Mayo's double standard's

Martin Carney has joined the Mayo campaign of outrage over the horrendous booing of Andy Moran who I'm certain couldn't give a toss. The hypocrisy here is so extraordinary It must be some sort of joke.

Mayo are right up with the best of them when it comes to booing player's(Connolly, Murphy) referees and freetakers(yesterday, Martin you may have noticed)) Some of the poor delicate Mayo fans Mayo's holier than thou attitude is some laugh. People boo players at football matches shock horror. Maybe Croke Park should provide a safe space for traumatised fans?Moran kicked some scores and Smith kicked the equalizer despite the boos. Great atmosphere. Both sets fans would be better off being quiet for those two lads because they love scoring points when booed.

I can't imagine a dub or any other fan becoming a minor celebrity if he ran on to the field to attack a referee either!

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 31/07/2017 21:12:40    2026949

Replying To salvador:  "Martin Carney has joined the Mayo campaign of outrage over the horrendous booing of Andy Moran who I'm certain couldn't give a toss. The hypocrisy here is so extraordinary It must be some sort of joke.

Mayo are right up with the best of them when it comes to booing player's(Connolly, Murphy) referees and freetakers(yesterday, Martin you may have noticed)) Some of the poor delicate Mayo fans Mayo's holier than thou attitude is some laugh. People boo players at football matches shock horror. Maybe Croke Park should provide a safe space for traumatised fans?Moran kicked some scores and Smith kicked the equalizer despite the boos. Great atmosphere. Both sets fans would be better off being quiet for those two lads because they love scoring points when booed.

I can't imagine a dub or any other fan becoming a minor celebrity if he ran on to the field to attack a referee either!"
Well said.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 31/07/2017 22:13:09    2027005

Replying To salvador:  "Martin Carney has joined the Mayo campaign of outrage over the horrendous booing of Andy Moran who I'm certain couldn't give a toss. The hypocrisy here is so extraordinary It must be some sort of joke.

I can't imagine a dub or any other fan becoming a minor celebrity if he ran on to the field to attack a referee either!"
Martin Carney having rant is hardly representative of the county of Mayo.
You'd be better minded to wonder how ye managed to butcher a 7 point lead. If ye supported yer team instead of booing Andy Moran they might have beat a misfiring Mayo

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 31/07/2017 22:30:55    2027016

The 42 stats actually say ye performed to the same level as previous 5 games
Maybe ye are not underperforming just reached yer ability

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 31/07/2017 22:45:03    2027033

Carney is not a Mayo man but he reminds me of self-righteous Mark ' I'm English when it suits me' Lawrenson. Loves a good whinge. I think a lot of today's pundits have a tendency to say anything just to generate a bit of publicity for themselves rather than give good GAA analysis.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 31/07/2017 22:48:35    2027036

Ye can thank 2 Mayo men for yer Connacht title because the Roscommon mob couldn't organise a p### up in a brewery, now pull yer heads in, some eejets boo at Connolly, Murphy because they are class players and deserve to win All Ireland's and are hoping to put them off their game but class players don't even hear the jeers, what's yer excuse? Because the club Moran plays for is in the Mayo championship instead of Roscommon, boo hoo, how many rossies supported this team before the won Connacht, there wasn't too many in Salthill, when a county can bring 8000-13000 fans to League or championship matches then they can say something about other county supporters, until that happens the rossies have nothing to preach about

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 31/07/2017 22:50:20    2027038

Booooooooooooo

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 31/07/2017 23:07:29    2027051

Replying To tommy132:  "Booooooooooooo"
Down with that sort of thing!, Careful now!

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 01/08/2017 00:16:00    2027083

Replying To riverboys:  "Ye can thank 2 Mayo men for yer Connacht title because the Roscommon mob couldn't organise a p### up in a brewery, now pull yer heads in, some eejets boo at Connolly, Murphy because they are class players and deserve to win All Ireland's and are hoping to put them off their game but class players don't even hear the jeers, what's yer excuse? Because the club Moran plays for is in the Mayo championship instead of Roscommon, boo hoo, how many rossies supported this team before the won Connacht, there wasn't too many in Salthill, when a county can bring 8000-13000 fans to League or championship matches then they can say something about other county supporters, until that happens the rossies have nothing to preach about"
The vast majority of our current senior panels won 3 of the last 6 U21 Connacht titles and should have won the 2013,2016 Connacht U21 finals so one of the main reasons McStay took over was because of the talent there another was we were promoted to Div one under the last management. Are you one of those Mayo supporters that just followed his team in 2012? in 2011 Roscommon who played their league football in Div 4 greatly outnumbered Mayo in support and the quarter final Cork v Mayo had a little over 20k at it?

Mayo have the best bandwagon supporters around i give you that and a more recent example would be U21 Connacht final in Sligo last year when Mayo brought about 500 to the game but once Mayo reached the AI final thousands traveled to Ennis. Finally i don't want to hear any booing at GAA games no place for it IMO but the excuse was Roscommon man kissing a Mayo crest in a FBD game something no former Ballagh player would do as they would have a bit more sense than Andy Moran.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 01/08/2017 01:46:19    2027095

So much written about by so many about so little.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 01/08/2017 03:57:05    2027100

The 2011 Connacht final was played in Roscommon in monsoon like conditions, leaving several roads out of Mayo impassable, so it's not a terribly good example of the county's support base, bandwagon or otherwise. Given that Mayo regularly outnumber opposition supporters at away games, I would suggest that their league support is a better metric to gauge their core fan base, much like any other county, actually. Funny that Roscommon failed to sell out their season ticket allocation, given their amazing support in comparison to their neighbours...

As an aside, there's some amount of whingeing and bellyaching on these boards recently, and most of it's not coming from Mayo fans. We get it, you don't like us. Do we care? No.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 01/08/2017 06:39:29    2027106

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "The vast majority of our current senior panels won 3 of the last 6 U21 Connacht titles and should have won the 2013,2016 Connacht U21 finals so one of the main reasons McStay took over was because of the talent there another was we were promoted to Div one under the last management. Are you one of those Mayo supporters that just followed his team in 2012? in 2011 Roscommon who played their league football in Div 4 greatly outnumbered Mayo in support and the quarter final Cork v Mayo had a little over 20k at it?

Mayo have the best bandwagon supporters around i give you that and a more recent example would be U21 Connacht final in Sligo last year when Mayo brought about 500 to the game but once Mayo reached the AI final thousands traveled to Ennis. Finally i don't want to hear any booing at GAA games no place for it IMO but the excuse was Roscommon man kissing a Mayo crest in a FBD game something no former Ballagh player would do as they would have a bit more sense than Andy Moran."
ha makes me laugh ye the same supporters that wanted mcstay gone in the league and turned on him when he dropped a few players and I am not surprised ye traveled in numbers to croke park ye not there to often and also on the booing who's supporters were doing it when the ball was put wide your right about bandwagon support but look closer to home

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 01/08/2017 08:06:31    2027114

Replying To riverboys:  "Ye can thank 2 Mayo men for yer Connacht title because the Roscommon mob couldn't organise a p### up in a brewery, now pull yer heads in, some eejets boo at Connolly, Murphy because they are class players and deserve to win All Ireland's and are hoping to put them off their game but class players don't even hear the jeers, what's yer excuse? Because the club Moran plays for is in the Mayo championship instead of Roscommon, boo hoo, how many rossies supported this team before the won Connacht, there wasn't too many in Salthill, when a county can bring 8000-13000 fans to League or championship matches then they can say something about other county supporters, until that happens the rossies have nothing to preach about"
Wow the last few seasons I felt sorry for mayo and wanted them to get over the line, posts like this are really turning me off, thought Mayo people were a bit bigger than this. Moran tried to incite the Roscommon crowd at Kiltoom after scoring 2 goals in a preseason competition, for that he brought it on himself. If Andy remembered he had a left foot the last day Mayo might have won instead of constantly turning back to his right allowing himself to be closed down. Best of luck to the Rossies on this one, I've had my fill with Mayo

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 01/08/2017 08:14:00    2027115

Its all about the kiss of the crest. I don't condone the booing whats so ever but I think its got more to do with the crest thing then ballagh because andy has never got booed previous but he brought a lot onto himself. hope that's the end of it now point made

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 01/08/2017 08:22:29    2027118

Its ok to boo a referee and also at a punch and judy show

but nothing else please :)

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 01/08/2017 08:23:19    2027119

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Its all about the kiss of the crest. I don't condone the booing whats so ever but I think its got more to do with the crest thing then ballagh because andy has never got booed previous but he brought a lot onto himself. hope that's the end of it now point made"
He also gave hand gestures to the crowd in the same gamee as he ran out the field after scoring

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 01/08/2017 09:47:43    2027152

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "He also gave hand gestures to the crowd in the same gamee as he ran out the field after scoring"
He has form for that though I do like him as a player tbf

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 01/08/2017 09:54:37    2027157

Replying To DannyMcA:  "He has form for that though I do like him as a player tbf"
I like him as a player too and would lovge if he did play for his home county.... He is Mayo's best forward and has been for numerous years and i dont agree with the booing of him. But people are so miss informed saying its disgraceful bahaviour that hes been booed because hes from ballagh, It has nothing to do with him been from ballagh. If it was the Sligo man Parson giving fans the fingers and Running in front of fans kissing the crest he would be the one getting booed. And its pathetic how there is such a massive out cry over it when in the same match mayo fans booed Roscommon players.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 01/08/2017 10:35:50    2027182

You would have to wonder why those Dublin fans went to all the hassle of dressing up in Roscommon jerseys and going to the match to boo?
I guess they must feel very strongly about Mayo.

Commendable passion but poorly directed.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 01/08/2017 11:30:52    2027243

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "I like him as a player too and would lovge if he did play for his home county.... He is Mayo's best forward and has been for numerous years and i dont agree with the booing of him. But people are so miss informed saying its disgraceful bahaviour that hes been booed because hes from ballagh, It has nothing to do with him been from ballagh. If it was the Sligo man Parson giving fans the fingers and Running in front of fans kissing the crest he would be the one getting booed. And its pathetic how there is such a massive out cry over it when in the same match mayo fans booed Roscommon players."
Oh I know. Sure it didn't bother many of them booing Connolly everytime he touched the ball in 2015. But what can ye do.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 01/08/2017 11:46:05    2027252