Memories of 12th July

While our northern brethern have much different memories of the 12th i'd like to relate a light hearted one.

Being the 12th of July the date reminds me of a funny event back in 1992, on this date, when i was 16. My club Crettyard, Laois, were playing a minor football challenge match against neighbours, Graiguecullen. It was a lovely eve like this evening. In the second half one of our lads got an accidental belt in the mouth from a Graigue lad going for the ball. He's a hardy enough sort and kept going. At the end of the match he started to count his teeth and noticed he had 3 missing!! He couldn't remember where on the pitch he got the slap. The match ended around 9pm and we were split into groups combing the field looking for yer man's teeth. The ground was hard and dry and we couldn't understand why we couldn't find them. Anyway around 10.15pm it was getting dark and a few lads had torches in the boots of their cars and we kept looking til near 11pm!! No luck, didn't find any teeth.

Innocent times, if it was now the chap would be sent for a HIA!

Graigue went on to win the minor county final that year and Cretty were knocked out in the semi.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 12/07/2017 22:04:46    2015839

Replying To Laois76:  "While our northern brethern have much different memories of the 12th i'd like to relate a light hearted one.

Being the 12th of July the date reminds me of a funny event back in 1992, on this date, when i was 16. My club Crettyard, Laois, were playing a minor football challenge match against neighbours, Graiguecullen. It was a lovely eve like this evening. In the second half one of our lads got an accidental belt in the mouth from a Graigue lad going for the ball. He's a hardy enough sort and kept going. At the end of the match he started to count his teeth and noticed he had 3 missing!! He couldn't remember where on the pitch he got the slap. The match ended around 9pm and we were split into groups combing the field looking for yer man's teeth. The ground was hard and dry and we couldn't understand why we couldn't find them. Anyway around 10.15pm it was getting dark and a few lads had torches in the boots of their cars and we kept looking til near 11pm!! No luck, didn't find any teeth.

Graigue went on to win the minor county final that year and Cretty were knocked out in the semi."
Great story lol

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/07/2017 22:29:11    2015850

Replying To Laois76:  "While our northern brethern have much different memories of the 12th i'd like to relate a light hearted one.

Graigue went on to win the minor county final that year and Cretty were knocked out in the semi."
That's gas did he lose any more teeth since!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 12/07/2017 22:35:59    2015853

Replying To WildPundit:  "That's gas did he lose any more teeth since!!"
He has about 5 left in total now!!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 12/07/2017 22:40:47    2015855

Replying To Laois76:  "He has about 5 left in total now!!"
But did ye find the teeth? Or did he swallow them?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/07/2017 11:36:16    2016006

Great post. But how in the name of all thats holy do you remember the date of a minor challenge game from 25 years ago!??

don_juan (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 13/07/2017 12:15:06    2016036

Replying To don_juan:  "Great post. But how in the name of all thats holy do you remember the date of a minor challenge game from 25 years ago!??"
Ha ha! Thanks Don Juan! I studied history in college and always had a freaky mind with dates. I'd always link up stuff, a match and when a cow calved at home etc. Games a week before i returned to secondary, just always linking stuff. Some think i'm a bit autistic, maybe they're right, shur none of us are the full shilling!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 13/07/2017 18:59:32    2016230

Why would you look for his three lost teeth? I mean, what could he do with them if they had been found? Unless he planned to put the under his pillow before he went to bed that night.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2442 - 13/07/2017 19:36:30    2016243

I remember in a club game in the 80s, one our forwards was clean through on goal, goal at his mercy. To everybody's surprise, he suddenly flung the ball away, dropped to his knees and started to tear at the grass. For a few seconds, we thought he had gone mad. Of course, contact lenses were dearer back then. We didn't get the goal and he never found the contact lens either...

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 13/07/2017 20:05:54    2016255

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Why would you look for his three lost teeth? I mean, what could he do with them if they had been found? Unless he planned to put the under his pillow before he went to bed that night."
The tooth fairy, why else, we were a small rural club, often 13 year olds playing minor. Some of those lads still believed in the tooth fairy. It was the least we could do.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 13/07/2017 21:36:09    2016273

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Why would you look for his three lost teeth? I mean, what could he do with them if they had been found? Unless he planned to put the under his pillow before he went to bed that night."
Ah no to be honest i don't know why. We probably had some mentor who thought he was a qualified medic. The idea might have been to take him into A&E or something who knows.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 13/07/2017 21:39:18    2016274

Replying To Laois76:  "Ha ha! Thanks Don Juan! I studied history in college and always had a freaky mind with dates. I'd always link up stuff, a match and when a cow calved at home etc. Games a week before i returned to secondary, just always linking stuff. Some think i'm a bit autistic, maybe they're right, shur none of us are the full shilling!"
Believe it or not I know what you mean- have a bit of a knack of doing that myself with events like starting college, finishing exams, playing games etc but no chance I'd remember anything like that level of detail you have, fair play to ya!

don_juan (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 13/07/2017 22:09:19    2016286

I've plenty of areas i wouldn't have the same level of intelligence but i could tell you where i kicked my 2 points that night. I was marking a county minor with a big reputation who had 2 years on me. I knew him from school too. All this synergy enhances memory. I don't know if you've ever read Sports Psychologist Tony Buzan but he explains it well. He worked with Steve Redgrave, the 5 time olympic rowing champ, Marlene Ottey among others.

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 13/07/2017 23:18:59    2016313

I've plenty of areas i wouldn't have the same level of intelligence but i could tell you where i kicked my 2 points that night. I was marking a county minor with a big reputation who had 2 years on me. I knew him from school too. All this synergy enhances memory. I don't know if you've ever read Sports Psychologist Tony Buzan but he explains it well. He worked with Steve Redgrave, the 5 time olympic rowing champ, Marlene Ottey among others.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 13/07/2017 23:19:49    2016315

Bit of confusion there. My brother's username is KK1926 and he just posted a message on my laptop. I didn't notice he was logged in so my last message appeared under his username.

He's from the Laois, Carlow, KK border, in Laois, same as myself, but thinks he's a Kilkenny man (our dad was from there). He likes to back a winner! I'll stick with the blue and white.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 13/07/2017 23:25:13    2016318

Replying To Laois76:  "Bit of confusion there. My brother's username is KK1926 and he just posted a message on my laptop. I didn't notice he was logged in so my last message appeared under his username.

He's from the Laois, Carlow, KK border, in Laois, same as myself, but thinks he's a Kilkenny man (our dad was from there). He likes to back a winner! I'll stick with the blue and white."
Has anyone ever seen the pair of you I the same room together though? ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/07/2017 10:17:31    2016406

On the topic - completely different memories of the date or around it. Probably the best is the few years where we decided that the 10th night was a better night for their bonfires to be lit so did the needful then went and parked a distance away and enjoyed the show.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/07/2017 10:19:47    2016407

Replying To Laois76:  "Bit of confusion there. My brother's username is KK1926 and he just posted a message on my laptop. I didn't notice he was logged in so my last message appeared under his username.

He's from the Laois, Carlow, KK border, in Laois, same as myself, but thinks he's a Kilkenny man (our dad was from there). He likes to back a winner! I'll stick with the blue and white."
I think you've been rumbled

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 14/07/2017 10:52:10    2016425

Now I'm no mouth doctor but I'm fairly sure the intention would have been to put them back in.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 14/07/2017 10:53:46    2016426

Replying To essmac:  "I remember in a club game in the 80s, one our forwards was clean through on goal, goal at his mercy. To everybody's surprise, he suddenly flung the ball away, dropped to his knees and started to tear at the grass. For a few seconds, we thought he had gone mad. Of course, contact lenses were dearer back then. We didn't get the goal and he never found the contact lens either..."
That makes sense when you recall that in those dark days the protestants had all the good eyes.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 14/07/2017 11:04:29    2016430