality this could be 5 or 6 in a row. People go on about it only being a once in a lifetime golden generation when in reality it's far from that, look at how much this team has evolved since 2011, this is now at a different stage.

They are already the greatest team of all time imho and will completely put that argument to bed over the next few years. This isn't just a once off golden generation in football, it's more akin to a complete takeover when you look at the bigger picture, it doesn't bode well for the game in general but no one in dublin should even concern themselves with that.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1326 - 18/09/2017 09:41:55    2047257

Thank you posters , we robbed that one yesterday imo , I used to hate these Mayo players but I can't anymore I've never seen anything like them , Jesus they just keep on
Coming back and back and back. I
Thought all of them were outstanding O Shea O Conor andy Moran Doherty the lot. We got cleaned out in midfield couldn't get the ball and the game came down to
Inches in the end.

If posters are saying we're the greatest ever what does that make Mayo? They consistently get the better of us yet we somehow sneak it out.

Anyway great day to be a Dub really did fell sorry for those Mayo supporters

But I genuinely think more than ever their day will come.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/09/2017 10:22:09    2047287

Nice sentiments folks and fair play to all on here who don't go for the all too common option of looking to belittle or undermine what should be recognised as a remarkable achievement in GAA and one that has been hard earned by an incredibly dedicated and modest group of men who have sacrificed so much in order to be where the are now.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 18/09/2017 10:43:51    2047316

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Thank you posters , we robbed that one yesterday imo , I used to hate these Mayo players but I can't anymore I've never seen anything like them , Jesus they just keep on
Coming back and back and back. I
Thought all of them were outstanding O Shea O Conor andy Moran Doherty the lot. We got cleaned out in midfield couldn't get the ball and the game came down to
Inches in the end.

If posters are saying we're the greatest ever what does that make Mayo? They consistently get the better of us yet we somehow sneak it out.

Anyway great day to be a Dub really did fell sorry for those Mayo supporters

But I genuinely think more than ever their day will come."
Great post. Congrats to Dublin on a remarkable achievement, they are such a great panel of players who probably feel they can add to what they have already achieved next year. I think Mayo will also have to go down in history as a great team. There is so little between the 2 teams and Mayo show everytime the play Dublin that if you can play with agression and without fear then you give yourself a great chance. If Donegal aren't at the business end in 2018 (Probably won't) then I really hope Mayo can finally get over the line. Andy Moran left the pitch on 62 minutes yesterday with Mayo leading by 2....I really felt for him at the final whistle along with several other Mayo legends. But you can't take away anything from Dublin - an incredible team!!

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 18/09/2017 11:03:40    2047335

Fair play to the Dubs on a great achievement and one that secures their status in the game.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/09/2017 13:56:38    2047470

There's a few rousing threads ongoing at the moment, but I thought I'd just come on this one for now. It's no consolation but I have to say well done to Mayo on a titanic effort,and it's really heartbreaking to see guys like Andy Moran and Donie Vaughan miss out again.
Now some people are unhappy about some decisions by the ref etc and some might be legitimate gripes but that's not to take away from Dublins achievement yesterday. With that I say congratulations to Dublin and to their fans. The Dubs have blazed a trail these past few years and they are a magnificent team to watch. They are a great squad of players and from what I've seen and heard of them they are a sound bunch of lads too. So well done to the Dublin players. A mighty team. They would beat any of the great teams in football history. The best team ever in my opinion.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/09/2017 22:19:24    2047775

It's probably perceived that all the neutrals were shouting for mayo but that's not the case. I'm delighted this dublin team have won 3 in a row. From afar they look to be one of the most humble and downto earth lads to ever win anything. They're a credit to everyone they represent
And they play football the proper way. Well done and enjoy it

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/09/2017 23:07:00    2047810

Replying To seanie_boy:  "There's a few rousing threads ongoing at the moment, but I thought I'd just come on this one for now. It's no consolation but I have to say well done to Mayo on a titanic effort,and it's really heartbreaking to see guys like Andy Moran and Donie Vaughan miss out again.
Now some people are unhappy about some decisions by the ref etc and some might be legitimate gripes but that's not to take away from Dublins achievement yesterday. With that I say congratulations to Dublin and to their fans. The Dubs have blazed a trail these past few years and they are a magnificent team to watch. They are a great squad of players and from what I've seen and heard of them they are a sound bunch of lads too. So well done to the Dublin players. A mighty team. They would beat any of the great teams in football history. The best team ever in my opinion."
The referee complaints are absolute bs and anti Dublin , posters who hate us only see it one way , everyone crying over one free at the end of the first half (which was a free) one bleeding free ffs, other than that the ref was solid. He gave us one score able free in the second half Mayo got 5 and all 5 were soft, but posters don't see that , even Mayo's first 5 points could of been disallowed but again anti Dub posters don't see that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/09/2017 09:22:47    2047902

Congrats to Dublin on the 3 in a row, super achievement and it puts them right up there with the great teams. Credit to Mayo for putting it up to Dublin over the last few years and hopefully their day will come

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 19/09/2017 09:27:07    2047904

Fantastic from Mayo but congrats to Dublin worthy champions

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 19/09/2017 10:28:47    2047933

Replying To clondalkindub:  "The referee complaints are absolute bs and anti Dublin , posters who hate us only see it one way , everyone crying over one free at the end of the first half (which was a free) one bleeding free ffs, other than that the ref was solid. He gave us one score able free in the second half Mayo got 5 and all 5 were soft, but posters don't see that , even Mayo's first 5 points could of been disallowed but again anti Dub posters don't see that."
There's always a bit of acrimony in the aftermath but some on here are taking it a bit too far. The Dubs did 3 in a row and 5 out of the last 7. That makes them the best ever and no amount of whinging can change that. So Dubs fans should just enjoy it now and forget about the nonsense from others on here.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/09/2017 02:29:12    2048397

Can anyone catch the mighty Duds was a question posed by a national paper this morning Hats off to the Dubs 3 in a row no mean achievement but look at margins of victory i their 5 All IrelandsI think there has not been more than Kick of a ball between them Mayomand Kerry in the 5 finals. YES referees decisions , human errors or on purpose, in last year's semifinal have helped enormously Dublin based and involved referee admitted to his error I am not expecting such magnanimity from Dublin Joe! I salut Dublin great footballers but their cynicism should be left to boxing ring hated what the did after winning point was kicked. Winter well speedy recovery to Jack Mc Caffery And all,the best to Tyrone Mayo and let's not forget Kerry where some serious talent is about to be unleashed all have zDublin in their sights for 2018 May the yicism on display in many games this year be consigned to the scapheap Our games were noted for sportsmanship

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 20/09/2017 07:59:23    2048406