Armagh take a bow

Iam a long time follower of this site,just never felt the need to make a post Armagh left Thurles last Saturday with a deserved victory,

However it was the way they left their dressing room which struck me to comment,sorry I can't put the picture of their dressing room up ,maybe someone can help with that,totally left the dressing room as they found it.

Maybe a small thing ,l don't know.but I think it deserves mention,I had a great evening in Thurles with some very fine people from the Orchard County,here's one Tipp man,wanting this fine team of gentlemen men to do well.

Take a bow Geezer ,your players and backroom team,that's great sportsmanship,hope our counties can build on this great gesture and a great night in thurles.

Apologies for been a bit long winded,but I think there's a lot in gaa,we give out about ,particularly on the field,just think it deserved a mention

Tipptipp (Tipperary) - Posts: 62 - 18/07/2017 13:21:47    2018612

Replying To Tipptipp:  "Iam a long time follower of this site,just never felt the need to make a post Armagh left Thurles last Saturday with a deserved victory,

However it was the way they left their dressing room which struck me to comment,sorry I can't put the picture of their dressing room up ,maybe someone can help with that,totally left the dressing room as they found it.

Maybe a small thing ,l don't know.but I think it deserves mention,I had a great evening in Thurles with some very fine people from the Orchard County,here's one Tipp man,wanting this fine team of gentlemen men to do well.

Take a bow Geezer ,your players and backroom team,that's great sportsmanship,hope our counties can build on this great gesture and a great night in thurles.

Apologies for been a bit long winded,but I think there's a lot in gaa,we give out about ,particularly on the field,just think it deserved a mention"
It's an All Blacks thing that instills humility into the players. No matter how good you think you are you're gonna have to clean the dressing room. It's a good touch all right and keeps the players grounded. Some might say how could the current Armagh crop of players have big heads as they have won nothing, but all county players can get ahead of themselves and this is a way of keeping them normal. Some club teams have started doing it too - not a bad thing. The Tipp County Board Caretaker was delighted i'd say!

DooReg (Armagh) - Posts: 33 - 19/07/2017 16:36:05    2019392

Ah l see,didn't know that,thanks,yes I'd say the stadium staff were in the pub a bit earlier that expected,ps fans a credit to ye

Tipptipp (Tipperary) - Posts: 62 - 19/07/2017 18:51:33    2019493

I have been wrongly accused in the past of disliking all Ulster teams on this site. I've always liked and respected Armagh and especially after their slow painful path to winning Sam Maguire from about 1999 - 2002. The fact that they never let the heart breaking defeats stop them is extremely admirable. With the benefit of hindsight, Galway's one point win over Armagh in a 2001 qualifier was probably an All-Ireland decider that year.I assume Tony McEntee drives home the point about never giving up with the Mayo players and encourages them to keep going no matter what.

Munster Rugby definitely had shades of Armagh on their journey to winning their first Heineken Cup in 2006. McGeeney is someone who you would go to war with too. The Tipp hurlers really value the time he gave them in 2014/2015.

I also think that there is a mutual respect there between Tipp and Armagh footballers. We had two great tussles this year with oddly enough the away team taking the spoils.

I hope Armagh do well against Kildare the next day. I like Kildare too so it will be disappointing to see one of them bow out.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 20/07/2017 04:36:47    2019710

Fair play to them funny enough we've played Armagh in 3 league games up there and I know some of the lads from home went up twice not this year as we were playing hurling same day and they always mentioned how welcome Armagh was towards them.
I have many Kerry friends who said they joined in the celebrations with Armagh people in 2002 after they won their first all Ireland.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 20/07/2017 13:25:28    2019945

Tipperary - The Galtee Mountain Boy, Soloheadbeag, Sliabhnamon, Hurling and Michael Hogan. How could you not like it

Brilliant to see such great people and supporters in Armagh.

Tipp Abú

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 20/07/2017 14:37:06    2020000

Replying To WildPundit:  "Fair play to them funny enough we've played Armagh in 3 league games up there and I know some of the lads from home went up twice not this year as we were playing hurling same day and they always mentioned how welcome Armagh was towards them.
I have many Kerry friends who said they joined in the celebrations with Armagh people in 2002 after they won their first all Ireland."
Yes 2002 was a breath of fresh air, even though it wasnt nice to lose the Armagh fans afterwards were great in victory. Hopefully they can build up a good team again and challenge at the top.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 20/07/2017 21:28:48    2020234