Mayo taking over the HILL in 2006

Watched it back , great tension before a ball was even thrown up
Fantastic game and Mayo men were absolute warriors on the day, have to mention that Dublin were also a joy to watch , game was hard but fair and Dublin gave it all and lost in an honest and sporting fashion which was to their credit, really worth a rerun
Clip before throw in of a young brolly on rte winding as usual

Back to my point,

WILL ANYONE EVER HAVE THE CAHOONAS TO DO THIS TO THE SO CALLED UNBEATABLE DUBS
TYRONE MAYBE REVENGE FOR THE SCRAP IN OMAGH
AFTER ALL ITS ALWAYS BEEN AND ALWAYS IS 15 V 15

For Dublin to lose i feel the opposition need to start a battle, make the game really physical as that is where i see Dublin at their weakest
maybe the culchies of kerry or tyrone or could Mayo come again as they richly deserve a glorious september

thereporter (Donegal) - Posts: 38 - 21/07/2017 03:11:15    2020356

Ridiculous post!!

1. What has that game got to do with anything at the moment.
2. This is a completely different, outrageously better Dublin team. 2006 team were NOT unbeatable.
3. Why would Tyrone want revenge for an incident that occurred 7 years ago, they wont need that to motivate them a Celtic cross would be enough!!!

LongfordSham (Longford) - Posts: 106 - 21/07/2017 10:54:11    2020442

If that incident happened today (but it can't because the home team are allocated hill 16 for every game) Dublin of today would probably just warm up at the Davin End and do their talking on the field. The Dublin setup of then and now are on different planets.

I actually watched that game back recently and Dublin missed a heap of scorable free's from Mossey Quinn in the first half and Mark Vaughan in the second. The Mayo comeback and MacDonald score made it one of the most memorable days ever for Mayo fans but the collapse in the final kind of ruins it looking back for me now.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 21/07/2017 11:20:23    2020451

Replying To yew_tree:  "If that incident happened today (but it can't because the home team are allocated hill 16 for every game) Dublin of today would probably just warm up at the Davin End and do their talking on the field. The Dublin setup of then and now are on different planets.

I actually watched that game back recently and Dublin missed a heap of scorable free's from Mossey Quinn in the first half and Mark Vaughan in the second. The Mayo comeback and MacDonald score made it one of the most memorable days ever for Mayo fans but the collapse in the final kind of ruins it looking back for me now."
Think Dublin hit the cross bar and post twice to boot

Mayo deserved their victory but sometime things happen to make that even easier and Dublin really aster an awful lot

It just goes to show how having the likes of Dean Rock now in the current team is so important

Missed frees and 45's was a massive weakness to that Dublin team - while our rivals had dead ball experts

Big part why we lost all those semi-finals by a point or two

It wasn't until BB started taking frees and SC hitting the 45's that Dublin finally sorted out that issue

And just look.. all of a sudden we were winning close games against our rivals

... and yet I still see some Dub fans calling for Rock to be dropped!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2017 11:30:57    2020457

Replying To yew_tree:  "If that incident happened today (but it can't because the home team are allocated hill 16 for every game) Dublin of today would probably just warm up at the Davin End and do their talking on the field. The Dublin setup of then and now are on different planets.

I actually watched that game back recently and Dublin missed a heap of scorable free's from Mossey Quinn in the first half and Mark Vaughan in the second. The Mayo comeback and MacDonald score made it one of the most memorable days ever for Mayo fans but the collapse in the final kind of ruins it looking back for me now."
Completely agree. Pilar should have told his lads to warm up down the Canal End and do their talking on the pitch. Couldn't see Jim Gavin going in for that marching down to the Hill arm in arm nonsense. As I left that day I wished the Mayo supporter beside me the best of luck in the final and told him they should give Ciaran MacDonald two medals if they win. He was unplayable in that second half. Absolutely destroyed us.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 21/07/2017 11:39:33    2020461

Replying To Mickmick:  "Completely agree. Pilar should have told his lads to warm up down the Canal End and do their talking on the pitch. Couldn't see Jim Gavin going in for that marching down to the Hill arm in arm nonsense. As I left that day I wished the Mayo supporter beside me the best of luck in the final and told him they should give Ciaran MacDonald two medals if they win. He was unplayable in that second half. Absolutely destroyed us."
And ye have got yer revenge in bucket loads since.....time to give us another go :/

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 21/07/2017 11:46:41    2020469

Replying To jimbodub:  "Think Dublin hit the cross bar and post twice to boot

Mayo deserved their victory but sometime things happen to make that even easier and Dublin really aster an awful lot

It just goes to show how having the likes of Dean Rock now in the current team is so important

Missed frees and 45's was a massive weakness to that Dublin team - while our rivals had dead ball experts

It wasn't until BB started taking frees and SC hitting the 45's that Dublin finally sorted out that issue

... and yet I still see some Dub fans calling for Rock to be dropped!!"
David Clarke punched on of those late Vaughan frees out which I think was actually heading over. I didn't rate Pillar Caffrey as a manger, thought he got involved in off the ball silly stuff and crowd pleasing antics. Having a free taker is vital even if you have to carry him on the team.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 21/07/2017 11:49:04    2020476

It was a very good Dublin team. If Gavin was managing that team their self-belief would have got them to the final. I thought Pillar moving Shane Ryan from midfield to centre back and then taking him off gave us an advantage. He was having a great season and would never let the Dubs down. Could never understand why he was so underrated.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 21/07/2017 11:54:39    2020479

Always thought the Dubs lost the plot on the day.
As someone else said they should have just moved to the Canal end and done their warm up there.
Mayo got inside their heads that day.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 21/07/2017 12:03:20    2020486

What a game and what a point to win it! I was perfectly in line with Ciarán Mac's shot and it was perfect.

The hand bags at the start were embarrassing as a Dub but Mayo warming up in front of the hill had nothing to do with them winning the game. If it had had such an impact they hardly would have found themselves 7 points down with time running out.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 21/07/2017 12:04:26    2020487

Replying To yew_tree:  "David Clarke punched on of those late Vaughan frees out which I think was actually heading over. I didn't rate Pillar Caffrey as a manger, thought he got involved in off the ball silly stuff and crowd pleasing antics. Having a free taker is vital even if you have to carry him on the team."
100%

A vital thing to get right and can win you an AI!

Dublin learned that the hard way across the 00's

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2017 12:07:42    2020490

Replying To Barnowl94:  "Always thought the Dubs lost the plot on the day.
As someone else said they should have just moved to the Canal end and done their warm up there.
Mayo got inside their heads that day."
How did the Dubs end up 7 points up if Mayo were so in their heads?

Or maybe they only got into their heads with 15 mins to go

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 21/07/2017 12:16:36    2020497

This idea that Mayo got in our heads that day is laughable. We destroyed them in the first half and bar Alan rattling the crossbar in first half we would have been out of sight. Wat beat us that day was lack of free taker, pillars naivety and the utter magic and class that was Supermac. My favourite non Dublin footballer ever. A magician. Also a gentleman.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/07/2017 12:37:34    2020514

Replying To thereporter:  "Watched it back , great tension before a ball was even thrown up
Fantastic game and Mayo men were absolute warriors on the day, have to mention that Dublin were also a joy to watch , game was hard but fair and Dublin gave it all and lost in an honest and sporting fashion which was to their credit, really worth a rerun

Back to my point,

For Dublin to lose i feel the opposition need to start a battle, make the game really physical as that is where i see Dublin at their weakest
maybe the culchies of kerry or tyrone or could Mayo come again as they richly deserve a glorious september"
For all of Mayo's "Cahonas" that day they still have nothing to show for it.

Except selfies of course.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 21/07/2017 12:49:32    2020519

Lol average Dublin team and an average Mayo team. Gilroy wiped all the bullshit from that squad and Gavin continued where he left off. I think that was the start of change in Dublin. They were an embarrassment that day pre match. They believed their own nonsense, and the blue book nonsense.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 21/07/2017 12:50:31    2020520

Replying To thereporter:  "Watched it back , great tension before a ball was even thrown up

Back to my point,

maybe the culchies of kerry or tyrone or could Mayo come again as they richly deserve a glorious september"
"For Dublin to lose i feel the opposition need to start a battle, make the game really physical as that is where I see Dublin at their weakest "

Re-writing a bit of what happened and myth there. Dublin were great in the first half so not rattled in any way. They got themselves into an 8 pt lead and were playing very well. Then I think several subs were made which resulted in Shane Ryan somehow playing at FB. Mayo to their credit saw an opportunity , got a key turning point goal and hit a great winning point. So nothing that happened before the game influenced the end result. In a change of the times, Mayo's bench worked much better than Dublin's.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 21/07/2017 12:58:09    2020529

Replying To jimbodub:  "Think Dublin hit the cross bar and post twice to boot

... and yet I still see some Dub fans calling for Rock to be dropped!!"
Yep. Even Stephen C would have been a candidate back then to hit that free if someone could've seen his potential. We'd a couple of gaps from Barney to Dean.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 21/07/2017 13:04:22    2020534

To be honest I think if any team did this nowadays they would get battered. I wouldn't want to give Dublin any excuse to get motivated. The best time to get in their faces from the throw in and not before it. Football has moved a long way since 2006 physically and mentally. The way to beat Dublin is getting scores on the board not handbags.

To be fair if Croke Park is not officially Dublin's home ground they should not always be given the home dressing room, the hill end to warm up at especially when "Home Advantage" rule shouldn't apply (e.g. Round 4 Qualifiers - AI Final) I'm not aware of how HQ determine who gets what dressing room when it comes to two travelling teams e.g Tyrone v Kerry.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 21/07/2017 13:35:10    2020552

Replying To Barnowl94:  "Always thought the Dubs lost the plot on the day.
Mayo got inside their heads that day."
If Dublin lost the plot, why did they go 7 points up ?

Its not like the Mayo antics got into our heads and we were destroyed from the first whistle.

Dublin missed some chances, Mayo never gave up and came back to win a brilliant game.

The point to win it was an "I was there" moment even though it was against us. As a 14 year old at the time it broke my heart and took a lot of time to get over but looking back now you can acknowledge the class involved in that strike of the ball.

On, what we would do if it happened nowadays. Nothing, don't think we would blink, We would just go right up to the other end and leave it at that. It wouldn't be the winning/losing of the tie one way or the other similarly it wasn't the winning/losing of the tie in 06.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/07/2017 13:44:05    2020559

Replying To daytona11:  "For all of Mayo's "Cahonas" that day they still have nothing to show for it.

Except selfies of course."
Since then...I have seen Mayo win All Ireland minor and u-21 All Ireland's, 6 Connacht titles, multiple quarter, semi and final appearances. Yeah we haven't crossed the line which is a real pain but at least we are challenging and not giving up....there is no alternative. Whats Kildare's excuse?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 21/07/2017 14:17:00    2020574