Struggling for Game Time Junior Club

Howdy lads,

Today I'd like to raise the issue of game time I've recently been having at club level.

For this post I do not wish to disclose what team I play for.

As per the subject line above,

I am 26 and struggling to get game time I would tend to call myself an average footballer at best.

I am the second youngest on this team and could run til the cows home. I attend training every Tuesday & Thursday evening With the intermediates (we both train together ) I've been on and off for the last 10 years due to knocks and injuries and niggles for another club from which I recently transfered from. Ive recently recovered from all of these injuries and I am 100% fit...

I give it my all on the pitch but recently another 4 new recruits have joined this team which means I've been forced on to the bench.

Is there anyway in which I could win my way back on to this team.

FYI most we would usually get up training on this junior team at any given week is 5..

It is only junior football at the end of the day but I am extremely competitive and get pi$$ed when dropped when I am doing everything to impress ..

Any advice is welcome btw this is my first post go easy !!!

Cankylunt (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 17/07/2017 13:53:03    2018139

Replying To Cankylunt:  "Howdy lads,

Today I'd like to raise the issue of game time I've recently been having at club level.

I am 26 and struggling to get game time I would tend to call myself an average footballer at best.

I am the second youngest on this team and could run til the cows home. I attend training every Tuesday & Thursday evening With the intermediates (we both train together ) I've been on and off for the last 10 years due to knocks and injuries and niggles for another club from which I recently transfered from. Ive recently recovered from all of these injuries and I am 100% fit...

I give it my all on the pitch but recently another 4 new recruits have joined this team which means I've been forced on to the bench.

FYI most we would usually get up training on this junior team at any given week is 5..

It is only junior football at the end of the day but I am extremely competitive and get pi$$ed when dropped when I am doing everything to impress ..

Any advice is welcome btw this is my first post go easy !!!"
I'd personally transfer to another club if you could. Been down dat road myself and after a 2 year transfer stint my own club rang me one day to ask would I consider transferring back as they were stuck for players. I was gonna say no but decided to park my past grievances and go back. Ended up winning 4 more divisional intermediate football championships.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 17/07/2017 14:12:22    2018159

No offence but if you can't get a game at junior level and new recruits and old guys are ahead of you then unfortunately your situation isn't going to change any time soon. Find a new hobby maybe?!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 17/07/2017 15:31:20    2018217

Replying To TheFlaker:  "No offence but if you can't get a game at junior level and new recruits and old guys are ahead of you then unfortunately your situation isn't going to change any time soon. Find a new hobby maybe?!"
Blunt but true Flaker... I'll see what the outcome is next week

Cankylunt (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 17/07/2017 16:07:46    2018237

Have you hands like feet?

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 17/07/2017 16:11:13    2018238

Stick it out.

Enjoy the training, try to get better. Have the craic with the lads. Don't worry about not playing too much. You'll get a chance to play. I've never heard of a junior team that's got the same 15 players every week.

Don't get lippy with the manager. When you join a new club unless you're a super star it's hard to break into the team. Rightly so, you have to earn your spurs, show your going to stick around for a while. Did you play for a rival club beforehand?

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 17/07/2017 16:47:09    2018264

Replying To Whammo86:  "Stick it out.

Enjoy the training, try to get better. Have the craic with the lads. Don't worry about not playing too much. You'll get a chance to play. I've never heard of a junior team that's got the same 15 players every week.

Don't get lippy with the manager. When you join a new club unless you're a super star it's hard to break into the team. Rightly so, you have to earn your spurs, show your going to stick around for a while. Did you play for a rival club beforehand?"
Craic Whammo.

Thanks for the advice mate.. no didn't play for a rival team before joining I'm recently after moving from a club in West Meath in the last 8 months..

Just having a difficult period I suppose breaking through

Cankylunt (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 17/07/2017 17:24:38    2018287

Firstly, fair play to you for having the courage to come on here and sharing your story.

From how you described it, it sounds to me like the junior team are a bunch of mates who are a clique. I would do two things in the short-term:

1/ Ask the manager of the junior what you need to do to be considered for a starting place going forward.

2/ tell the manager of the intermediate team that you are really enjoying training with the intermediates and ask is what aspects of your game/skills do you need to work on.

I think this will give you a nice hedge cos the manager of the inters should be impressed with your initiative and the manager of the juniors will find it harder to give you little game time if you do everything that you are advised to do.

You'll have a nice hedge too, because intermediate is not that big a step up especially for a committed guy like you who trains two nights a week.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 17/07/2017 17:55:21    2018310

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Firstly, fair play to you for having the courage to come on here and sharing your story.

From how you described it, it sounds to me like the junior team are a bunch of mates who are a clique. I would do two things in the short-term:

1/ Ask the manager of the junior what you need to do to be considered for a starting place going forward.

2/ tell the manager of the intermediate team that you are really enjoying training with the intermediates and ask is what aspects of your game/skills do you need to work on.

I think this will give you a nice hedge cos the manager of the inters should be impressed with your initiative and the manager of the juniors will find it harder to give you little game time if you do everything that you are advised to do.

You'll have a nice hedge too, because intermediate is not that big a step up especially for a committed guy like you who trains two nights a week."
Sound for the advice Killarney.

Aye sure I could care less what a couple of keyboard worrier's write on this post ...as there is nothing around this area other then a couple of pubs so club gaa is what I want to do ..

I will get on to the management and ask them what aspect I could work more on and hopefully they could lean favourably on me being a future starter for the club

Thanks for the advice mate I really appreciate it.

LC

Cankylunt (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 17/07/2017 18:21:39    2018323

I transferred club aged 17 and no matter how much I tried I always felt like an outsider and felt I was never given a fair shot. It was all a big clique. Between one thing and another I packed the whole lot in at 21 was so sick and tired of giving it so much and getting nothing out of it.
I always regret I hadn't transferred back .
Some clubs are just an odd setup and will never feel like home.
Whatever you do keep playing while you can , you'll be retired for long enough.
Good luck.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 17/07/2017 21:39:41    2018387

Always a strange scenario when moving to a new team especially if your not a superstar.
I found after transferring that while I played in the lesser games come finals I always got dropped.

We then had a 3rd team one year and I was captain. From there I could perform on a weekly basis and show what I was capable of.
Since then I get starting for the 2nd team when I'm fit and even sometimes for the seniors if they encounter injurys.

I think the main thing is to go to and try enjoy the training's. Enjoy the pints after a game if your into that kind of thing and overall just try to integrate into the new team.

Football can be a great thing especially if your new to an area. I have made some great friends and now after 4 years while Im still an outsider im known to most people involved and they know im an honest hardworker who tries his best for the club.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 17/07/2017 23:02:25    2018424

You're clearly not shy so I'm guessing you spoke to the coach, but you don't make any reference to that. If you think there's an ulterior reason for you not getting a spot then find a new club. If you're not getting a spot because you couldn't hit the side of a barn with both feet, then do as someone else has said; enjoy the training, have the craic and don't waste time wishing for the impossible.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 18/07/2017 00:17:47    2018446

well it is the GAA you are dealing with, and unless your either very good or son/nephew or brother in law of the management team you are probably wasting your time...I stayed at it until your age of 26, and it got to the stage where like you I thought I was doing ok, NEVER missed training as I was strict on that, yet fella's on the county panel were "injured" for training but seemed to recover for a match, not even bringing gear with them and the management used to ask us "subs" for boots/hurl/helmet etc. once the star player was seen in the grounds...people will come on here now and say that day is gone, amybe it is, maybe its not, I dont know, but I do know the club I played for lost scores of players since 1996 when I finished up and most related more or less my issues above..I still watch Gaelic games and love the sport, but watch any team with brothers on the team, if both are not starting, the one on the bench will be put in for the other brother etc...and when you hear "this young man is a nephew of the manager" etc..generally these players are good players in fairness, but sometimes they get "brought in" before a semi final or final and presto they make the starting 15 for the final...is it really all about taking part, as I coach in other sports, or is it really all about winning...I thought so too...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 18/07/2017 00:18:03    2018447

I feel for you Cankylunt (I see what you did there!!!)

I went through the whole being dropped thing at Junior level and no matter how many goals I rattled the net with, come the final I was always a sub. Changed clubs and the same thing. I was of slight build and not very fast but I had a deadly accurate kick. I just accepted it and tried to enjoy the craic of the lads. For me scoring a good goal and going for a few pints after a Saturday evening match with the lads was better than any medal.
One evening an ex-Leitrim player (legendary status in the county) was watching me kick points in training. I was landing them in quick succession from 30-40 metres out, messing, being all fancy like Ciaran McDonald Mayo a la 2006. He looked over and seemed impressed and mentioned to the Junior manager about giving me a run with the seniors to which the Junior manager looked over and laughed and said No, no, no not him! This manager had made a decision of never giving me a junior game under his tenure. He went thankfully and I got back playing afterwards. The ex-Leitrim player did in fact give me a run with the Seniors later. Didn't go to plan unfortunately, the pace was a bit too much!!!!! But I never forgot the chance he gave to me. It was a nice gesture compared to the other lad.

Anyway my advice would be keep plugging away. You'll be retired long enough as someone else said. Its never too late to learn new skills. Get working on having 2 feet. Gets you out of some bother switching from one side to the other. Learn to handpass quickly with either hand. Stuff like that gives you a few extra seconds to make things easier.

We can't all be Gooch Cooper or Bernard Brogan so just enjoy that you can be out and about playing.
My mate had his leg crushed in an accident years ago and he spent months in hospital with the threat of his leg being amputated. To be able to walk in the rain was the only thing that he used to wish for. It was only a small thing but the doctors saved his leg and it did come true for him!

Ludovic_Giuly (Leitrim) - Posts: 111 - 18/07/2017 17:20:48    2018813

Replying To Ludovic_Giuly:  "I feel for you Cankylunt (I see what you did there!!!)

I went through the whole being dropped thing at Junior level and no matter how many goals I rattled the net with, come the final I was always a sub. Changed clubs and the same thing. I was of slight build and not very fast but I had a deadly accurate kick. I just accepted it and tried to enjoy the craic of the lads. For me scoring a good goal and going for a few pints after a Saturday evening match with the lads was better than any medal.
One evening an ex-Leitrim player (legendary status in the county) was watching me kick points in training. I was landing them in quick succession from 30-40 metres out, messing, being all fancy like Ciaran McDonald Mayo a la 2006. He looked over and seemed impressed and mentioned to the Junior manager about giving me a run with the seniors to which the Junior manager looked over and laughed and said No, no, no not him! This manager had made a decision of never giving me a junior game under his tenure. He went thankfully and I got back playing afterwards. The ex-Leitrim player did in fact give me a run with the Seniors later. Didn't go to plan unfortunately, the pace was a bit too much!!!!! But I never forgot the chance he gave to me. It was a nice gesture compared to the other lad.

Anyway my advice would be keep plugging away. You'll be retired long enough as someone else said. Its never too late to learn new skills. Get working on having 2 feet. Gets you out of some bother switching from one side to the other. Learn to handpass quickly with either hand. Stuff like that gives you a few extra seconds to make things easier.

We can't all be Gooch Cooper or Bernard Brogan so just enjoy that you can be out and about playing.
My mate had his leg crushed in an accident years ago and he spent months in hospital with the threat of his leg being amputated. To be able to walk in the rain was the only thing that he used to wish for. It was only a small thing but the doctors saved his leg and it did come true for him!"
Many thanks for all your messages boys,

I enjoy the craic with the boys and occasionally the few pints with them..

Training tonight as the norm to impress and achieve my goals..

Cheers Again lads your a major help

Cankylunt (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 18/07/2017 18:32:41    2018847

Replying To Ludovic_Giuly:  "I feel for you Cankylunt (I see what you did there!!!)

My mate had his leg crushed in an accident years ago and he spent months in hospital with the threat of his leg being amputated. To be able to walk in the rain was the only thing that he used to wish for. It was only a small thing but the doctors saved his leg and it did come true for him!"
Thanks so mate...

Everything you mentioned above is exactly what I'm going through...

Hopefully it will be a different story next week brother.

Appreciate your help big time mate

Cankylunt (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 18/07/2017 18:35:48    2018849

Replying To bricktop:  "Have you hands like feet?"
O holy Jesus

I couldn't stop laughing at this comment for hours.

Great turn of phrase.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 19/07/2017 10:48:32    2019135

Welcome to the online care in the community ward that is HS.com pal.

And I love your user name! :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 19/07/2017 11:39:11    2019173

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Welcome to the online care in the community ward that is HS.com pal.

And I love your user name! :)"
Cheers boi sure you would be takin any notice of the cowboys sure! !!

Cankylunt (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 20/07/2017 11:21:31    2019841

Talk to your coach lad.

A good coach will realise that everyone needs to feel part of it. Don't go saying 'ah me life is awful I want to get a place on the team to forget me dog patch who was hit by a digger'. Just tell him that you love the game & want to improve.

If he is clued in, he will give you tips on how to improve and what to do to get back in. If you hear the contents of the conversation back through other sources or you hear it was mentioned in the pub, then he is a hideous cretin who, if he remains in charge, should be the reason you transfer.

Everyone can & should play a meaningful part!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 20/07/2017 11:26:42    2019844