Why Dublin?

On Sunday I will head to Croke Park to hopefully see Mayo bridge the gap and win Sam, but if they don't I will admire this wonderfully gifted Dublin team, who I feel haven't got the recognition they deserve. They are very good, they are more than very good, but their achievements have been overshadowed by the 'money' and finance controversey, - I feel this is unfair, money helps,and helps enormously but if we had the Dublin millions we might be better but would Armagh really be contenders, I doubt it!!!
In the '70's and 80's Kerry were the best but they also had resources which no other county could really compete with - remember the washing machine adverts which Kerry were paid a fortune for ( and contrevened the rules at the time) .... but people tend to forget this and massive revenue they raise in the USA - fair play to them
If Dublin win they will complete a 3 in a row.... loose and all the 'talk of money will be gone'....
Hoping for a classic ... we wait and see

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 15/09/2017 13:11:41    2046213

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "On Sunday I will head to Croke Park to hopefully see Mayo bridge the gap and win Sam, but if they don't I will admire this wonderfully gifted Dublin team, who I feel haven't got the recognition they deserve. They are very good, they are more than very good, but their achievements have been overshadowed by the 'money' and finance controversey, - I feel this is unfair, money helps,and helps enormously but if we had the Dublin millions we might be better but would Armagh really be contenders, I doubt it!!!
In the '70's and 80's Kerry were the best but they also had resources which no other county could really compete with - remember the washing machine adverts which Kerry were paid a fortune for ( and contrevened the rules at the time) .... but people tend to forget this and massive revenue they raise in the USA - fair play to them
If Dublin win they will complete a 3 in a row.... loose and all the 'talk of money will be gone'....
Hoping for a classic ... we wait and see"
Pretty much any and every success in Ireland receives similar treatment- the Irish are a nation of begrudgers, as well as having several positive qualities as a collective.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/09/2017 13:23:14    2046222

This Dublin team are a great team already. Agree on Irish people love to see someone fall flat on their faces. On the flip side there is also a section out there that will be supporting Dublin for no other reason to see us fail again.

The American man points to the rich man with the mansion on the hill and says, "Someday that will be me" while the Irishman says "Someday the f%##r will fall" - sums it up for me.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 15/09/2017 13:31:49    2046223

Hmm as a Dublin fan, i dont really think that the success has gone unacknowledged to be honest, in a general sense and at the root of mos debates, people know how good this Dublin team is, it must be an awful dilemma for some hoping they are beat but actually enjoying watching them play. To be honest outside accolades of which i think we have had many dont really concern me, in fact i find all the talk of the greatest of all time and stuff O Se and Kavanagh are writing a bit premature and cringey, confidence and self belief always come from within. But really its all about scores on the doors and clocking up national titles while its reaping time.

The finance debate is non nonsensical and Whammo and a few others on here have really nailed it. I look on at a coping mechanism for other counties who narrowly miss out, its a way telling themselves that "if only", they would be a great but really only helps to balm a long a winter to be able to build hope again.

In a way works for Dublin its adds to the mystique and mystery of what they do, if they are coming up against lads who think they have been better prepared and conditioned it just gives them that little bit doubt and for Dublin a slight psychological edge. Dublin play up to us, like Cody's Kilkenny team nothing comes out of the camp in terms of training, prep, strength or conditioning etc.

Really all that matters is Sunday and then on Monday, next year and blooding the U21 winners in the league.

For all that written unless Dublin get a result on Sunday, they could leave 2017 with only a Leinster to show for their efforts.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/09/2017 13:44:04    2046230

Replying To yew_tree:  "This Dublin team are a great team already. Agree on Irish people love to see someone fall flat on their faces. On the flip side there is also a section out there that will be supporting Dublin for no other reason to see us fail again.

The American man points to the rich man with the mansion on the hill and says, "Someday that will be me" while the Irishman says "Someday the f%##r will fall" - sums it up for me."
That was Bono said that I believe. Never a truer word said.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 15/09/2017 14:20:40    2046239

The Paddy will always look for an excuse?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 15/09/2017 14:56:18    2046248

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "On Sunday I will head to Croke Park to hopefully see Mayo bridge the gap and win Sam, but if they don't I will admire this wonderfully gifted Dublin team, who I feel haven't got the recognition they deserve. They are very good, they are more than very good, but their achievements have been overshadowed by the 'money' and finance controversey, - I feel this is unfair, money helps,and helps enormously but if we had the Dublin millions we might be better but would Armagh really be contenders, I doubt it!!!
Hope you enjoy the game and would be nice to do the 3 in a row.
I do think it will be another titanic battle with the best team Mayo has ever produced IMO.
They will be there or there about undoubtedly but if we play as we are well capable of I see us winning .
The begrudgery thing is just par for the course here and is in our DNA . Will not worry about it too much as it's commonplace when a team starts to get success. Don't know how many times I heard Kk being slated when they were in their pomp. Somethings never change I guess.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/09/2017 15:41:44    2046260

Fair play. I get why a lot of fans cheer for whoever is playing Dublin. It's just the old country v City thing most of the time combined with Dublin's success (wanting to see someone else win). Poor form though when folk put out the thought that this is a Dublin team built on money and the players (Brogan, Cluxton, McCarthy, Kilkenny) are not actually any more skilled than the average player out there. Such a cliche now just to say money and population as a new form of GAA argument. Have had folk in pub talk say those things. They don't even elaborate , as it has just become a thing to say. Average folk tend to be sheeplike rather than having an original opinion.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 15/09/2017 17:14:05    2046283

Fair play. I get why a lot of fans cheer for whoever is playing Dublin. It's just the old country v City thing most of the time combined with Dublin's success (wanting to see someone else win). Poor form though when folk put out the thought that this is a Dublin team built on money and the players (Brogan, Cluxton, McCarthy, Kilkenny) are not actually any more skilled than the average player out there. Such a cliche now just to say money and population as a new form of GAA argument. Have had folk in pub talk say those things. They don't even elaborate , as it has just become a thing to say. Average folk tend to be sheeplike rather than having an original opinion.
poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts:295 - 15/09/2017 17:14:05

The finance that Dublin have means they can operate like a professional soccer club at different age levels, applying full time coaching and structures without the burden of a player salary bill. And Kerry are right up there too, and Mayo aren't that far off either. It that ability to develop talent with full time coaching and expertise that means they will continually produce high quality players and thus will always be ahead of the rest, and that's what some people are against.

In contrast, Derry went to play Kildare in Croke Park Qualfier in 2011 after losing the Ulster final, and our manager John Brennan had to ask the team sponsor after the game if they would pay for a meal for the team on the bus route home that night. That's how tight the purse strings were back then, Derry GAA didn't have a budget for a team dinner after such a match. And recently listening to 2017 Senior manager Damien Barton post departure, very little has changed since then, as he said that budgets didn't allow for a full compliment of coaching staff to rival the big guns.

Also considering Donegal were in a similar position as Derry in 2010, it is amazing what Jim McGuinness went through to bring Donegal to the levels they achieved in 2011-2014.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 15/09/2017 22:01:23    2046341

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Fair play. I get why a lot of fans cheer for whoever is playing Dublin. It's just the old country v City thing most of the time combined with Dublin's success (wanting to see someone else win). Poor form though when folk put out the thought that this is a Dublin team built on money and the players (Brogan, Cluxton, McCarthy, Kilkenny) are not actually any more skilled than the average player out there. Such a cliche now just to say money and population as a new form of GAA argument. Have had folk in pub talk say those things. They don't even elaborate , as it has just become a thing to say. Average folk tend to be sheeplike rather than having an original opinion.

The finance that Dublin have means they can operate like a professional soccer club at different age levels, applying full time coaching and structures without the burden of a player salary bill. And Kerry are right up there too, and Mayo aren't that far off either. It that ability to develop talent with full time coaching and expertise that means they will continually produce high quality players and thus will always be ahead of the rest, and that's what some people are against.

In contrast, Derry went to play Kildare in Croke Park Qualfier in 2011 after losing the Ulster final, and our manager John Brennan had to ask the team sponsor after the game if they would pay for a meal for the team on the bus route home that night. That's how tight the purse strings were back then, Derry GAA didn't have a budget for a team dinner after such a match. And recently listening to 2017 Senior manager Damien Barton post departure, very little has changed since then, as he said that budgets didn't allow for a full compliment of coaching staff to rival the big guns.

Also considering Donegal were in a similar position as Derry in 2010, it is amazing what Jim McGuinness went through to bring Donegal to the levels they achieved in 2011-2014.

."
So would you say that's what made Cluxton and Brogan top players? Finances rather than their own application combined with a bit of talent. Cluxton apparently spends extra hours , on his own,kicking a standard ball at a standard goal but maybe money gives him the edge on other keepers who can't do what he does.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 16/09/2017 01:04:33    2046370

Replying To poguemahone:  "
Replying To GaryMc82:  "Fair play. I get why a lot of fans cheer for whoever is playing Dublin. It's just the old country v City thing most of the time combined with Dublin's success (wanting to see someone else win). Poor form though when folk put out the thought that this is a Dublin team built on money and the players (Brogan, Cluxton, McCarthy, Kilkenny) are not actually any more skilled than the average player out there. Such a cliche now just to say money and population as a new form of GAA argument. Have had folk in pub talk say those things. They don't even elaborate , as it has just become a thing to say. Average folk tend to be sheeplike rather than having an original opinion.

."
So would you say that's what made Cluxton and Brogan top players? Finances rather than their own application combined with a bit of talent. Cluxton apparently spends extra hours , on his own,kicking a standard ball at a standard goal but maybe money gives him the edge on other keepers who can't do what he does."
I bet you read the first paragraph and skipped the rest to get your reply in. What you seem to be saying is that the top counties entourage of backroom staff serve no purpose and should resign. Centre of excellence and meals etc are pointless too. Just revert back to a manager and his wing man, call that the county staff and hope that's enough to keep producing top players without any risk of losing them to a sport with a more professional set up.

You're missing the point. Its not about Dublin wouldn't have top players without money its about allowing other counties the same privilege of preparation so that they could maximise the talent they have and not having players walk out at the lack of support they get at county level which is a regular occurrence in smaller counties.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 16/09/2017 09:44:45    2046378

Replying To SaffronDon:  "
Replying To poguemahone:  "[quote=GaryMc82:  "Fair play. I get why a lot of fans cheer for whoever is playing Dublin. It's just the old country v City thing most of the time combined with Dublin's success (wanting to see someone else win). Poor form though when folk put out the thought that this is a Dublin team built on money and the players (Brogan, Cluxton, McCarthy, Kilkenny) are not actually any more skilled than the average player out there. Such a cliche now just to say money and population as a new form of GAA argument. Have had folk in pub talk say those things. They don't even elaborate , as it has just become a thing to say. Average folk tend to be sheeplike rather than having an original opinion.

."
So would you say that's what made Cluxton and Brogan top players? Finances rather than their own application combined with a bit of talent. Cluxton apparently spends extra hours , on his own,kicking a standard ball at a standard goal but maybe money gives him the edge on other keepers who can't do what he does."
I bet you read the first paragraph and skipped the rest to get your reply in. What you seem to be saying is that the top counties entourage of backroom staff serve no purpose and should resign. Centre of excellence and meals etc are pointless too. Just revert back to a manager and his wing man, call that the county staff and hope that's enough to keep producing top players without any risk of losing them to a sport with a more professional set up.

You're missing the point. Its not about Dublin wouldn't have top players without money its about allowing other counties the same privilege of preparation so that they could maximise the talent they have and not having players walk out at the lack of support they get at county level which is a regular occurrence in smaller counties."]Im curious about this?

What exactly is it that Dublin do that other counties cant? In your opinion mate?

Im not talking about philosophy here, but nuts and bolts what is it does the alleged Dublin millions buy that cant be done in other counties? Is it training? Organisation? Strength and conditioning? What is it that Dublin have that other counties dont have, practically speaking?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/09/2017 11:18:56    2046400

My wife got me a souvenir from Dublin, "17 D Sam" (fake news) now I know Mayo will win, this is the best team out of Connacht since 01 in the big ball. C'mon the west 17 MO Sam is on big time.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 16/09/2017 12:10:17    2046412

So would you say that's what made Cluxton and Brogan top players? Finances rather than their own application combined with a bit of talent. Cluxton apparently spends extra hours , on his own,kicking a standard ball at a standard goal but maybe money gives him the edge on other keepers who can't do what he does.
poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts:296 - 16/09/2017 01:04:33

Think of it in terms of collective team training hours per week, and the extra training/coaching/preparation time and even facilities having a few extra million per year can buy you. Most County teams have collective 2 hours training on Tuesday and Thursday nights, and maybe on a Saturday depending on Club fixtures. Players are expected to do S&C work before and after work/Uni etc on their own time.

Dublin look a bit more polished than that, as if they have more time to drill more on the pitch scenario's. The improved development I referred to is more relevant to the younger players coming through, rather than the older players in the panel for the last 6-12 years. For example Kick-outs is something that is developed more as a Goalkeeper edges into the Senior scene, so didn't contribute to Cluxton's early development, but possibly in his later kick-out strategy and keeping coaching. Bernard Brogan was always a talented forward, but there has been a notable improvement in how he plays and operates when not in possession, like some of the other younger Dublin players.

Dublin's collective movement now rather than individual talent that stands out, as if they are training full time. I think all other Counties would do if they got the chance or if they could afford it, so its not a negative reflection on Dublin or not a slight on the talent they have. But when marvelling at how they dominate other top teams, its something that should be taken into consideration.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 16/09/2017 12:26:26    2046418

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts:902 - 16/09/2017 11:18:56 2046400

Yep. You said it. Proper coaching structures with full time coaches. Adequate training facilities, medical staff, meals and expenses etc. In a country struggling to keep its young people employed and going overseas, including many GAA players, the GAA could create jobs for some of them at least. For what its worth I believe this Dublin team would still be the best at present even if there was a level financial playing field, but they wouldn't be leaving as many in the dust as they currently do. I don't believe the AI Championship would be as lop sided as it current is either but it seems like the GAA has tunnel vision for this super 8/12 idea which means good luck to the rest!

In my own county some of our best players dont play for the county because they dont think its worth their while. They'd rather focus on their club team or turn to soccer where they feel they get more of a return from their efforts and its hard to argue with that anymore.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 16/09/2017 12:36:03    2046420

What exactly is it that Dublin do that other counties cant? In your opinion mate?

Im not talking about philosophy here, but nuts and bolts what is it does the alleged Dublin millions buy that cant be done in other counties? Is it training? Organisation? Strength and conditioning? What is it that Dublin have that other counties dont have, practically speaking?
TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts:902 - 16/09/2017 11:18:56 2

They can apply full time resources or significantly more man hours to the following

- Improved analysis of all other top teams: Dublin can have a small team of men analysing every aspect of the likes of Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone etc for months in advance, examining potential weaknesses and counter tactics.
- Tactical stress testing, Strategy development and implementation: Can have men assessing Dublin's potential weaknesses, and reporting these to management which can then be incorporated into future game strategy and implementation.
- Team nutrition & implementation (Meal delivery): It's been widely talked about for a few years now that a good few Dublin players get meals delivered to them 3 times per day.
- Player Training supports: Dublin senior football players are said to avail of free appartments (leases), free new cars, and additional expenses and benefits that help make life in the capital more sustainable and free up more time for dedicated training.
- Dedicated tactical education/awareness sessions: Players are assembled and repeatedly educated off the training field on where they are each expected to be at different periods during a game, and ensure everybody is well versed in teams overall game plan.

Practically speaking Dublin have the resources to assign significantly more man hours to every area mentioned than their nearest rivals.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 16/09/2017 12:50:18    2046424

Replying To GaryMc82:  "What exactly is it that Dublin do that other counties cant? In your opinion mate?

They can apply full time resources or significantly more man hours to the following

- Improved analysis of all other top teams: Dublin can have a small team of men analysing every aspect of the likes of Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone etc for months in advance, examining potential weaknesses and counter tactics.
- Tactical stress testing, Strategy development and implementation: Can have men assessing Dublin's potential weaknesses, and reporting these to management which can then be incorporated into future game strategy and implementation.
- Team nutrition & implementation (Meal delivery): It's been widely talked about for a few years now that a good few Dublin players get meals delivered to them 3 times per day.
- Player Training supports: Dublin senior football players are said to avail of free appartments (leases), free new cars, and additional expenses and benefits that help make life in the capital more sustainable and free up more time for dedicated training.
- Dedicated tactical education/awareness sessions: Players are assembled and repeatedly educated off the training field on where they are each expected to be at different periods during a game, and ensure everybody is well versed in teams overall game plan.

Practically speaking Dublin have the resources to assign significantly more man hours to every area mentioned than their nearest rivals."
Absolute rubbish with all due respect. I say this with full confidence being married to a panel member. The lads get a diet sheet to follow. I make all my husband's meals. There are no deliveries 3 times a week of food nor has there ever been. I wish there was. Philly McMahon has a food company & a few of the younger lads buy from him. Buy!!! Also who has an apartment paid for???? Leases???? Like c'mon don't believes you hear or read. We struggle to pay our mortgage like anybody else trust me. Yes some of the lads get free use of a car for the season my husband included but it's not ours. We have to give it back.

I can't comment on any thing else cos I don't know if it's true or not. Neither do you.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/09/2017 14:22:46    2046437

Replying To Jackeen:  "
Replying To GaryMc82:  "What exactly is it that Dublin do that other counties cant? In your opinion mate?

Practically speaking Dublin have the resources to assign significantly more man hours to every area mentioned than their nearest rivals."
Absolute rubbish with all due respect. I say this with full confidence being married to a panel member. The lads get a diet sheet to follow. I make all my husband's meals. There are no deliveries 3 times a week of food nor has there ever been. I wish there was. Philly McMahon has a food company & a few of the younger lads buy from him. Buy!!! Also who has an apartment paid for???? Leases???? Like c'mon don't believes you hear or read. We struggle to pay our mortgage like anybody else trust me. Yes some of the lads get free use of a car for the season my husband included but it's not ours. We have to give it back.

I can't comment on any thing else cos I don't know if it's true or not. Neither do you."
Fair play to you to put this out there, it is what I suspected all along, hope posters from Meath in particular take a close look

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 16/09/2017 14:45:18    2046444

Replying To Jackeen:  "

I can't comment on any thing else cos I don't know if it's true or not. Neither do you."
Fair play jackeen

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/09/2017 14:53:42    2046445

Yeah, looks like you have your homework done there alright pal.
Good work.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 16/09/2017 15:06:12    2046447