Question for people from hurling areas

So if I were in say Kilkenny or North Tipp, East Clare or South Galway for example on Sunday, would pubs give TV and volume priority to the AIF or the Man Utd Everton game as they clash and which would punters prefer to watch. I know that even in the staunchest hurling parts of east/south limerick it will be the AIF but in the city it will be the soccer.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/09/2017 23:36:23    2046125

Can I ask a different question. How many hurling areas will have club championship matches on Sunday. In fairness in Galway this year they are scheduled for either 1.30 or 5.30 on Sunday but for the previous few years matches were played at 3 or 3.30 on AIF final day.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 15/09/2017 09:17:25    2046145

South East Clare would Definately show the Gaelic but probably the soccer aswell. I think the All Ireland commentary would be on.
In limerick city nearby. You'd have both on and a rugby match aswell. I would say that Gaelic football isn't followed there but people would have the All Ireland on as it's a tradition. Probably only commentary if it was asked for.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 15/09/2017 09:44:07    2046153

can i ask you another question?do you think no pub in dublin or mayo will be showing the soccer?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 15/09/2017 09:55:59    2046156

Feel free to join us up in Casement social club Liam if you're struggling for options

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 15/09/2017 10:51:46    2046174

The All Ireland 100% in North Tipp.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/09/2017 11:28:57    2046182

Replying To perfect10:  "can i ask you another question?do you think no pub in dublin or mayo will be showing the soccer?"
My local a big spot with approx. 16 boxes will have it as follows
GAA X 12
Soccer by 4
Horse racing by 2
The only reason its four and not two for soccer is because its Man Utd

All Televisions prior to opening will have signage attached so all punters know in advance whats on.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/09/2017 13:32:31    2046225

In New Ross it depends on the pub. Some are soccer pubs some are GAA pubs. Small town so people will know which are GAA pubs and whih are soccer pubs

Whelan (Wexford) - Posts: 5 - 15/09/2017 13:40:16    2046229

The real question that you need to ask people from hurling areas is: How sad do you feel about not being form a football area;)

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 15/09/2017 14:03:49    2046235

The real question that you need to ask people from hurling areas is: How sad do you feel about not being from a football area? ;)

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 15/09/2017 14:04:17    2046236

Replying To Damothedub:  "My local a big spot with approx. 16 boxes will have it as follows
GAA X 12
Soccer by 4
Horse racing by 2

All Televisions prior to opening will have signage attached so all punters know in advance whats on."
That's some local Damo! Fair play they cater for different tastes.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 15/09/2017 14:28:25    2046241

Who cares what pubs are showing?
It is not like because it is All-Ireland final Sunday, they have to turn off the sports which will be their bread and butter till next May just because some mucker arrives in thinking they own the place because it is All-Ireland final Sunday.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 15/09/2017 15:42:07    2046261

Replying To Damothedub:  "My local a big spot with approx. 16 boxes will have it as follows
GAA X 12
Soccer by 4
Horse racing by 2

All Televisions prior to opening will have signage attached so all punters know in advance whats on."
Your maths don't tally there damo.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 15/09/2017 16:55:36    2046278

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "So if I were in say Kilkenny or North Tipp, East Clare or South Galway for example on Sunday, would pubs give TV and volume priority to the AIF or the Man Utd Everton game as they clash and which would punters prefer to watch. I know that even in the staunchest hurling parts of east/south limerick it will be the AIF but in the city it will be the soccer."
You must be one of those Dubs who never leaves the city if you have to ask that question. Of course the All Ireland will get priority

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 15/09/2017 17:53:15    2046290

Replying To Pinkie:  "Who cares what pubs are showing?
It is not like because it is All-Ireland final Sunday, they have to turn off the sports which will be their bread and butter till next May just because some mucker arrives in thinking they own the place because it is All-Ireland final Sunday."
Define a mucker. And I'll then define a soccer knacker

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 15/09/2017 17:53:59    2046291

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "Your maths don't tally there damo."
Sorry your right approx with two huge screens , my figures were ball park only never actually counted the things , there's two huge lounges , a bar and a massive beer garden

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/09/2017 18:54:10    2046313

In fairness to my local there's a core of horse racing lads that are there over donkeys years some of which they've backed ha ha but the pub stays loyal to them no matter what all Ireland final rugby soccer regardless , boy does it drive the once in a while sports fan mad

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/09/2017 18:57:30    2046314

It will be the Everton/Man Utd match in Fermanagh if Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh was right

Remember "Seán Óg Ó hAilpín.... his father's from Fermanagh, his mother's from Fiji, neither a hurling stronghold".

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 15/09/2017 21:34:29    2046339