Has the fun been trained out of GAA players?

Listening to all the interviews, etc since Sunday, I am starting to wonder have GAA players just become drones who just train, train, train and that there is absolutely no character, personalities, etc amongst them whatsoever?
All any interview with a player now has is "oh they (oppostion) made life tough for us....", "we started training in December, hoping to get here", etc, etc.
I was hoping that after the match yesterday, somebody would emulate the late Joe McDonagh and sing The Wests Awake. Or on Sunday Game last night either. It didn't happen.
It is a little over 10 years ago since John Mullane muttered the words "I love my county" to rapturous scenes around him in the now famous interview, and we have not seen an interview like it since. I was in Croke Park in 09 (I think) when some Tipp sub grabbed the microphone and sang Galtee Mountain Boy. I dont know who he was, and am not sure if he played since!
I hope we have not reached a stage where there are no characters or craic left in the game, and that all we are stuck with is fit, well built bores playing them. Because if the game isn't fun, its not a game.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/09/2017 21:45:41    2042756

Replying To Pinkie:  "Listening to all the interviews, etc since Sunday, I am starting to wonder have GAA players just become drones who just train, train, train and that there is absolutely no character, personalities, etc amongst them whatsoever?
All any interview with a player now has is "oh they (oppostion) made life tough for us....", "we started training in December, hoping to get here", etc, etc.
I was hoping that after the match yesterday, somebody would emulate the late Joe McDonagh and sing The Wests Awake. Or on Sunday Game last night either. It didn't happen.
It is a little over 10 years ago since John Mullane muttered the words "I love my county" to rapturous scenes around him in the now famous interview, and we have not seen an interview like it since. I was in Croke Park in 09 (I think) when some Tipp sub grabbed the microphone and sang Galtee Mountain Boy. I dont know who he was, and am not sure if he played since!
I hope we have not reached a stage where there are no characters or craic left in the game, and that all we are stuck with is fit, well built bores playing them. Because if the game isn't fun, its not a game."
I think Dublin are the greatest example of that. Very good players but dull as dishwater and extremely robotic.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 04/09/2017 21:50:50    2042763

Replying To Pinkie:  "Listening to all the interviews, etc since Sunday, I am starting to wonder have GAA players just become drones who just train, train, train and that there is absolutely no character, personalities, etc amongst them whatsoever?
I hope we have not reached a stage where there are no characters or craic left in the game, and that all we are stuck with is fit, well built bores playing them. Because if the game isn't fun, its not a game."
Well the Galway lads had great craic in Pearse Stadium this evening. They let it all out. I do take your point though, in general. It's important to let players express themselves and show their character.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 04/09/2017 21:55:31    2042770

If it did happen, there would be a thread on here in two minutes giving out about a lack of respect.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/09/2017 22:01:56    2042779

Very good post Pinkie.

2010 when Tipp stopped the drive for 5, 'The Galtee Mountain Boy'.

I think everyone seems better educated and cagey they don't say stuff off the top of their head or have droll character. Johnny Pilkington, Seanie McGrath and those lads from 20 years ago were pure craic. Irreverent and likeable. Johnny Pilkington after the 1998 all-ireland 'well i think now myself i was instrumental in the winning of that all ireland, threw an oul handpass to Hannamy here, one to Rigney there, brought all them boys into the game if i may say so myself! Then again Philly Larkin wasn't bad either'. Marty Morrissey 'if a certain Babs Keating came into the room now what would he say?' Johnny P. 'Ah shur what could he say only ye're not a bad oul flock at all!!' (Referring to Babs sheep in a heap comment'.

After Wexford won in 1996 Seanie Flood gave a great rendition of 'The Purple and Gold', being described by Ger Canning as 'the Maradona of the Slaney' with his long bushy black hair!

Yes a good traditional song etc. Even on Up For The Match it's the Ger McInerneys and Pete Finnertys, Mullane provide the craic.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 04/09/2017 22:07:23    2042785

would yiz have a day off you absolute melts.

Has the fun been trained out of the GAA ... never heard such tripe in my life. The fellas shouldn't even be getting interviewed or doing speeches after major wins like that it's the biggest load of nonsense. You talk about fellas not enjoying the moment... how can you enjoy it when you have morons in your face looking for interviews. leave the lads alone to enjoy the moment and sure by the time the gaa president gets his waffling over and done with sure it's nearly time for bed.

and ulsterman, I spent the aftermath of the 2013 all ireland final in the Gibson hotel in the company of the dublin players management and a selection group of lucky fans and I can promise you those fellas whof you are calling dull as dishwater where the liveliest bunch of fellas you could ever have seen. the craic and camaraderie was brilliant and they celebrated long into the early hours... wouldn't say even one of them got a minutes sleep. trust me, they more than enjoyed themselves.

just because lads aren't swearing and as passionate in post match Interviews which as I said should be done away with.. doesn't mean they can't/don't have fun.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/09/2017 22:07:30    2042786

Pat Kerwick was the player who sang the Galtee Miuntain boy , a song that resonates greatly with Tipp hurling people.......every all Ireland Sunday when Tipp make the final they congregate at the spot where Sean Treacy was killed to lay a wreath etc, great tradition.......

Personally I thought David Burke has been very good in his interviews etc since the victory.......as for Canning a class act on and off the field....

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 04/09/2017 22:20:39    2042796

"See you all in coppers"

"Well joe brolly, what do you think of that!?"

A couple of the more recent ones that immediately spring to mind.

Still plenty of characters about. .always entertaining to listen to aidan oshea, philly McMahon, Donaghy, etc.

Btw. I know he's recently retired but Tommy Walsh on off the ball last week was brilliant to listen to.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 04/09/2017 22:42:46    2042808

Replying To waynoI:  "would yiz have a day off you absolute melts.

Has the fun been trained out of the GAA ... never heard such tripe in my life. The fellas shouldn't even be getting interviewed or doing speeches after major wins like that it's the biggest load of nonsense. You talk about fellas not enjoying the moment... how can you enjoy it when you have morons in your face looking for interviews. leave the lads alone to enjoy the moment and sure by the time the gaa president gets his waffling over and done with sure it's nearly time for bed.

and ulsterman, I spent the aftermath of the 2013 all ireland final in the Gibson hotel in the company of the dublin players management and a selection group of lucky fans and I can promise you those fellas whof you are calling dull as dishwater where the liveliest bunch of fellas you could ever have seen. the craic and camaraderie was brilliant and they celebrated long into the early hours... wouldn't say even one of them got a minutes sleep. trust me, they more than enjoyed themselves.

just because lads aren't swearing and as passionate in post match Interviews which as I said should be done away with.. doesn't mean they can't/don't have fun."
Fair enough, point taken.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 04/09/2017 23:27:37    2042825

Fun as in having the banter during interviews, or just fun in general. The lads are doing it for fun, otherwise, why would they be doing it? Dublin are dull says Ulsterman, there is a collective protocol for TV interviews within the squad, they are told to be like the way they come across. I can assure you there are some very big personalities on this Dublin team in regular life.
And don't forget the PC world these young men have to live in, between that and being trolled on social media, I'm surprised they do them at all.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 04/09/2017 23:56:16    2042833

Bubbles O'Dwyer expressed his raw emotions after last years final and got lambasted on here with the 'think about the children' nonsense. Maybe some players are afraid of a similar backlash and just give the PC standard approved answer to questions to save face.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 05/09/2017 00:22:50    2042838

What. This always goes on still.

"What do You think of that JOOOOE BROOOLAYYY" Greatest quote of the 21st century.

"We're champions of FUCKING IRELAND"- Bubbles O Dwyer Tipp 2016

I remember Lee Keegan being quite funny after winning the All-Ireland with his club. Can't remember what exactly he said but there's definitely characters there in all teams.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 05/09/2017 01:22:21    2042843

Replying To cavanman47:  ""See you all in coppers"

"Well joe brolly, what do you think of that!?"

A couple of the more recent ones that immediately spring to mind.

Still plenty of characters about. .always entertaining to listen to aidan oshea, philly McMahon, Donaghy, etc.

Btw. I know he's recently retired but Tommy Walsh on off the ball last week was brilliant to listen to."
Tommy is great craic but he was never let next or near a microphone by Cody during his playing career, it was always Brian Hogan who was trotted out to do the media gig.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/09/2017 01:38:47    2042850

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I think Dublin are the greatest example of that. Very good players but dull as dishwater and extremely robotic."
You really. REALLY don't like Dublin, do you Ulsterman. Unbelievable stuff. There was nothing robotic about the manner in which Dublin players came up to wish Sean Cavanagh well on his retirement after semi-Final. If you had been at the Dublin team, celebration last year you would have seen young men thoroughly enjoying themselves. This Dublin team know how to behave with dignity once the final whistle is blown. They are a credit to their county and their families.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 05/09/2017 08:13:47    2042857

ehh, do yòu not remember Bubble's immortal quote just after the final last year???

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 05/09/2017 08:24:32    2042860

I suppose it's a bit of an Irish thing. The standard operating procedure is to say as little and as modestly as possible.
Can you imagine if we had a Zlatan like character in the GAA? Boasting and self praising himself all the time? He'd be derided from pillar to post!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 05/09/2017 09:04:10    2042866

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "What. This always goes on still.

"What do You think of that JOOOOE BROOOLAYYY" Greatest quote of the 21st century.

"We're champions of FUCKING IRELAND"- Bubbles O Dwyer Tipp 2016

I remember Lee Keegan being quite funny after winning the All-Ireland with his club. Can't remember what exactly he said but there's definitely characters there in all teams."
If Donaghy's and Dwyer's quotes above are examples of what passes for personality and wit amongst inter-county players these days, then God help us.

Johnny Pilkington's "not a bad oul' flock" in '98 was a piece of genius.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/09/2017 09:43:15    2042872

I suppose it's a bit of an Irish thing. The standard operating procedure is to say as little and as modestly as possible.
Can you imagine if we had a Zlatan like character in the GAA? Boasting and self praising himself all the time? He'd be derided from pillar to post!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts:5495 - 05/09/2017 09:04:10

It'd be class if the likes of Colm Boyle or John Small just started coming out with Zlatanesque quotes in the run up to the final!

Reporter: So Colm who who do you think is going to win on Sunday?
Colm Boyle: Only God knows
Reporter: It's kinda hard to ask Him!
Colm Boyle: Why? You're looking at him now.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 05/09/2017 09:54:54    2042878

Replying To avonali:  "You really. REALLY don't like Dublin, do you Ulsterman. Unbelievable stuff. There was nothing robotic about the manner in which Dublin players came up to wish Sean Cavanagh well on his retirement after semi-Final. If you had been at the Dublin team, celebration last year you would have seen young men thoroughly enjoying themselves. This Dublin team know how to behave with dignity once the final whistle is blown. They are a credit to their county and their families."
Come now, Avonali, we all know the last two sentences of your post aren't completely true, are they?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/09/2017 10:04:57    2042881

Replying To ballydalane:  "Come now, Avonali, we all know the last two sentences of your post aren't completely true, are they?"
Sorry, Ballydalane. Could you spell out exactly what you mean. I'm referring to their deportment on the pitch and as representatives of Dublin GAA.
If you hjave specific incidents in mind, spell 'em out and stop beating around the bush.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 05/09/2017 10:30:32    2042890