Why Croker?

On Sunday we have four teams travelling from the west up to Croker to play in a half empty stadium with little atmosphere. They should be good enjoyable games but when croker isn't near to full capacity it takes away from the occasion. The early game between Kerry and Galway will be a joke, place will be near empty for throw in.
I have always believed that provincial champions should get to play the quarters in their own province. This Sunday Kerry should play Galway in the Gaelic Grounds and Roscommon play Mayo in Pearse stadium. Will pack out both, be a great atmosphere and is fair on fans because it is not asking them to fork out too much to watch their team play this early in the year.
But for some ludicrous reason everyone has to pack up and go to croker. It's the same craic every year and nobody is a fan of it and there would actually be higher gate receipts if played outside of croker, time for the GAA to show a bit of cop on

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 24/07/2017 22:32:43    2022858

Just remembered after I posted super 8's coming in next year.....bit embarrasing....as you were!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 24/07/2017 22:41:38    2022867

Replying To as_ky:  "On Sunday we have four teams travelling from the west up to Croker to play in a half empty stadium with little atmosphere. They should be good enjoyable games but when croker isn't near to full capacity it takes away from the occasion. The early game between Kerry and Galway will be a joke, place will be near empty for throw in.
I have always believed that provincial champions should get to play the quarters in their own province. This Sunday Kerry should play Galway in the Gaelic Grounds and Roscommon play Mayo in Pearse stadium. Will pack out both, be a great atmosphere and is fair on fans because it is not asking them to fork out too much to watch their team play this early in the year.
But for some ludicrous reason everyone has to pack up and go to croker. It's the same craic every year and nobody is a fan of it and there would actually be higher gate receipts if played outside of croker, time for the GAA to show a bit of cop on"
Pretty sure if you ask the players from the counties involved, they would want the games to be played in croke park.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 24/07/2017 22:43:01    2022868

Replying To as_ky:  "On Sunday we have four teams travelling from the west up to Croker to play in a half empty stadium with little atmosphere. They should be good enjoyable games but when croker isn't near to full capacity it takes away from the occasion. The early game between Kerry and Galway will be a joke, place will be near empty for throw in.
But for some ludicrous reason everyone has to pack up and go to croker. It's the same craic every year and nobody is a fan of it and there would actually be higher gate receipts if played outside of croker, time for the GAA to show a bit of cop on"
Same applies to Saturdays games. Place will be like a morgue I reckon

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 24/07/2017 22:47:03    2022875

God help us if we had to go back to that car park that is Salthill, and as for a neutral venue for Kerry v Galway the game would be played in Cork because the GAA seem to use some strange figures to find a venue halfway from the 2 counties which usually means 1 county travels half an hour while the other takes 3 or 4 hours, on last Saturday's choice of venue I spoke to somebody from Belmullet in north west Mayo, they left at 10 am and arrived in Limerick at 3pm, no stopping and traffic moving okay, that 5 hours, most in Cork hadn't left home by 3 pm, games are in Croker and I'm delighted, might be our only game there this summer

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 24/07/2017 22:48:08    2022877

Croke Park being nearly empty for Galway vs Kerry? I don't know about that. I seldom go to Gaelic football matches anymore but even I'm thinking of going to this one because there's something about it that captures the imagination. Its a doubleheader ....anyone who is coming for the second game will surely come for the first one too and vice versa. I think the atmosphere will be fine.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 24/07/2017 22:53:00    2022880

Same argument every year.

But the premium and corporate tickets are sold in the basis that All-Ireland football quarter finals will be held in Croke Park.

That's why Croker.

Pretty simple.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 24/07/2017 22:53:04    2022881

I was over the moon two years ago to see Fermanagh in croker. QF should be in croker.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 24/07/2017 22:57:58    2022883

I've often said this in the past. How many times were Cork and Kerry dragged up to Dublin to play each other? When each would be happy (and always were happy) to have a home and away arrangement. The hurling is even worse, when a whole load of teams from (with the exception of Galway) the same patch of the island, have to head to a part that's north of all of them. For years, Cork had home and away arrangements for knockout games with Tipp and Limerick. I'm sure Kilkenny wexford and Galway woud be happy to enter into those arrangemnts too.

But we're in the minority. Most people have an obbsession with Croke Park. The general consesus is that players must have an opportunity to play there, because they deserve it - even if it is half empty. Look at the camogie and Ladies Football every year. A massive deal is made about the girls getting their 'day out' in Croker. I'd lay odds that those girls would much prefer a full house at a provincial ground.

The provincial towns are also more in need f the cash injection than Dublin is.

But the GAA can't afford to give in on this. If they did Croke Park would only be used for a handful of games, and the corporates would go nuts.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 24/07/2017 23:06:52    2022890

Agree with your idea but would rather play Ros in the Hyde than be subjected to another trip to Pearse Stadium. Not sure the winners supporters would make it home in time for the semi.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 647 - 24/07/2017 23:13:25    2022892

You're right in that it'll be empty for the first game because there'll be 500 Kerry jerseys there max. Players want to play in Croker and for the likes of Roscommon and Galway, who don't get there too often in the Championship that's what they aim for. Kerry wait till the third Sunday in September before which they might have played one tough match.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 24/07/2017 23:13:26    2022893

Sligo and leitrim will have to mind our little province on sunday!

tjcentrehalfbak (Galway) - Posts: 28 - 24/07/2017 23:26:35    2022902

No one in there right mind would want to go to salthill
Ild prefer to toss for it

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 24/07/2017 23:27:27    2022903

If it was up to some people, we wouldn't use Croke Park at all.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 24/07/2017 23:43:44    2022908

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "No one in there right mind would want to go to salthill
Ild prefer to toss for it"
Loads of ppl go to Salthill, it's very popular! Great views, lovely beaches, fine pitch, hotels, restaurants, bars etc. Once you know how to get there you won't want to leave!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 25/07/2017 00:22:50    2022922

Replying To Culchie:  "I've often said this in the past. How many times were Cork and Kerry dragged up to Dublin to play each other? When each would be happy (and always were happy) to have a home and away arrangement. The hurling is even worse, when a whole load of teams from (with the exception of Galway) the same patch of the island, have to head to a part that's north of all of them. For years, Cork had home and away arrangements for knockout games with Tipp and Limerick. I'm sure Kilkenny wexford and Galway woud be happy to enter into those arrangemnts too.

But we're in the minority. Most people have an obbsession with Croke Park. The general consesus is that players must have an opportunity to play there, because they deserve it - even if it is half empty. Look at the camogie and Ladies Football every year. A massive deal is made about the girls getting their 'day out' in Croker. I'd lay odds that those girls would much prefer a full house at a provincial ground.

The provincial towns are also more in need f the cash injection than Dublin is.

But the GAA can't afford to give in on this. If they did Croke Park would only be used for a handful of games, and the corporates would go nuts."
Do you actually want any games to be played in Croker ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 25/07/2017 01:08:42    2022927

Replying To Sindar:  "You're right in that it'll be empty for the first game because there'll be 500 Kerry jerseys there max. Players want to play in Croker and for the likes of Roscommon and Galway, who don't get there too often in the Championship that's what they aim for. Kerry wait till the third Sunday in September before which they might have played one tough match."
Aren't you a delight :-0
And il have you know that we're bringing at least 350 supporters this Sunday so ye better bring ye'r fog horns.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/07/2017 01:39:53    2022930

I think you might be way off with the crowd there on the upper cusack already with lower cusack and hogan almost gone.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/07/2017 08:06:38    2022955

I've always been of the belief that provincial champions should get a home quarter final or if their ground isn't up to scratch, they should get to choose the alternative. Having said that it is going to be someday out in Croker on Sunday with 3 Connacht counties travelling to Dublin. It will be a unique occasion and I can't wait for it!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 25/07/2017 09:01:31    2022977

Always thought there was a weird fetish around Croke Park. Hopefully with better stadiums on the way like PUC and Casement that'll dissipate. The 'run out' in CP seems to of become the holy grail for weak counties, or at least they are told it is. Doesn't matter if you get hammered by Dublin or play in front of a man and his dog in a Div 4 final the 'run out' is all that matters.
I'd support home advantage for provincial champions. Surely from a strategic and competitive point of view you're better off at home.
Doesn't matter anyway as Super 8 changes everything although I dont agree the neutral venue for one of the rounds in that always has to be Croke Park.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 25/07/2017 09:03:20    2022978