Abuse of Rory Gallaghers Father

I can understand Donegal fans had a lot of anger in them after the emabrrassing defeat to Galway lasy Saturday but for some fans to start abusing the managers father in the stands over it is pathetic bahaviour

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/rory-gallagher-369957

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 25/07/2017 11:16:20    2023067

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "I can understand Donegal fans had a lot of anger in them after the emabrrassing defeat to Galway lasy Saturday but for some fans to start abusing the managers father in the stands over it is pathetic bahaviour

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/rory-gallagher-369957"
alleged abuse

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/07/2017 11:43:03    2023091

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "I can understand Donegal fans had a lot of anger in them after the emabrrassing defeat to Galway lasy Saturday but for some fans to start abusing the managers father in the stands over it is pathetic bahaviour

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/rory-gallagher-369957"
They got hammered by Tyrone, struggled bigtime against Longford and Meath.
So really that hiding was on the cards especially against a Galway team that had something to prove.
Donegal are in transition , they need to accept that.
Abusing the managers father is not the way forward.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 25/07/2017 11:48:16    2023095

very much doubt this happened.
dont believe everything you read

ulster83 (Tyrone) - Posts: 114 - 25/07/2017 11:49:42    2023097

I would have no reason to disbelieve this based on verbal abuse that goes on at every game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/07/2017 12:11:47    2023118

Maybe this didn't happen, or if it did I'm sure it was only some eejit(s) and I think 99.99% of Donegal supporters would condemn it.

This is a total non-story

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 25/07/2017 12:26:30    2023132

Funnily enough I thought the Donegal fans accepted their fate and seemed resigned to losing, it was if we were all expecting it. All the Donegal fans I spoke to were unanimous in their view that Rory should go.

If Rory's father did get abuse then that is awful, it just has no place in the game.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 25/07/2017 13:12:25    2023176

McEniff seemed happy enough that it happened and has condemned it.
You will always get the gobsh*tes that want to go on a rant and they reside in every county.
These head the balls are a minority and are usually pissed up and are just plain ignorant.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/07/2017 13:38:35    2023209

Don't believe everything you read Cuckoo. If it did happen it was wrong, but one edit doesnt represent an entire county. It's not that long since your own manager was getting dogs abuse on the public airwaves!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 25/07/2017 13:47:31    2023217

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "Don't believe everything you read Cuckoo. If it did happen it was wrong, but one edit doesnt represent an entire county. It's not that long since your own manager was getting dogs abuse on the public airwaves!"
I never said it was all Donegal fans every county has a few clown supporters, Trust me i am well aware of the comments made about our manager and have spent months defending him on our county forum from clowns on here spreading rumours. There is a difference between giving the manager abuse though and an innocent family member who was there to support his son and the team his son is involved with

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 25/07/2017 14:25:29    2023254

The drunken yahoos at games is becoming a bigger problem and some of the filthy stuff coming out of their mouths is a disgrace. The stewards and guards need to be given more powers to root this element too. Brian McEniff is a gent and I would take his word that this happened.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9696 - 25/07/2017 14:36:18    2023259

GAA fans can be animals

And to think Paidi got in to trouble for telling the truth

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 25/07/2017 16:23:52    2023335

If it happened its a disgrace, think Rory is doing a great job,like he has 7-9 u21 who have played or came on I could be wrong,the all Ireland winning team is nearly gone.any Donegal fan I have met,not many but they realise whwee there at.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 25/07/2017 18:40:06    2023410

Replying To cityman73:  "If it happened its a disgrace, think Rory is doing a great job,like he has 7-9 u21 who have played or came on I could be wrong,the all Ireland winning team is nearly gone.any Donegal fan I have met,not many but they realise whwee there at."
I take it you are having a laugh there or know nothing of what is going on with the Donegal team? and I don't mean just this year either.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 25/07/2017 18:53:43    2023421

Abuse of players is quite common at inter county c'ship games and family members have to sit quietly and listen to it, knowing that if they say anything the abuse will simply get worse. I know of some parents who stay away from games if any of their sons are playing. It would be foolish to say that only a few idiots are involved in such behaviour.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 25/07/2017 21:07:10    2023482

Replying To cityman73:  "If it happened its a disgrace, think Rory is doing a great job,like he has 7-9 u21 who have played or came on I could be wrong,the all Ireland winning team is nearly gone.any Donegal fan I have met,not many but they realise whwee there at."
I think you might be slightly naive if you believe he's doing a great job. Yes we know we are in transition and we accept that but its the lack of leadership and lack of any coherent game plan and lack of any heart or passion from the players that has Donegal supporters questioning Rorys future as manager. The vast majority of us would have been very patient in giving him time to grow into the role but after recent performances the general consensus is that he's leading this Donegal back to the bad old days and his position is untenable.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 25/07/2017 21:57:13    2023508

So now it appears that no auch abuse of Rory Galllaghrs father took place And this came from Gerry Gallagher himself. Shame on those who were so quick to condemn a county based on totally unfounded allegations and shame on Mr. McEniff for publishing allegations based on hearsay.

http://www.donegalsporthub.com/rory-gallaghers-father-denies/

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 25/07/2017 22:19:03    2023521

http://www.donegalsporthub.com/rory-gallaghers-father-denies/

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 25/07/2017 22:38:27    2023535

His father came out this evening and said 'categorically' that no Donegal fans abused him whatsoever. So it's a shame that a thread was set up on a non-story. Even Brian McEniff himself, when you read his comments in full, said that he himself didn't witness it! It was said to him.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 25/07/2017 23:14:37    2023568

You wouldn't have expected Brian McEniff to have said this unless he had evidence of it so you can't blame people for commenting or giving an opinion. If there's nothing to it Brian should come out and retract it and apologise.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9696 - 25/07/2017 23:31:24    2023580