Antrim and Liam Sheedy

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0725/892759-sheedy-to-join-antrim-hurling-backroom/

Interesting development if true.

I think all Antrim fans will enthusiastically welcome this particularly if his role is looking at coaching, structures, organisation etc.

It will be interesting to see if its being pushed by Croke or if it is a personal decision.

I know there was an agreement with Tipp reached earlier in the year for them to assist in development of Antrim hurling and it could be part of this.

Either way hes the type of man we need to be looking at our underage/primary school structures and coaching methods particularly in Belfast

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 25/07/2017 10:43:47    2023040

Antrim under 17s give a walkover to Dublin ahead of this Thursday nights All Ireland hurling semi final , how's that going down up there ?

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/07/2017 10:54:11    2023046

sounds like a positive move.good luck to all involved.
maybe pairing stronger counties with weaker ones might be a solution to improving the standard in the weaker ones?
maybe give wexford a few bob but they need to get wicklow players involved in development squads,etc?same for kilkenny and carlow for example?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 25/07/2017 11:10:37    2023063

Replying To Damothedub:  "Antrim under 17s give a walkover to Dublin ahead of this Thursday nights All Ireland hurling semi final , how's that going down up there ?"
Didn't know that Damo, was it not to be played on Saturday at 7.30 after the minor game unless I read the fixture list incorrectly?

There would be quite a few from the minor panel involved in U17 team so if that was the case its understandable why it wasn't played then.

Other than that I haven't heard anything about the withdrawal tbh

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 25/07/2017 12:36:55    2023142

Replying To perfect10:  "sounds like a positive move.good luck to all involved.
maybe pairing stronger counties with weaker ones might be a solution to improving the standard in the weaker ones?
maybe give wexford a few bob but they need to get wicklow players involved in development squads,etc?same for kilkenny and carlow for example?"
I agree completely perfect, there's no reason why a pairing process shouldn't be rolled out across the board.

However, it needs to be more than a few weeks/sessions here and there to improve weaker teams though so surely would require co-ordination centrally.

Details seems a bit sketchy so far, will grab irish news shortly so maybe find out a bit more detail from it

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 25/07/2017 12:47:07    2023159

Yeah funny I hadn't heard either and I too was under the impression last week that the U17 and Minor games were to be played on the same day but obviously I got that wrong.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 25/07/2017 12:59:15    2023169

A serious addition to Antrim hurling.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 25/07/2017 13:15:18    2023183

Replying To bumpernut:  "Didn't know that Damo, was it not to be played on Saturday at 7.30 after the minor game unless I read the fixture list incorrectly?

There would be quite a few from the minor panel involved in U17 team so if that was the case its understandable why it wasn't played then.

Other than that I haven't heard anything about the withdrawal tbh"
No the way the completion has run , its been understood that there's players in both panels17s and minor ,so there has been at least 4-5 days between games, game was fixed two weeks ago for this Thursday in Armagh , I took the day off as my lad is with the panel , players trained last night and while obviously delighted to make All Ireland Final very disappointed with walkover.
Think your county board need to make a statement.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/07/2017 13:17:21    2023187

Replying To Damothedub:  "Antrim under 17s give a walkover to Dublin ahead of this Thursday nights All Ireland hurling semi final , how's that going down up there ?"
Sheedy is a great coup for Antrim hurling but then they shoot themselves in the foot with this.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 25/07/2017 13:34:25    2023204

Replying To Damothedub:  "No the way the completion has run , its been understood that there's players in both panels17s and minor ,so there has been at least 4-5 days between games, game was fixed two weeks ago for this Thursday in Armagh , I took the day off as my lad is with the panel , players trained last night and while obviously delighted to make All Ireland Final very disappointed with walkover.
Think your county board need to make a statement."
I agree damo, I watched the match online against north cork and they are decent enough so I cant understand why they have withdrawn.

There's a full fixture list of minor league games on Friday night so they cant all be away on holiday together!!

I sincerely hope there is a genuine reason and that its not because they 'couldn't be bothered' or 'are too disappointed after Saturday's defeat' or worse still have their holidays booked.

Its not good for your lads either as even if they win comfortably its better than no game at all.

tbh its sort of taken the wind from my sails a bit now

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 25/07/2017 13:59:28    2023233

Replying To keeper7:  "Sheedy is a great coup for Antrim hurling but then they shoot themselves in the foot with this."
completely agree keeper but it seems we prefer the 1 step forward 2 steps back approach ffs

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 25/07/2017 14:01:01    2023234

It's a very positive move to have Liam on board and hopefully he will bring some different ideas and thinking. Ultimately however we have to sort out our own differences and problems ourselves for a start. We will take people like Liam Sheedy any day of the week but if we can't help ourselves even the best can't either.
I don't know what the score with the U17's withdrawing from the Dublin game is. If there's a genuine reason fair enough but if it's lack of committed players or disorganisation then that just sums Antrim up. With the number of clubs we have in Antrim it is simply unacceptable to pull out of All Ireland competitions at any grade. It makes us look amateurish and foolish.....oh wait we have already ticked those off the Antrim box a long time ago.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 25/07/2017 14:22:51    2023251

Replying To Damothedub:  "No the way the completion has run , its been understood that there's players in both panels17s and minor ,so there has been at least 4-5 days between games, game was fixed two weeks ago for this Thursday in Armagh , I took the day off as my lad is with the panel , players trained last night and while obviously delighted to make All Ireland Final very disappointed with walkover.
Think your county board need to make a statement."
The real truth is even worse Damo.......the Ulster council refused to run an u17 hurling championship and instead chose to use the Celtic Challenge group stages to determine who would represent Ulster in all Ireland u17....... the classic line being they never told Down (not sure about Antrim) about this until after the group stages were concluded !!!

Down objected and wanted a final v Antrim to be played but Ulster Council refused insisting that they had taken a decision at a Ccc meeting last year to agree this approach.......

Not sure why Antrim aren't fielding but Down certainly would have if we were given the chance, Ulster Council are a disgrace and treat hurling like dirt but are getting away with it.

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 25/07/2017 14:45:14    2023268

Sad part for any Ulster lads is had they got past ourselves at semi final stage it looks as if final is to be part of a triple header in HQ august 6th with Minor semi final and Senior Hurling semi final , what lad would not want to be part of that ???

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/07/2017 15:30:17    2023297

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "The real truth is even worse Damo.......the Ulster council refused to run an u17 hurling championship and instead chose to use the Celtic Challenge group stages to determine who would represent Ulster in all Ireland u17....... the classic line being they never told Down (not sure about Antrim) about this until after the group stages were concluded !!!

Down objected and wanted a final v Antrim to be played but Ulster Council refused insisting that they had taken a decision at a Ccc meeting last year to agree this approach.......

Not sure why Antrim aren't fielding but Down certainly would have if we were given the chance, Ulster Council are a disgrace and treat hurling like dirt but are getting away with it."
The Ulster Council need taken to task over their treatment of hurling in general as I'd be kind to say its purely lip service or high profile coaching days in Garvaghy with half of Kilkenny up giving their tuppence worth but absolutely no structures in place to properly develop hurling across the province. Token gesturism all in.

We've little or nothing for U14 or U16 development squads yet the football equivalents are at blitzes and competitions every other week. If it wasn't for the national blitzes/Celtic challenges in Abbotstown, Dunganny or Hawkfield. Nada organised by the Ulster Council.

Minor and U21 championship are still knockout championship with three/four teams in the mix. How hard would it be to have round robin championships for lads to row in behind? No one is going to knock their pan out for one game in this day and age.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 25/07/2017 15:42:58    2023304

Hate to be a wet blanket, but is this really going to help much? From what I've read (to paraphrase the HS article), Liam is going to travel up once a week to help the senior hurlers prepare for their return to Division 1 hurling, and also assist with improving hurling structures there.
The improving the hurling structures part sounds good. But will him coming in with the senior hurlers once a week, not undercut the current Antrim senior management?

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 25/07/2017 16:22:24    2023330

Bricktop and Paudiesaul have very valid points

As a hurling 'man' I was totally unaware of an U-17 All-Ireland, I knew of an Ulster football one and fair play to Tyrone for winning it, Meath defeated Dublin and have reached the final... but there has been no U-17 hurling info or PR

As regards Antrim there has to be a reason because they had very notable wins in the Celtic Challenge..... as regards Down they WERE the success story of the Celtic Challenge with fantastic wins and great success......
As for Armagh they reached the Div 5 final with a good win over Meath in the semis........ there should have been an Ulster Competition ..... what probably happened nobody told Antrim that they were representing Ulster........Down under Ronan Sheehan hasd done tremendous work as deserved a craic at this

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 25/07/2017 16:43:36    2023346

Replying To perfect10:  "sounds like a positive move.good luck to all involved.
maybe give wexford a few bob but they need to get wicklow players involved in development squads,etc?same for kilkenny and carlow for example?"
Nah, thanks very much for your patronising proposal. Instead just give Carlow and Wicklow the money and we'll look after ourselves thanks rather than giving us crumbs from the tables of others.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 25/07/2017 17:17:25    2023370

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Nah, thanks very much for your patronising proposal. Instead just give Carlow and Wicklow the money and we'll look after ourselves thanks rather than giving us crumbs from the tables of others."
To be fair, his idea has merit.
Would it not help Carlow to be even training with the Kilkenny development squad for example?
I am sure it would.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 25/07/2017 17:39:59    2023384

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "Hate to be a wet blanket, but is this really going to help much? From what I've read (to paraphrase the HS article), Liam is going to travel up once a week to help the senior hurlers prepare for their return to Division 1 hurling, and also assist with improving hurling structures there.
The improving the hurling structures part sounds good. But will him coming in with the senior hurlers once a week, not undercut the current Antrim senior management?"
On the Liam Sheedy thing, I'm presuming the Antrim Senior Management are the instigators of it in the first place so must have bought into it.
As for the structures side Sheedy will be in for a rude awakening and that might not be a bad thing and that's with Antrim hurling being light years ahead of the other Ulster counties as can be seen by the number of underage teams and adult teams for the other counties in Ulster participating in their leagues.
Belfast is a wasteland of underage hurling development with the potential playing base there is to tap into from schools levels up barring the odd oasis of lads doing their best to improve things on a small scale. If Sheedy can get that sorted he'll be worth his weight in gold to Antrim hurling.

The light needs shone on the full time employees in the Ulster Council though!

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 26/07/2017 09:06:54    2023646